We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Every Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After XC skiing in the Enchanted Forest, we always enjoy staying at the Alpine Lodge in Red River. The rooms are consistently clean and comfortable and over the years, we have noticed that the place is well maintained. They have updated the bathrooms with tile and new fixtures, only wish they could have made them larger. This trip they had installed a new flat screen TV in our room. The hot tubs are always hot and sparkling clean. This is our weekend getaway from Alamosa for our XC trip each winter. I always recommend them to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XCSki12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Don't be fooled by the name into thinking this is the Alpine Villas at Taos Ski Valley or anything Alpine like. I've skied for 20 years in the Alps an the French, Swiss and Italians would be embarrassed to be associated with such a place. The main reception and small lobby area was distinctly unwelcoming, and considering this is in the mountains had no feeling of warmth in it. The motel like bedroom was tacky, the only reason I have given it 2 stars is that the bed and linen were clean and comfortable, the Wi-Fi internet connection worked and it's in a good location next to the river. If I had been with a wife or girl-friend I would have turned around and walked away, and the next morning kicked myself for not having the same standards. Don't stay here, there are better places in Red River. The previous night I had stayed in beautiful Santa Fe for just $6 more, most of which was tax, and that included a superb breakfast and welcome. The best thing they can do with this place is pull it down and start again.

Room Tip: Yep, choose a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Alpine Lodge (originally booked 2 nights but was able to easily add 1 additional night after arrival). Cathy was very friendly and helpful at the check in desk. The room was adequate - kitchen could use a few items - strainer, better can opener and larger coffee pot - but we were quite happy with the accommodations. Only wish the wi-fi would have reached our room - but we were able to sit in the lobby and use the internet. The hot tub was very hot and a nice touch after a day on the slopes. We loved that we could walk to the platinum chairlift after suiting up in the room since it's only about 100 yards from door to chair! The entire town was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the small-ski-town feel with old fashioned friendliness and appreciation for our business. Skiing was great and it was so nice to be able to walk back to the room when we needed a break or lunch.
We usually ski in Colorado since that is where we live, but decided to take up RR with their offer of 3 free days with our Monarch ski pass - what a deal!! We skied 2 days and then booked an evening snowmobile trip. Had lots of fun with both activities. We will definitely return to Red River and would stay at Alpine Lodge in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debinatorColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed for a weekend ski trip, a decent value. Location is perfect. You can walk to the Platinum lift. Restaurants are all within walking distance. There are many types of rooms. Our two bedroom kitchenette was clean and adequately furnished though creativity is required with the sparse cooking implements. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only drawbacks, uncomfortable old spring mattress bed and hard pillows. Walls are very thin so we could easily hear the nextdoor and upstairs neighbors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great location. 2nd time staying here. Super close to main chair lift. You can walk to every decent restaurant in town. This is no 5 star hotel, but it is a cute bavarian themed set up. They recently put in flat screen TV's Only wish is for better pillows.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 km away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
568 reviews
0.3 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#9 of 9 in Red River
55 reviews
13.2 km away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
96 reviews
13.3 km away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
99 reviews
1.5 km away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#6 of 9 in Red River
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: ₹ 6,711 - ₹ 12,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing