We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned from a memorable stay at Elephant Plains. Wonderful, helpful, personable, welcoming staff. Small enough so you get to know everyone. Beautiful grounds and rooms. Good food and vegetarian meals available. Flew into Hoedspruit and EP arranged transfers - everything went smoothly (arranged thru My Gr8 Safaris), driver was waiting and we were first out of the airport. Arrived to EP in time for lunch and the afternoon game drive. Our ranger (Richard) and tracker (Clement) were an excellent team - were able to see the Big 5 in 2 nights. I can definitely see the benefits of staying in Sabi Sand - we were only able to see the leopard and lions because we went off road. On the last night, Richard showed us the stars. It was a perfectly clear night and I've never seen more stars! There's internet available on the computer in the lobby. Small gift shop. Bar. Spa. Gym. Can send mail or exchange money at the front desk.

Pros: Terrific staff. Great food. Relaxing spa. Beautiful room - clean, comfortable, views of the animals. Quiet and peaceful. Lovely lodge with lots of character and special touches.

Con: Having to leave.

Truly a memorable stay. Thank you Elephant Plains! A friend recommended EP and I highly recommend others to stay at EP as well.

Room Tip: Luxury suites have private decks (without outdoor shower) overlooking the riverbed. Stayed in the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mobertoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. It sounds like you had a lovely time. I am glad that you enjoyed the star gazing experiene! Please tell all your friends about us and do come and visit if you ever return to SA again! Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    93
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
196
459
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was the most perfect place we have ever stayed and will stay in our memories forever. The actual place is luxurious, beautiful grounds, lots of authentic touches in the lounges and dining rooms, very comfortable, nice little shop, 2 nice pools - fancy being in a pool, with the elephants below at the watering hole! There are lots of areas to sit and relax or chat to fellow travellers.
The Rondavels are superb - large, comfortable, attractive with some luxurious touches. There is a huge king sized bed covered with a mosquitto net and each evening there is a sweet left on the pillow with a little story about one of the animals. The bathroom is equally large with a huge bath with lots of candles around it! Each rondavel has a balcony where you can sit and watch the monkies.
Staff: all the staff were friendly, professional and top notch. A special mention goes to our ranger, Morne and our tracker Derek. Also the waiting staff at all the meals were fantastic.
Safari - obviously the main attraction, the safari itself was amaing and was the best experience we have ever done in our lives. I am now completely hooked and just want to go again and again. We saw 4 out of the big 5 (no rhino!) and loads of giraffe, zebra, hippos, leopards and lots of smaller animals. As much as anything it was the anticipation of what you might see; the huge expanse of bushland and the everchanging colours in the huge sky; and the constant 'noise' of the bush. The jeeps held 9 visitors (3 rows of 3) but luckily the other family with us only turned up for the safari on one occasion, so we had the jeep to ourselves for the other 3 safaris which only enhanced the amazing experience.
Food: The breakfasts and lunches were particularly good and the evening meal was also good - there was a choice both evening with plenty of salads. You won't go hungry and even our incredibly picky daughter had plenty to eat and enjoyed her meals. We particularly enjoyed the evening meal for the experience of sitting around the 'boma' - which was certainly a highlight and something we really looked forward to - especially toasting the marshmallows at the end of the meal.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it really is exceptional and I cannot imagine any other lodge coming anywhere near as good. We will definitely be returning and for longer next time! Thanks for an incredible time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Wow! Thank you for your very kind feedback! It is always so nice to hear that guests truly enjoyed the experience and all we had to offer. It sounds like you had some memorable sightings. Please do tell your friends about us and if you ever return to SA, do come and visit us again! Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in mid-February 2012, this being my third visit to EP. So much has been said previously by myself and others, so rather than going into raptures again, let me simply say, EP does not disappoint, even the seasoned safari goer.

The bush was very thick and many roads and areas still very wet and difficult to navigate, which is as a result of the floods in February. It was a bit like the Okavango when it starts to dry out, but green green like the Garden of Eden. Lots of elephants, wild dog, Salayexe beautiful girl and brilliant to see the Nkuhumas lionesses and cubs and 4 Tsalala girls as well as the male coalition of 4, the Majingilanes. It was a treat to have rondavel 5 overlooking the water hole, but with so much water about game at the hole was scarce. Roxanne, the new chef is a great asset to the lodge and I enjoyed the majority of the meals during my stay.

It was fantastic to be back at one of my favourite locations and I am sure I will return before too many years pass by. Definitely recommend this lodge for good sightings and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rondavel 4 or 5 for view of waterhole, but they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKIngwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind feedback! The fact that this was your third visit at EP speaks for itself. We are delightd that you once again enjoyed your trip. I will pass your compliments to Roxanne, the head chef. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to EP in the near future! Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent two nights in the roundawells with two rooms. This was perfect. The lodge was very accomodating in terms of the kids. Our kids are 7 and 11 years old. This is always appriciated. We saw all the big five along with African Wild Dogs. The food was good, but not top of the line. I can reccommend this place truly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cillidill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and that the kids also felt welcome. If you ever return to SA, please do come and visit us again! Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have only great things to say about our 4 day stay at EP in Feb '12. It truly was a memorable and fantastic experience. The most important part: The safari & game viewing. It was exceptional. We loved every minute of it, and were so sad to say goodbye to our Guide Richard and Tracker Clement. They were a wealth of information, and we saw the big 5 and so much more! The animals were the absolute highlight. Lodging: We stayed in the luxury suite which was beautiful. Very spacious with lovely decorations. Who can not love to have a deck you can sit on, view impala right outside your suite, and have monkeys jump around you? Staff: Absolutely lovely and accommodating in every way. Great service! Food: Honestly, surprisingly good! I never have high hopes for "all inclusive" type food, but seeing this is a small hotel, they don't have to mass produce, and really managed excellent meals at all hours of the day. As a vegetarian, they did a really great job giving me interesting meals. Grounds: Just beautiful. An infinity pool into the bush? Yes, thank you! So you can see, this is an overwhelmingly positive review. I recommend it without hesitation. We don't know when, but we know we will be back.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite if you can! It's worth it for your private ourtoor deck and outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLoverNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come and visit us again one day if you ever return to SA! Regards, Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
12.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
9.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
10.7 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
15.7 km away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
313 reviews
23.5 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Property: Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,241 - ₹ 56,254
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing