We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but nothing special.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magdalena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magdalena
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We made reservations here months ago. When we arrived, they had misplaced the reservation but never fear, there were rooms available. We arrived at dusk and were very tired. We asked for a king bed and were told that there was one room with two king beds so we took it without looking at it. It had two queen beds. My wife said she was tired it was ok. The room was ok, it was small with a small microwave and a small refrigerator and a weak wifi signal. Like I said it was ok until you got to the shower. No tub just a two and one half foot square roughly tiled area I think was a shower because of the pipe and shower head. I have travelled a long time and in some pretty rustic areas but this was the smallest shower I have ever experienced. The adjustment for heated water took awhile to get used to. I would call it non standard or rustic. I was able to wash my hair and chest but nothing that required bending over.
The beds were adequate. Something softer than the floor. As stated we were very tired and we did not get a good nights rest. Every car or truck that went down the street could be heard.
The wind was blowing the night we were there and you could hear it as though it were blowing through a barracks.
I know that I am recounting extraneous stuff but I just wasn't happy.
All I can tell you is good luck with your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigseyepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Beautifully maintained, friendly staff. Unfortunately the bed was too bouncy and worn out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The rooms are cute and rustic looking. They have wi-fi and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. The RV Park in back is basic but inexpensive and quiet. The real draw was the Magdalena area but the Western was the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmtraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I have stayed here four or five times in the motel part and once in the very basic RV park in back in the last decade. Never had a problem. The rooms are old style of the "knotty pine" era, but come with TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. There is WiFi, although the signal is not too strong.

The ownership has changed at least three times since I first came, however, so who knows what next year will bring. People either like Magdalena or it spits them out.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chasclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

(505-574-2417) for reservations

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank aces44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magdalena
32.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
32.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
32.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 10 in Socorro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Socorro Hotel & Suites
32.7 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
32.5 km away
Super 8 Socorro
Super 8 Socorro
#6 of 10 in Socorro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Property: Western Motel
Address: 404 First Street, P.O. Box 1142, Magdalena, NM 87825
Region: United States > New Mexico > Magdalena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magdalena
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing