We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“golf course is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“golf course is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This review is for the golf course, not the lodge itself. If you are a golfer, you can't miss this course. Immediately at the first tee, you know you're in for a treat. You're on top of a very steep ridge looking way down several hundred feet to two different greens, one for the first hole and one for the 10th hole. There are actually only 9 holes, but different tee and hole placements for the front and back nines, and two separate greens for 1 and 10. The course is fairly short, but huge trees come into play on nearly every hole. Almost all the holes have a slope of some kind. Very challenging. On one hole (5th?) you hit your tee shot totally blind over a hill and down into a very steep valley. The cart paths are so steep in many places there are warning signs to go slow and easy - believe me, you will! The course is high in the Sacramento Mountains at 9000 feet, in the village of Cloudcroft. It is a beautiful course with huge conifers and aspens lining the fairways and greens. I haven't seen the aspens in the fall when they turn golden yellow, but I can imagine how beautiful it will be. My wife and I played in late July when the temperature was in the upper 60's after a shower - we had to put on a sweater. What a refreshing change from the 100's back home in Texas. Don't miss this course!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
What wonderful kind words! We are very proud of the golf course (and the team out there that keeps it so beautiful). Golf at 9,000 feet is different than in the lowlands; the ball goes further at this altitude (but not any straighter). We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    99
    42
    34
    15
See reviews for
58
147
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brackettville, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The antique rooms at the Lodge are small but comfortable. They don't like pets at the main hotel, but can accomodate them at their annex down the hill which is enjoyable too. This place takes you back in time just by pulling up to the front door. I'm so glad glad we found it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor to enjoy the scenery. All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience. Hopefully, we’ll have an opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cloudcroft and we were so impressed with the grand hotel, comfortable room and overall traditional elegance with all the modern conveniences as well as the great and friendly service that we decided to stay an extra night. Wonderful value and atmosphere - we'll be back next chance we get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The2Mays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It’s very rewarding to know that you had a wonderful time. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a room on the third floor, king size bed, comfortable, and had to ask for another pillow. (brought up immediately!) Enjoyed a drink outside in the gazebo after our hike, bartender made a lemon drop for me, no problem, and visited with us for a while. Bathroom could use an update, and get some new TV's, although the TV worked fine and there were no problems. It just needs a little pizzazz. Pictures in the hallway need updating...pool/hot tub area were nice. Walked to the golf course and the marshall visited with us about the first hole...pretty amazing and really friendly. Had meals at Rebecca's and kept them simple, enjoying both. Went up the 'tower' and had a view of White Sands and the rest of the valley, saw the 'historic famous' autographs in the tower (which could use some sprucing up, didn't understand the hodge podge of chairs, and non-working twinkle lights), but we had almost the same fantastic view out of our bedroom window. The flowers were spectacular and the 'gardner' was helpful when I asked about some of the plants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor, but beware, no elevators. The staff is more than willing to brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patlikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lodge. We are pleased that you had a nice time. Our wonderful maintenance crews are constantly updating and remodeling rooms. Since the beginning of 2011, we have remodeled 12 bathrooms. We look forward to serving you again in the future! Rosie our gardener is always delighted to visit with guests about our special flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whether you want to stay at the hotel, or travel down from Ruidoso for Lunch, The Lodge is wonderful. The Dinning Room is very nice, and the food is very nice as well. At 8,900 feet, it is almost ALWAYS cool. During July and August, there often times will be thundershowers that freshen up the atmosphere, but rarely disrupt the plans of most folks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
0.6 km away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
38.5 km away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
22.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
21.7 km away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
22.1 km away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Property: The Lodge Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,313 - ₹ 9,602
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic resort that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing