We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Spur Landing(Cloudcroft)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloudcroft Hotel(Cloudcroft)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusty Boots Motel(Cloudcroft)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Lodge(Cloudcroft)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Alamogordo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Alamogordo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classic Inn Motel(Alamogordo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
109
105
50
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
105
50
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelresident ghostantique furnitureno elevatorrich historymodern conveniencesthird floorthe main hotelnew mexicorestaurant staffqueen roomthe white sandspool and hot tubelevationkeyalamogordofireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The antique rooms at the Lodge are small but comfortable. They don't like pets at the main hotel, but can accomodate them at their annex down the hill which is enjoyable too. This place takes you back in time just by pulling up to the front door. I'm so glad glad we found it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor to enjoy the scenery. All rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience. Hopefully, we’ll have an opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cloudcroft and we were so impressed with the grand hotel, comfortable room and overall traditional elegance with all the modern conveniences as well as the great and friendly service that we decided to stay an extra night. Wonderful value and atmosphere - we'll be back next chance we get.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2Mays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It’s very rewarding to know that you had a wonderful time. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a room on the third floor, king size bed, comfortable, and had to ask for another pillow. (brought up immediately!) Enjoyed a drink outside in the gazebo after our hike, bartender made a lemon drop for me, no problem, and visited with us for a while. Bathroom could use an update, and get some new TV's, although the TV worked fine and there were no problems. It just needs a little pizzazz. Pictures in the hallway need updating...pool/hot tub area were nice. Walked to the golf course and the marshall visited with us about the first hole...pretty amazing and really friendly. Had meals at Rebecca's and kept them simple, enjoying both. Went up the 'tower' and had a view of White Sands and the rest of the valley, saw the 'historic famous' autographs in the tower (which could use some sprucing up, didn't understand the hodge podge of chairs, and non-working twinkle lights), but we had almost the same fantastic view out of our bedroom window. The flowers were spectacular and the 'gardner' was helpful when I asked about some of the plants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor, but beware, no elevators. The staff is more than willing to bring up your luggage.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lodge. We are pleased that you had a nice time. Our wonderful maintenance crews are constantly updating and remodeling rooms. Since the beginning of 2011, we have remodeled 12 bathrooms. We look forward to serving you again in the future! Rosie our gardener is always delighted to visit with guests about our special flowers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whether you want to stay at the hotel, or travel down from Ruidoso for Lunch, The Lodge is wonderful. The Dinning Room is very nice, and the food is very nice as well. At 8,900 feet, it is almost ALWAYS cool. During July and August, there often times will be thundershowers that freshen up the atmosphere, but rarely disrupt the plans of most folks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Swede037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed on the third floor in a room in the tower with a king bed. The room was comfortable and the bed was perfect. The view out our window was of the valley below and White Sands in the very distant horizon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews