We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very intimate experience created the trip of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very intimate experience created the trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed 7 game drives on our stay at Leadwood Lodge for our Honeymoon. The Lodge itself is very intimate and we felt as though we were staying at someone's house, rather than a hotel. While we stayed at :Leadwood, we enjoyed eating in the Boma for 3 of the 4 nights to eat dinner with the Ranger and the rest of the guests. At most, only 3 of the 4 rooms were occupied and on our last night, it was us and one other guest at the Lodge, which made it feel like our own house.

The view from the porch is simply amazing, and found myself content to just sit on the couches or a chair in between game drive during the day and just absorb the scenery.

The staff was very helpful and made sure any request we had, was timely completed. On one evening while at dinner with our Ranger, we had discussed the possibility of visiting one of the local schools to see the children. On this occasion, the Ranger spoke with the Lodge Manager, and the next day they had already arranged a visit if it was something we still wanted to do--which we did very much. Another example of their perfect attention to detail.

The game drives were the absolute highlight. Our Rangers Mac and Patrick, were true professionals and made this the trip of a lifetime. And Beyond will definitely get our business in the future as they put together a high quality product.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, which was newly built as a result of the Jan 2012 flood, and we enjoyed the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atotrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

our 4 night stay was wonderful. Everyone was attentive, food excellent and plentiful. One's privacy is highly respected and individual requests requested and provided for by staff. The cottage is beautifully designed to ensure privacy while one is able to always keep,windows open to enjoymviewsod elephants, monkeys, baboons,etc. roam right by. There are just four cottages so it certainly felt intimate. The staff plans both group and private meals and everything is always at one's preference. laundry is done daily t no charge. Gide and ranger were well informed and personable. Could,HIGHLY recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ali4gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is perhaps one of the jewels in the crown of &beyond lodges. We had planned to visit another recommended lodge in the Sabi Sand but were not able to get the dates requested. What a win! A friend who runs an amazing travel advisory service for internet travellers like ourselves,( Hospitality Afrika) saved the day and recommended Leadwood -and we were blown away with the service, the food, the game viewing experiences and the dedication of the staff. Each suite has a private pool and the interiors are uber swish. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at Leadwood Lodge for one night recently on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary. What an unbelievably fantastic experience. Definately a must do if you are looking for a very exclusive, quiet escape in the bush. There are only four suits, so one feels as tho you have the lodge to yourself along with the facilities. Each suit has its own rim flow pool. The rooms are spacious and more than ample.

Being a South African, and doing the bush getaway often, we knew we would have an amazing experience, but never did we expect what we got. The sightings from the first game drive to the last were unbelievable. Within the first 30 minutes of our game drive, we were tracking wild dog. We found them, and within seconds of finding them they hunted down and killed an impala. From there we went to a sighting of a leopard, and yes...... believe it or not, she had just killed an impala !!!! Yup... That is exactly how it went. If ever in doubt about whether to commit to leadwood or not... GO AHEAD> you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2bJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had the privilege of spending two unbelievable nights and days at this very small, intimate and luxurious camp. The accomodation was spectacular - almost the size of a house with a full size private swimming pool . What made it alll the more special was the friendly staff and the entertaining and talented game ranger " Mac" - he is a closet artist that does the most amazing pencil drawings of lions and leopards ( yes we got one of his leopard drawings to commemorate the fact we saw 7 different leopards during out time there).
Little things such as discovering champagne in a bucket hanging with paraffin lamps in the woods outside the camp on way back from our night drive, the staff singing and dancing for us at the boma all added to the special ambience.I would recommned this camp if you want samll groups and the best the camp has to offer.

Room Tip: There are 4 chalets all same size and each with own private full sized pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FedBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
2.0 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
383 reviews
24.7 km away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
487 reviews
22.1 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
403 reviews
10.8 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
17.1 km away
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reser...
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Leadwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Leadwood Lodge

Property: Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Address: | Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,332 - ₹ 1,38,657
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Leadwood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fork of the Sand and Mabrak Rivers, andBeyond Leadwood Lodge offers a cosy and serene getaway completely at peace with the bush that surrounds it. With suites carefully distanced from each other, andBeyond Leadwood is ideal for families or parties of friends who want to share their safari experience without intruding on each other's privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Dulini Leadwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Beyond Leadwood Lodge
&Beyond Leadwood Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Leadwood Lodge Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing