We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cabins in great location”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great cabins in great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Our family of 8 adults and 2 children stayed in 4 cabins, #s 2, 3, 4, and 15. All of them were great and served our needs. They were all close together and had porches w/ plenty of chairs. # 3 even had a porch swing and hammock. Check in was a breeze. We were informed at check in that the area was in extreme fire danger and we wouldn't be able to cook out on the grills. Would have been nice to know that ahead of time but not a huge deal. We did see a couple of other people cooking out in the Upper Canyon area so not sure if it was just Storybook Cabins that was enforcing this or not but we were certainly not going to take a chance of starting a fire. All of the cabins were very clean. Beds were comfortable and linens were good. Towels were refreshed after two days but you could go to the office and request more if needed. The kitchens were well stocked with the basics, including corkscrew. All cabins were air conditioned but only #15 had central air. The 2 bedroom cabins were not as easy to keep cool as they only had window units in the bedrooms. This would probably not be an issue but they were having a bit of a heat wave when we were there. Storage space for luggage and clothes was limited in the 1 bedroom cabin. There was a kind of built in closet next to the bed w/ a few shelves but no real good place to put a suitcase. This would only be an issue if it was a long term stay. We managed fine for 4 nights. WiFi was pretty reliable, not a really strong signal but still usable 99% of the time. The location in Upper Canyon was great, about a mile from the edge of town but still in the trees. We saw deer everyday and bears the first two nights. Quiet time is from 10 pm to 8 am. I have stayed in a private cabin that is managed by Storybook but this was the first time in their on site cabins. I would definitely return. We were all really pleased with the accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
37
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My dear hubby and I decided to stop here on our way back to Texas. We stayed two nights in cabin 3. What a joy!!! From check in...to check out, this spot was next to heaven! The room was super clean and cozy. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. The kitchen was stocked with utensils which made it wonderful to be able to enjoy cooking in our cabin. The porch and porch swing were cozy in the am.. for drinking coffee and in the evening for sharing a glass of wine and a good book. We hope to return next year. We give this spot an A PLUS! The owners have thought of everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed in the Trout cabin on a long weekend get-a-way last November. I have been missing it since. It was clean, romantic and cozy. I will definatly be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed in cabin 16 and we absolutely loved it. Very roomy, cormfortable cabin. The hosts were helpful with any questions or requests we had. The only downfall the this cabin was the driveway is on a pretty good slope. Bad for me due to the heavy snowfall they received before we got there. Had to used snow chains to get up the driveway. They had plenty of dry firewood to burn in the fireplace which was very nice. When we come back, it will be HERE! Lots of deer around... Also no internet in this cabin.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rm328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forgetcattlebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.6 km away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.6 km away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
5.7 km away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
0.1 km away
Canyon Cabins
Canyon Cabins
#19 of 37 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Property: Story Book Cabins
Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,369 - ₹ 12,262
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing