We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at Leadwood Lodge for one night recently on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary. What an unbelievably fantastic experience. Definately a must do if you are looking for a very exclusive, quiet escape in the bush. There are only four suits, so one feels as tho you have the lodge to yourself along with the facilities. Each suit has its own rim flow pool. The rooms are spacious and more than ample.

Being a South African, and doing the bush getaway often, we knew we would have an amazing experience, but never did we expect what we got. The sightings from the first game drive to the last were unbelievable. Within the first 30 minutes of our game drive, we were tracking wild dog. We found them, and within seconds of finding them they hunted down and killed an impala. From there we went to a sighting of a leopard, and yes...... believe it or not, she had just killed an impala !!!! Yup... That is exactly how it went. If ever in doubt about whether to commit to leadwood or not... GO AHEAD> you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2bJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had the privilege of spending two unbelievable nights and days at this very small, intimate and luxurious camp. The accomodation was spectacular - almost the size of a house with a full size private swimming pool . What made it alll the more special was the friendly staff and the entertaining and talented game ranger " Mac" - he is a closet artist that does the most amazing pencil drawings of lions and leopards ( yes we got one of his leopard drawings to commemorate the fact we saw 7 different leopards during out time there).
Little things such as discovering champagne in a bucket hanging with paraffin lamps in the woods outside the camp on way back from our night drive, the staff singing and dancing for us at the boma all added to the special ambience.I would recommned this camp if you want samll groups and the best the camp has to offer.

Room Tip: There are 4 chalets all same size and each with own private full sized pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FedBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in July. The villa is huge, open plan but with 3 areas, living, bedroom and bathroom. Gorgeous modern african decor and loads of glass. There is an outdoor (and indoor) shower, eating area and unheated lap pool. My daughter and I were too scared of the monkeys and baboons to use the outdoor area but we did enjoy watching them through the sliding glass doors.

The food is wonderful, particularly the breakfasts.

The service is excellent.

As others have said, there are only 4 villas and 1 vehicle. I was a bit worried about the potential problems of 8 people in the vehicle. We never found it to be a problem, there always seemed to be someone who was skipping a drive, so there wasn't one drive where there were more than 2 people in each row. (There is always a spare spot beside the driver/guide)

In terms of animals, it's pretty much "what do you want to see on this drive?". Lots of close viewings of leopard, lion cubs, baby elephants, hyena cubs. Infact every animal (except cheetah).

It was so easy to get fantastic photos with the wonderful african light, the open truck and how unbelievably close we got to the animals.

We loved Leadwood!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

best game viewing in the world. amazing accommodations and service.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank elleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed in Leadwood for the second time in less than one year and after visiting &Beyond lodges for the last 15 years (until recently CCAfrica) we were not disappointed. The lodge has four Suites, which give the camp some sense of privacy.

The suite are huge and well laid out. Depending on which room you stay the view will be different but our favorite are 1 & 4. In both rooms, we saw elephants coming and drinking in the swimming pool.

Food is simple and most of it is homemade, there is a good display of wine for a tag that is not higher than in any restaurant. However, the house wine like the Jordan label is also a very good option.

The lounge and deck are great with a superb view of the bush/ river with plenty of game activities.

As most of South Africa, Range Rover are open vehicles which is great for shots, in general, the game was very good and we did managed to see leopards on half of our game drive. (this is why you come to Sabi)

Staff, rangers, trackers and manager are top notches. Even though, the price is high it is worth it.

I would say the only negative is since there are four Suites, there is a risk of being 8 on the Jeep instead of 6. As some other camp have 6 rooms which is made up of two Jeeps of 6.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulysse1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
10.8 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
0.0 km away
Makumu Private Game Lodge
Makumu Private Game Lodge
#10 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
29 reviews
20.9 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
0.8 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
8.9 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Leadwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Leadwood Lodge

Property: Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Address: | Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,739 - ₹ 1,47,240
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Leadwood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fork of the Sand and Mabrak Rivers, andBeyond Leadwood Lodge offers a cosy and serene getaway completely at peace with the bush that surrounds it. With suites carefully distanced from each other, andBeyond Leadwood is ideal for families or parties of friends who want to share their safari experience without intruding on each other's privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
And Beyond Leadwood Lodge
&Beyond Leadwood Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Leadwood Lodge Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing