We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a history.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A room with a history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have stayed at the Plaza in Las Vegas, NM a half-dozen times. I was unable to get a room there on my last visit due to the motorcycle rally being held in the city during my most recent visit. I was disappointed because I love this old hotel and have always enjoyed their restaurant for 3 meals daily. When entering the hotel there is a feeling of time dropping away, maybe a hundred years. The little desk tucked in near the stairway instantly reminds one of old western movies, the grand staircase of Gone With the Wind. Upstairs the rooms are all spacious with big windows, big comfy beds and private modern baths for each room. Except for the modern adjoining bath you would easily believe you are in a time warp of a century ago. There is a homey feel to the hotel, the downstairs bar (popular with the locals) and the restaurant which has a really great breakfast menu and reasonably priced dinners to savor and remember. I love going there, again and again, and was disappointed it was not available on my last trip. Not to worry though, I stayed at a great new hotel also reviewed. Oh yes, I recognized the Plaza Hotel in scenes from the movie "No Country for Old Men."

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    164
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
111
219
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have stayed here several times on the way from AZ to CO. It's a cool old hotel in excellent shape. The rooms have always been very clean and well stocked with fresh linen. There is even wifi now. The price includes a full breakfast with coffee. We also travelled with one dog and one cat, and this is a very pet friendly hotel. They even have doggie biscuits at the front desk.

Highly recommended as a great place to stay in northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in the new expansion. Had an excellent view of the pigeons in the original portion of the hotel. Other than the view, the room was pleasant--nice furnishings, flooring, bathroom facilities. Probably the highest ceilings I've ever encountered in a hotel room, which made for a fairly dark room.

The rest of the hotel was very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking on the plaza was very convenient. Look forward to my next visit in room with a slightly better view.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great hotel that we've been to many times since it's re-opening. Excellent rooms and food. They had a bit of a time getting my parents set-up in a room w/ working AC last time around, but that's to be expected from time to time. Love the location and it's always good to visit old haunts (my dad went to grad school at Highlands U. in the 60s). I do have to note that the older woman (Hispanic, short/ dark hair, no name-tag...maybe management) doing the complimentary breakfast service was a bit of a downer. She was rude, condescending, and gave us intentionally bad service. I've lived in NM for 23 yrs. and have gotten used to this in lesser establishments, but was a bit galled at such shoddy treatment at such a great hotel. Beware the breakfast troll....

Room Tip: Don't stay over the bar, but get a window facing the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The :Plaza Hotel was built in 1882 and stands overlooking the central plaza area in downtown Las Vegas, NM. It has that old stately feel convincing all that it has seen a great deal in its many years. The rooms are quite large with high ceilings. There was no attempt to shrink the rooms to provide more revenue. These wonderful rooms are quite comfortable and truly satisfying and the price was quite reasonable. The staff is over-friendly and all of this even comes with a free breakfast in their regular dining room, not one of those make-your-own waffle places. An excellent choice if you care at all where you stay.

Room Tip: If possible opt for a room overlooking the central plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlby324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
3.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.0 km away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.8 km away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,389 - ₹ 7,888
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing