We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a wonderful time at Leopard Hills. We had been worried that having had such a fab time at another place previously we might be disappointed - NO WAY! We had a wonderful time, everyone was great, our suite was fab (suite no 8) and we saw the Big 5 plus some. We are already discussing returning and taking the family with us.

Room Tip: Suite 8 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
165
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a magical time at Leopard Hills. Admittedly we may have been lucky from and animal activity perspective, however the whole experience was top notch. Rangers and Trackers were extremely knowledgeable and responsive. Accommodation was superb with animals feeding outside our window and the food was excellent. Its not cheap but when you consider all that is including it is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 have elevated views - 4-6 are at ground level and game can be quite close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemanakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

By far the best lodge we've found so far and we've stayed at a few. The drives are fantastic. the wildlife superb and the lodge and food delightful without being overly exclusive or pretentious, or feeling like you're staying in a well oiled establishment which can feel a bit fake. We've been back a couple of times and looking forward to going again. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redcurrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Leopard Hills, Sabi Sand is quite a lovely place. The accommodations are equal to any game lodge in Kruger yet considerably less expensive than Singita. The food is good and most importantly, the game drives are excellent. We asked our guide, Gary, what is the most difficult animal to spot in Kruger. His answer, Wild Dog. So we put him to the test. And one hour later there we were watching a pack of wild dogs devour a kill. We also loved the Boma barbeque as the wine poured liberally.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarnold500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Ignore the Date of Travel, as this is a belated Review of our stay in April 2008. Sorry, but been busy.

This was our 3rd Stop of our Honeymoon, and followed Tanda Tula & Tintswalo, Marlin Lodge on Beguerra Island (Mozambique was next).

We had Room 8 - nearest Restaurant and Bar/Breakfast deck. Looked fab and perched on the Rocks, but disappointeed to find that Wardrobe door could not be opened without catching on bedlinen & mossie nets. Bit taken aback to learn, we are "in the Best Room and The Honeymoon Suite ". Looked at Room 5 as comparison, but opted to stay in Room 8, as not much to choose between them and they all appear small.

Drives proved amazingly productive game-wise, as again and again we came across precisley what was hoped for each time - "we might be lucky and find a Cheetah over there" and there it was. "We might be lucky and find a leopard if we head over that way" and there she was being watched over by another vehicle ... ... "Wouldn't be nice if we could find some Wild Dogs. We know they are around somewhere". Took 15 mins to drive to where the other vehicle was parked-up watching them. This proved quite a theme. Either we really are incredibly lucky or they are just brilliant.

Or just maybe the Concession is so highly patroled by vehicles and trackers, and has a very high ratio of virtually permanent resident (Lion, Leopard, Hyena etc) that their precise location is known - at worst to within a few hundred yards.

All other aspects were really good and we enjoyed our stay, but .....

Our Guide's (gather he's left now) over domineering Ego ensured he rode rough shod over his guests - he stopped to photograph what he wanted, went where he wanted, talked loudly and long regaling everybody with his Stories.

On our last night, I did manage to interject and register our interests included Hyena & that allegedly there was a den site somewhere around with young. In the morning - we drove straight to it.

With the obvious caveat (as mentioned above) the Game Sightings and especially of Leopards was incredible. Lodge position was super, Flying in a piece of cake. Food fab. Wine - OK, but a shame we were never offered a Wine List (despite asking to make a visit to the Cellar). Other Staff were superb, attentive, keen, willing and best of all - not obsequious, which we hate.

For anyone with the budget, seeking Big 5 sightings and especially Cats with a high degree of certainty, with a high degree of comfort and minimal effort - this has got to appear on a short list. It can appear to be a 'Canned-Safari' however, which was our Overiding Impression

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
30.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
24.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.7 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
2.4 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
12.1 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Property: Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,13,286 - ₹ 1,47,581
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Hills Hotel Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing