We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves the purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Branding Iron Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Serves the purpose”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

In small towns like Chama you don't have many choices. I must say this motel is clean, comfortable, and has friendly staff. I have stayed in another Chama lodge and this one is better. Yes, we would return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taino55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the second best place to stay in Chama. The other place is a B & B and is pricey. The rooms are large and clean and entirely suitable. Under no circumstances do you want to stay at any other motel in Chama. If you can't stay at one of these options, stay in Pagosa Springs or elsewhere and drive in to take the Cumbres & Toltec. To bad the restaurant is not open because Chama needs another. The High Country is the only decent restaurant in town.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Len T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

If you're planning to ride the Cumbres-Toltec Steam Train, this is the place to stay (although be warned - there is no restaurant there at present, despite the name). The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the shower has plentiful hot water, and the towels are nice and thick. The free in-room wi-fi only worked slowly and intermittently for us. We would also recommend choosing an upstairs room unless you are deaf or like to listen to footsteps overhead early and/or late. We would spend a night here again if we were riding the train again.

Room Tip: If you stay on the second floor, you won't have to listen to footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda022_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have 6 kids and needed 2 rooms. The front office staff was very helpful in getting rooms booked together and making us feel welcome.
This place is a great value. The rooms were CLEAN.
It's a great place to stay in Chama if you are riding the Train.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggiedoc915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed one night prior to my Cumbres-Toltec Railroad adventure. My room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The free in-room wi-fi worked well for me, although the front desk staff said it can sometimes be spotty. There is a computer in the hotel lobby for guest use. There are 2 floors to this hotel, and the rooms are exterior facing, as in there is no interior entrance to the rooms. There is no elevator and all access to the rooms are from the outside. There are no frills, and no breakfast included. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly folks. I would highly recommend reservations as there are limited lodging options in Chama, and the rooms book quickly for those who are taking the Cumbres-Toltec Scenic Railroad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
2.1 km away
Chama River Bend Lodge
2.5 km away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
102 reviews
1.4 km away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
1.5 km away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branding Iron Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branding Iron Motel

Property: Branding Iron Motel
Address: 1511 Hwy 17, Chama, NM 87510
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,807 - ₹ 7,577
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rio Chama valley at the Southern tip of the spectacular Rocky Mountain Range, the Branding Iron Motel welcomes you from May to October and offers the comforts of home delivered with exceptional Southwestern hospitality. From our unrivaled location, hear the engineer’s whistle announcing the arrival and departure of trains from the historic Chama depot on the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Branding Iron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branding Iron Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing