We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming...we'd stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming...we'd stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Stizmark Chalet Inn on our way back from Santa Fe to Texas and found it very clean and convenient. It's a bit funky but charming. The owners appear to live on site and were very friendly and helpful. They have a hot tub and BBQ grills for guests which we didn't have time to use.The rates were great, the bed was comfortable, and we'd certainly stay there again.

Have a muffin at the Stizmark in the morning and then go down the street to the Cornerstone Bakery Cafe and enjoy a great breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room. Others have said access to second story could be a bit of a problem. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    57
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
91
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a nice hotel/motel for a weekend shopping or skiing. The rooms are nice and clean; 50's/60's feel and decor. The bathroom is also 50's/60's, a bit dark, close and no air movement but it is quite clean and functional. They offer muffins in the AM--you should politely pass on these and head down to The Buttery for coffee. The Sitzmark's grounds are really nice and have BBQ grills and group seating areas. Some rooms have fireplaces, but read the policy. It isn't worth burning the fireplace at all in view of the written rules. Beyond that one little foible,the Sitzmark is all in all a serene, inexpensive place in Ruidoso!

Room Tip: No elevator!! Take a small fan for air movement in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlpack1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Sitzmark was the highlight of a recent whirlwind trip I took to Ruidoso. The owner's are incredibly friendly and accomodating. The room was better than other's I've stayed in and it was 1/3 the price! Large comfy bed, fridge, coffee maker, table, bathtub & shower... even a fireplace for the colder months! Really lovely! I wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: They're ALL excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuffRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for one night on our trip back from the West Coast.
Pros: Comfortable bed, nice shower, on a major highway for easy access
Cons: Two story motel with no elevator and narrow wooden steps indoors. If you have much luggage I would suggest you get a room on the first floor as they have no way to get your luggage to the second floor other than carrying it up yourself. There was no smoke detector visible in our room, at least I did not see one, but it did have a metal freestanding fireplace which is operational beginning in October of each year. Don't know if the motel meets Federal Safety Standards or not but it is a nice, reasonably priced place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have luggage request a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was the most reasonable rate in town. Couldn't ask for anything more (except maybe more parking spaces...but really it was still ok!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
3.7 km away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.9 km away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#5 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Property: Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,978 - ₹ 9,564
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing