We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
479
51
22
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
51
22
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal dinnerlong tableloved the outdoor showerthree nightsstayed longerjunglevietnamislandcoconutfrogsbeachscootercreaturesusdnetbbqbamboo
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We were looking forward to our 4 night stay here as a sort of get away from the loud cities.
- Be aware that if you book the Blue bungalow or any bungalow near that one, you are really close to noisy neighbours and their Karaoke habits. After our complaint, the manager was particularly helpful and upgraded us to the other end of the lake where the noise was still present but not as loud.
- The dinner was nice but DEFINITELY NOT worth 15 USD each and I do not see how this can be NON PROFIT as they state. We only ate there once. Soft drinks not even included.
- Be aware that the breakfast ISN'T included in the price of the room.
- As we didn't book their car to drop us off at the airport, the manager didn't order the taxi for the pick up time which was requested. We were almost late for our flight. A definite ploy for us to use their overpriced services.
- Other travelers were disappointed with their stay whilst we were there, a Dutch couple explained that the Manager didn't say to them or anyone about the existence of a famous floating restaurant as he wanted people to eat there instead.
- Also be aware that the beach is 15 mins walk from there, it is stated on there website, but not on booking sites.
- I would advise that you double think before booking here, unfortunately this was one of our low points on our trip to Vietnam.

Room Tip: Check elsewhere before booking
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisS9425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomlandPhuQuoc, Owner at Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Hi Mr. Christian Stancey
We are very amazing to see this review. And we would like to aware you of something
First at all, you booked to stay with us via our website, we think that there were some misunderstanding from you because we had written to you to tell you everything about us that we are not near the beach, no breakfast, and explained to you our spirit also, we just have bicycle for our guest to go to the beach where our bar is, you approved that you were nature lover and really want to stay with us and we also supplied you an accommodation as you required breakfast included and this was our benefit for you.
Secondly, we didn’t force you to have communal dinner with us and let you know where other restaurant around is… we just recommended you to have our communal dinner or BBQ in one night at least because it was FREEDOMLAND TRADITION (only for our guest and friends) which is totally non-profit… please think how much we paid for the dinner is, we had to drive to the closest market (10 km from resort) to choose to best food. I would like to remind that the price for communal dinner is 320.000 VND (14$)/1pax, there were 14 guest in your BBQ party and bun-fire. In order to hold your BBQ party, 3.420.000VND(149$) was paid for fresh food in the market, 3 chefs, 3 service staffs and 1 bartender had to work in 5 hours and we thought that we have to give them a benefit base on their working hours (around 900.000 VND). We didn’t mention to others like marinades, coils, gasoline, bun-fire and another unnamed resources which is not the island produce. You haven’t even attended a communal dinner, how could you write it was not none-profit?
Thirdly, we have reason to supply bungalows without breakfast that is we sell what guest want, not what we have. Our spirit is FREEDOM and we have to adapt to any special request for food and diet plan which is mentioned on our website and we have price for each but we think it was not a far step compared to the rest of the island and you were also aware of this
You didn’t tell us about the taxi when you have another taxi information which is cheaper than normal price(advertising) (although we supply a private car with same price with local taxi). Finally you went to the airport on a different taxi with our other guest. We don’t care what did you say to our guest but you are whom caused misunderstanding
Thank you for reminding us about FLOATING RESTAURANTS, we will introduce another guest to who would like to eat there. But we also let you know how many guest would like to eat at restaurants that is at least 10 km from us? … oh, you are a traveler, you may eat wherever you want, but IT WAS UNFAIR TO HAVE COMPARISON BETWEEN DIFFERENT STYLES OF PROPERTIES
You have got level 2 on tripavisor, it means you have been travelling a lot but it’s unprofessional to write such reviews. I also traveled and worked many places in Viet Nam and Asia, I like backpackers but don’t like irresponsible comments. Anyway, if you have chance to visit Freedomland next time, we will offer more benefit and more welcome. Travel more, it’s good for your experience and soul
For our guest in future who is reading this review, please read our site, both positive and negative reviews before making reservation. We are not a standard resort, if you looking for a standard service, it is not FREEDOMLAND.

Best regards,
Freedomland Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

After 3 weeks travelling around Viet Nam, being tired with long journey, wondering where to go next. Fortunately, we met a Germany who had just been back from Phu Quoc Island, she told us about the interesting things there, she also introduced us a distinguish resort then we booked to stay there via their website, a kind answer gave us most of their information before our arrival which is totally what we need… On the first step to the resort we were almost lost inside a jungle with ranges of bamboo, coconut and unnamed plant, forgot the noise, forgot vehicle, also business, it was a really quiet place compare to the rest we travelled in Asia. Welcoming drink was served at the long table under canopies of huge trees and bamboo, we couldn’t see Bungalows and were allowed to visit all place (almost lost were we). I admire Freedomland resort creator, their idea were so fantastic, each Bungalow had its own design and be totally private from another (we had to said “Wow” on seeing the bathroom) this place was really quiet, nature was around with a lot of creature like frogs, squirrels, birds … ( there were 2 big geckos on our roof ) … remember to wake up early seeing the different singing birds
Food is the reason why I rate this 5 stars, there was menu for food and drink (you may order another one, I’m sure they know how to make it). The communal dinners were interesting which was served in a very long table under twinkling light and candle where we could meet another one and share our travelling experience, communal dinner dishes was changed daily base on our requirement, we are vegetarian and they knew how to make our dinner interesting and delicious… ( Trung maybe the best chef in Vietnam ). I don’t like a comment that the menu was expensive because of their good quality, beautiful scene and freedom, comfortable feeling, somehow it was not compulsory, they could have meal outside to see the difference.
We booked only three nights but it was difficult to leave, we extended our stay four nights more and couldn’t wait writing this review, If possible, we will return on Christmas holiday with our huge family. Thank you for our unforgettable memories, lovely Freedomland team.
Anyway, this place is not for all people, read their websites before making reservation, it is especially for relax, going back to origin, finding nature (be care of mosquitoes, bring some Remos or they will kill you )
p/s Hire a scooter to discover the Island yourself or book a snorkeling tour at Freedomland

Anthony and Elene

Room Tip: write an email to have bungalow description
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank anthonydavis922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

3 nights just wasn't enough to really soak up this beautiful place. The staff are amazing, food great and the accommodation is incredible.

Top tip... Hire scooters and explore the island. There are many hidden gems to discover and you'll only find these by navigating some unique Vietnamese roads.

I'll be back!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank HungryLadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We spend three nights with my friend here. Really nice atmosphere and friendly easygoing staff. You can book community dinner for 300.000 dongs. It was one of the best dinners i have had in vietnam. But thats only half of the experience. You meet the other residents and can make plans for next day.

Walk for the beach takes 12 minutes. You can rent a motorcycle for 150.000 per day.

If you come to the island spend at least couple of nights here! Its worth it!

Jari
Finland, Helsinki

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank JariL261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We had a really nice 3 nights stay in blue bungalow. Unlike some other rewievs told, everything was explained about the accomodation at arrival. Anthony made us feel really cozy and warmly welcome. We sat at the communal dinner for first evening. Food was excellent and plenty!! We could not eat all. There is no pushing towards anything and you are not automatically put on community dinner. All jungle sounds and noices can be heard from room but that is the fun of staying here. Not even too many mosquitos so really good experience !!! Anthony and the whole freedomland crew deserves 5 stars!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank NeitiTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews