We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view of Elephant herds, luxury rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of Elephant herds, luxury rooms”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Since there are so many positive review, I will be short:
- stayed there for our honeymoon in amazing room
- all sort of calm animals shortening the grass of the hotel
- huge terrace with shower and full view of the elephants
- good food but not gourmet. Presented as buffet. This will tell me that better for group or family vacation, even though our stay was perfect
- amazing staff (champagne and roses in the room) and great guides and trackers
- we were very lucky to see the aftermath of a kill and cheetahs

Room Tip: Rooms with the view on the water hole are the most luxury, but also perfect to watch elephants and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad that we could contribute in making your honeymoon a memoralble experience. Re. the food: As we are a 4* lodge, therefore we do not specialize in gourmet cuisine. We serve our lunches buffet style and then every second night we have a plated dinner service. Although we do get groups and families, most of our clients are couples, either on honeymoon, or just as a couple's breakaway. Just thought I'd clear that up. We would love to welcome you back to the lodge one day - maybe even for an anniversary! Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    93
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
193
450
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow. From the moment we arrived, the staff at Elephant Plains went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The game drives were awesome (thanks to Morne and Derek). The food was very good. We had a great luxury suite. I left my iPad in the room and in a panic from the airport, called and reached the desk. They were able to get the iPad to friends at we were meeting later in the week in Cape Town. Thank you!!! As we had been in South Africa for 5 days when we arrived, we had laundry to be done. It was done beautifully for a very inexpensive cost. Please consider Elephant Plains and you will fall in love with the entire experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadley_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Hi Hadley, thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we're glad that we could help in reconnecting you with your Ipad! :-) We do hope to welcome you back to the lodge in the near future. Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Visited Elephant Plains with our kids (11 and 13) for 4 nights. We were well received and catered for throughout our stay. The games drives were very well organised and very varying, and we managed to see all big 5 over 6 game drives + lots of other game (including wild dogs!). Tracker (Freeman) also organised a mini-bush-walk for the kids. We stayed in a luxury suite, and in the room we enjoyed in particular the private deck with excellent view and complete privacy/silence. Drinks etc. are priced reasonably, so do enjoy some nice South African wine. Pool is good for a dip, however not for swimming. Children are welcomed, and I would recommend that they are at least 10 years old to enjoy the stay, as the nature is (of course) the main activity.

Room Tip: We enjoyed much having our own deck with superb view in the luxury suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christensen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi there! Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback. We are glad to hear that you and the kids enjoyed the stay! Regards, Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Elephant Plains Game Lodge and we had a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Rondavels, which were lovely, clean and very confortable. The game drives were great and we could spot all the Big Five. Our ranger, Richard, was really nice and had a lot of knowledge to share. This was a dream come true trip for my father in law!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi Chris
Thank you fro the great feedback you posted. We are delighted to hear that your father-in-law's dream came true. Regards, Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we recently spent 4 days at Elephant Plains Game Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. the entire experience was amazing from the moment we arrived to our departure. Staff were very friendly and helpful. the meals were inventive, delicious and plentiful - a variety to please anyone. we stayed in the Rondavels which were lovely - very clean, comfortable and spacious. The game drives were simply outstanding - our tracker, Derek, and ranger, Mornay, were amazing. they found all of the big 5 and then some! our landrover got us through the most challenging terrain - no one complained about getting up at 5 am every morning ! we loved the main lodge, the dining area, the swimming pools and spa. it was a most memorable experience and we are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for the very kind feedback you posted. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay! The fact that you are already planning your return trip speaks for itself. We'll be looking out for you! Regards, Marlet Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
12.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
25.9 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
12.1 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Property: Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,721 - ₹ 50,406
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing