We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe Game Drive Experience”
Review of Kapama Karula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama Karula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Super beautiful lodge, very friendly staff and rangers and an amazing wildlife made this the perfect game drive experience. We did see all of the big 5 several times in our 4 nights stay. Enjoyed really good food and wine and the rooms are just phantastic.
We will be back some day.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Kulahaddop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

We had absolutely amazing four days at Kapama Karula - everything was PERFECT!
Rooms are huge and stylish with most comfortable bed with large terrace and large big pool. Food was great. Service was impeccable, nothing was a problem, they were there to make our holiday truly royal. Safari with our witty and knowledgeable ranger Dohan was exciting every time we drove around. Dohan is a master of suspense, never revealing what we are going to see but we were always at the right time in the right place.
Loved every moment spent at the lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

They have thought of everything at Kapama Kurula.
Our suite was light, open, private and beautifully decorated. We loved our private pool and outdoor shower. The food was amazing and we loved eating a few nights out in the Bama. The staff was gracious, warm and anticipated our needs. We were so lucky to have Johan as our server throughout our stay. He was so genuine and warm. We miss him!
The spa is absolutely beautiful and I had great treatments. The set up is unique in that you have a spa suite. Your changing room with shower and your treatment room are linked and private. Very well done!
Our Tracker Excellent and our Guide Murray were so great at their jobs! They were able to show us every animal we wanted to see, teach us all about the animals, plants, birds constellations and more! It was amazing. Hearing their knowledge and their experiences made the game drives perfect.
This was our favorite vacation we have ever had!
We are planning our return!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

That trip was special to us, and the entire team at Kapama Karula made it extra special. From the moment you land to the moment you leave, you will be treated like royalty. Our ranger Riaan, and our tracker, Edwin, were the nicest people. The other teams we crossed paths with were just as nice I am sure. Over and above always to make you feel at home, safe and in peace. The entire staff at the hotel, no matter who, from the reception area to any personnel you encounter were not only nice, but go the extra mile to ensure you are on vacation. The spa and wellness center was also a wonderful experience. If you can squeeze time for some R&R between the game drives, please indulge, it is worth it. The food was excellent. We adored our stay, and we are looking forward to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bptkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

My wife missed out on my last (and only) safari 25 years ago. I wanted her to share the experience; from the excitement of seeing the vast array of animals up close to the luxury of staying in a first class game preserve. Kapama Karula more than met my (very high) expectations. Many thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeflovervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
8.7 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,833 reviews
5.6 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
2.4 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
8.8 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#25 of 176 in Kruger National Park
262 reviews
8.3 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Karula? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Karula

Address: R40 | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 1,31,150 - ₹ 2,02,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Karula 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the perennial Klaserie River is one of Kapama's most secluded and prestigious safari camps named Karula. Karula means "place of peace" in the native tongue, and soon after your arrival you will know exactly why this name is just so perfect for this magnificent luxury safari camp. Peace is but one of the many emotions that will encompass your soul as you look at the serene waterway meandering gently past your doorstep and the age old saying "water is life" will begin to have a whole new meaning for you. The open plan lounge and bar area, with floor to ceiling glass doors illustrates the perfect balance with elegant light colors. This modern building with its whitewashed wooden structure, skylights and open air bar, creates a cozy feel to the lounge and makes it a day time favorite to enjoy a drink or just sit back and enjoy the sights Karula has to offer. The contemporary yet African feel to the camp will satisfy and exceed the expectations of even the most discerning connoisseurs. The outside wooden deck overlooking the Klaserie river gives you the opportunity to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and magnificent vistas the camp has to offer. Karula Library & Media Room boasts some of the best audio visual equipment but doubles as a library where you can read a good book in a breathtaking environment, or just take in nature's views through the massive sliding windows. Keep in touch with family and loved ones at one of the two dedicated guest internet stations with WiFi on tap and free of charge. A private, romantic fireplace dinner can also be arranged with the camp personnel, and in a modern romantic setting like this, the answer can only be "Yes". Kapama Karula has twelve superior suites, each exquisitely decorated and with generous private space. Two of the superior suites are purpose-built for families. Each suite also has a private outside deck and a large swimming pool, which is heated in the chillier months for year-round swimming. The luxury Karula spa offers a range of health and beauty treatments in four deluxe treatment rooms. For a body workout, the fitness centre is equipped with state-of-the-art cardio and weight-lifting equipment, or you can run or walk on the treadmill or cycle on the Wattbike. After working up a sweat, visit the steam room, or relax in the pool. You can also browse through the curio shop for those special gifts to take home. Then head out on an exciting game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kapama Karula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Karula Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Karula Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing