We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveller rating
818
104
21
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
104
21
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury suitewatering holesabi sandsbush walkour honeymoonwild dogshuge deckbefore dinnerhoedspruit airportwater holesafari experiencethree nightsherd of elephantsindoor outdoor showerthe reservefire pitbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 952 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow. From the moment we arrived, the staff at Elephant Plains went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The game drives were awesome (thanks to Morne and Derek). The food was very good. We had a great luxury suite. I left my iPad in the room and in a panic from the airport, called and reached the desk. They were able to get the iPad to friends at we were meeting later in the week in Cape Town. Thank you!!! As we had been in South Africa for 5 days when we arrived, we had laundry to be done. It was done beautifully for a very inexpensive cost. Please consider Elephant Plains and you will fall in love with the entire experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadley_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Hi Hadley, thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we're glad that we could help in reconnecting you with your Ipad! :-) We do hope to welcome you back to the lodge in the near future. Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Visited Elephant Plains with our kids (11 and 13) for 4 nights. We were well received and catered for throughout our stay. The games drives were very well organised and very varying, and we managed to see all big 5 over 6 game drives + lots of other game (including wild dogs!). Tracker (Freeman) also organised a mini-bush-walk for the kids. We stayed in a luxury suite, and in the room we enjoyed in particular the private deck with excellent view and complete privacy/silence. Drinks etc. are priced reasonably, so do enjoy some nice South African wine. Pool is good for a dip, however not for swimming. Children are welcomed, and I would recommend that they are at least 10 years old to enjoy the stay, as the nature is (of course) the main activity.

Room Tip: We enjoyed much having our own deck with superb view in the luxury suites.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christensen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Hi there! Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback. We are glad to hear that you and the kids enjoyed the stay! Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Elephant Plains Game Lodge and we had a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Rondavels, which were lovely, clean and very confortable. The game drives were great and we could spot all the Big Five. Our ranger, Richard, was really nice and had a lot of knowledge to share. This was a dream come true trip for my father in law!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Hi Chris
Thank you fro the great feedback you posted. We are delighted to hear that your father-in-law's dream came true. Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we recently spent 4 days at Elephant Plains Game Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. the entire experience was amazing from the moment we arrived to our departure. Staff were very friendly and helpful. the meals were inventive, delicious and plentiful - a variety to please anyone. we stayed in the Rondavels which were lovely - very clean, comfortable and spacious. The game drives were simply outstanding - our tracker, Derek, and ranger, Mornay, were amazing. they found all of the big 5 and then some! our landrover got us through the most challenging terrain - no one complained about getting up at 5 am every morning ! we loved the main lodge, the dining area, the swimming pools and spa. it was a most memorable experience and we are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for the very kind feedback you posted. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay! The fact that you are already planning your return trip speaks for itself. We'll be looking out for you! Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Every day I miss the time spent in Elephant Plains! It was awesome! It was such a tranquility! I stayed in Leopard Lodge, it is huge, large balcony with a stunning view! You can see elephants and many others come to drink from time to time. The room is very clean. The personell is very caring, friendly and just nice. They are keeping track (in a good way) of each person in the hotel, so you feel absolutely safe. Also they are very knowledgeable.
I also tried SPA treatment and it was beautiful. I definitely recommend it! All meal was very tasty! Looking forward to coming back one day

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Hi Alina
Thank you for your kind feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back again one day. Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews