We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting historic hotel. Ghosts. Some rooms are not actually in the lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We booked a room for three people. When we got there, they sent us to another hotel about half a mile away down the hill near the highway and not actually in the lodge at all. We drove away from the lodge to the other building and looked at the room. It was huge, room for six and furnished with worn out furniture. We called them and told them it wasn't acceptable, so the receptionist said she would put us in a room in the main lodge with one bed. So, we all piled into one bed and spent the night. We would NOT do this again, having booked a room for three people. However, it was dark and the town was booked out so we had no other options.

On the bright side, it was a nice room for two people. It was on the third floor so we carried our bags up there. Some older people were really huffing and puffing getting their bags up the stairs.

They have a nice fireplace lounge with a stuffed bear, a stuffed wolf, a stuffed elk and some stuffed chairs. They also have a ghost, apparently, of a woman who was axe murdered by a jealous lumberjack lover. We did not see her, although they have posters of her all over the lodge.

The staff was very friendly, including the receptionist who gave us the room for only 2 people. She helped us again later when our TV didn't work.

The restaurant staff were very good, friendly, helpful, hard working. A+ The food was good. The beer was delicious and came in a huge mug.

If I were to visit Cloudcroft again, I would stay here again if they had a room with enough beds this time. It's a cool place and you might get visited by a ghost. I would NOT stay here again if they tried to put us in the "pavilion" hotel down the road again.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a room with enough beds for the number of people you booked the room to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IMAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Super fun place to stay. Victorian era décor with a staff to assist with any need. The beds are way comfy and the room was very quiet. Loved the fact that it is a dog friendly inn! Away from the town by less then a mile. The surroundings were great for easy walks.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Just a fantastic brunch in a great setting. Old "haunted" hotel with a beautiful view from the mountains overlooking White Sands National Monument. Has a chef that knows how to do a brunch. You cannot beat the value at about $25 including champagne.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Step into the past with Room decor that takes you back to the early 1900's ,but every modern day whim is taken care of. Staff and service are excellent and the hotel restaurant is truly 5 star quality. The view overlooking the white sands valley is truly unique.

Room Tip: 1st floor for accessibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityCamping101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Needed a break from the Texas Heat in August so we headed to the Lodge in Cloudcroft 20 plus years after our first visit. The Hotel looked just as charming as it did before and the weather was great. Our first night we stayed in a regular queen size room that was very small, no Chester drawers to put away clothes and my wife yelped when the shower changed temperature several times The rooms also smelled a little musty. Luckily they had a queen sweet available for the rest of our stay.The bar and dinning room where just as welcoming as I remembered , but the service was average, did not has some items on the menu and it took awhile to get a bucket for our wine. Also the heated pool was drained and not available. Overall we enjoyed our stay in the very historic hotel , but would recommend and update to plumbing and furnishing to return to its former self.

Room Tip: choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RioVistaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
38.5 km away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
22.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
21.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.7 km away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
78 reviews
0.9 km away
Dusty Boots Motel
Dusty Boots Motel
#2 of 6 in Cloudcroft
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range: ₹ 8,217 - ₹ 9,490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic resort that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing