We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'three-peat' visit”
Review of Copper King Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper King Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A 'three-peat' visit”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was our third Christmas Holiday to stay at the Copper King Lodge. We had such an enjoyable stay the first two visits that we don't even look at other accomodations in Red River.

The innkeepers have done much work since our last visit, continually improving the quaility of their inn. New flatscreen TVs, new window treatments and bedspreads, new headboards being made by their maintenance guy, and rumor of new carpet on the way. There is nothing wrong with the old carpet, but they do an excellent job of keeping the place fresh. My wife also commented on the 'fluffy' towels which she surely appreciates.

As always, our kids enjoyed playing along the creek in the snow under the watchful eye of their grandparents, feeding the ducks, etc. Other places would have a parking lot for the kids to play in...at the Copper King Lodge, you have the Red River as your backyard. And, being only steps away from the Copper Chair (when it's running) is a plus too. It's a great family inn.

The housekeeping folks truly work hard to ensure your stay is pleasant. They are a most friendly group who have become friends over the years.

Our last evening, the innkeepers came by to wish us a safe trip back home and offered assistance on possible routes given inclement weather we were facing. They truly care about their guests and make us feel as though our business is much appreciated. If Red River is in the cards next year...we'll be back at the Copper King Lodge.

Room Tip: Unit 13 has a back door that opens to the Red River with gas and charcoal pits right off the 'po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
128
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband and I rented one of the efficiency units (#21) during the second weekend in December so we could go skiing. This room has one queen bed, and we really liked having the microwave and refrigerator in the room so we could make a quick breakfast each morning before going to the lifts. It comes with plates, cups, glasses, flatware, etc. The room was very clean, and the towels were first rate. They provided soap, but no shampoo or lotion. I thought it was interesting that they also provided rags to clean ski boots, windshields, etc. That is probably how they keep their towels looking so good. The rooms were quiet and seemed to be well insulated. I would have given our stay a 5, but the check in and payment process are rather odd. We made reservations by phone and gave the usual information, but then they sent an email with a link. We had to go through paypal to pay for our stay in advance. We arrived in town at 8 p.m., and the office closes at 5 p.m. So they left our key in an envelope on the office door. They did leave a lamp on for us, as well as the heater set at a comfortable temperature in our room. That was a nice welcoming. With the key was a page full of rules that said we had to come by the office between 9 and 11 a.m. to fill out more paperwork. Considering the lifts open at 9, we tried to do this at 8:30, but no one was around. We filled out the forms when we returned in the late afternoon, and the people in the office were very friendly. There were ducks and deer near the rooms on the river, and they were being fed when we walked in from the slopes. Red River has more snow than usual this early in the year, and we loved the half price lifts, skis and lodging special offered during the first two weekends in December! This lodge is adjacent to the copper lift, but it was not running the weekend we skied, so that was not the benefit we had hoped it would be. We had a great weekend in Red River!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okietraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperkinglodge, Owner at Copper King Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I would first like to apologize for our office being closed when you stopped by to check in. Our winter hours are always 8 am - 5 pm just so that guests like yourself can check-in and hit the slopes by 9 am. There was some confusion among our office staff since that was the first weekend that we had a late check-in this winter.

Regarding the deposit policy, we give our guests the option of paying online, or mailing us a check. Hopefully, the guest will find one of these options to be convenient for them.

Lastly, we always try to let our guests know that the Copper Lift is ususally not running during the half-price weekends in early December. Since the ski area actually owns the lifts, we are not sure how early they might choose to run the Copper Lift. We are only a few blocks from the Platinum Lift though, so our guests always seem to be happy with our proximity to the lift.

We certainly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. We will be there for you before 9:00 am next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This was our first stay at Copper King Lodge. Our second trip to Red River since August. It was enjoyable. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculately clean. We stayed in room #16 which was a 2 bedroom, 1 bath with kitchen and riverside. The river was right out the back door and so were the deer and ducks. We hand fed the deer daily. They have gas and charcoal grills built in and we used the gas grill. Very nice. The gas fireplace was just OK. We wished that we had stayed where we had a real fireplace. We did receive a free night due to a Thanksgiving special but we have stayed in less expensive, nicer places. The kitchen had only 3 knives and none of them were sharp. The potato peeler was dull as well. It is the first place I have stayed that actually had GREAT egg skillets. The location is great if you have children that want to play out by the river or you want to walk around town. The living room TV is mounted on the same wall as the head of the bed is on the bedroom side. While hubby was watching TV I had to go sleep in the other room with my grandson. The person in the bedroom hears the TV better than the person sitting in the living room watching it. We were not bothered at all by noise from other guests. I was also told NO PETS and saw other people there with their pets so I was a little bothered by that. I would have really enjoyed having my dog with me too, the same as the other people did. Overall it is a nice stay, but we will likely stay at another place we enjoy there that is nicer for less money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperkinglodge, Owner at Copper King Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate constructive feedback. Let me provide an answer to a few of your concerns:
1) We always want our guests to let us know during their stay if something in the room is not up to par. We keep on hand numerous backup kitchen items including, pots, pans, utensils, etc., and could have very quickly changed out your knives and potato peeler.
2) The little dog was that of a family member that came to stay with us over Thanksgiving. The dog stayed in our home (which is attached to the property) and not in their room. We also have a dog ourself in our home, but it is not allowed on the property at any time. Sometimes this is a little confusing for our guests.
3) Lastly, we always want our guests to feel that they are getting the best value for their money. We constantly make improvements to the rooms, and look at what other comparable rooms are renting for in town. If a guest ever feels that there is a better value in town (with a comparable room type, quality, and location), we would match the price. We don't claim to have the cheapest units in town, but we do want to have the best value for your money!
Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have been going to Red River for many years, sometimes 2 or 3 times a year--it is a 12 hour drive, but worth it! The Copper King Lodge is our favorite & we stay there--if we can (that is, we book early enough!) It is great even off-season!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osfok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We visit Red River as often as possible, and went over Fall Break. This was our third visit to Red River in less than a year, and I have been there 20 plus times in my life. We didn't have reservations, but I had researched the Copper King prior to our trip. The Clerks were all extremely friendly, the room was clean, the location is great! This is one of the best places to stay in Red River, and the rates are great. The views were great, and they have great BBQ Grills outside for guests. The hot tub was a little small but had a great view! I wish I had made a reservation to get one of the efficiency rooms with a kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexinOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 km away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
523 reviews
0.7 km away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
225 reviews
0.4 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
13.0 km away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
76 reviews
37.3 km away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Lodge

Property: Copper King Lodge
Address: 307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper King Lodge is your mountain home for skiing and winter fun, summer vacations, and spring/fall get-a-ways. We are on the river in the heart of town next to the Copper Chair Lift. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing