We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original place which means both pluses and minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The place is in the middle of the jungle which adds to the atmosphere but be aware that you will sleep with frogs and various small insects. But that is OK as you have a net and it never feels too bad. We saw a scorpion one night but the employees helped but beware if you are sensitive to such things. The common dinners were great and you got to know guests which was a big plus for this place. We stayed at 3 different places on the island and I must say that this place was definitely the most original as well we had a lot of memories from this place due to some things that was not totally on my wife's comfort zone :-) We were there with a small kid which was totally fine. Just make sure you have some anti mosquito cream.

The beach was quite a walk (15-20 minutes). But when you get there you have a great beach - clean. As well sunbeds and food service. The food was great both at the common dinners and lunches. The breakfast was below average as well you had to pay for them. I would rate the place over-priced. If breakfasts were included it would be more normal price for such a place.

There seems to be a change in terms of the reviews when the change of owners took place. There was a big change when the owner was on site or not. A recommendation to the owner is to have a better follow-up on the employees as they tend to be a little bit sloppy when he was not there.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomlandPhuQuoc, Owner at Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

hi Andrei B,
it's our pleasure to have your contributory reviews, we will consider your recommendations and wish that you will have better feeling and experience on the next time you visit us.

Best regards,

owner of FDmL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

We were looking forward to our 4 night stay here as a sort of get away from the loud cities.
- Be aware that if you book the Blue bungalow or any bungalow near that one, you are really close to noisy neighbours and their Karaoke habits. After our complaint, the manager was particularly helpful and upgraded us to the other end of the lake where the noise was still present but not as loud.
- The dinner was nice but DEFINITELY NOT worth 15 USD each and I do not see how this can be NON PROFIT as they state. We only ate there once. Soft drinks not even included.
- Be aware that the breakfast ISN'T included in the price of the room.
- As we didn't book their car to drop us off at the airport, the manager didn't order the taxi for the pick up time which was requested. We were almost late for our flight. A definite ploy for us to use their overpriced services.
- Other travelers were disappointed with their stay whilst we were there, a Dutch couple explained that the Manager didn't say to them or anyone about the existence of a famous floating restaurant as he wanted people to eat there instead.
- Also be aware that the beach is 15 mins walk from there, it is stated on there website, but not on booking sites.
- I would advise that you double think before booking here, unfortunately this was one of our low points on our trip to Vietnam.

Room Tip: Check elsewhere before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomlandPhuQuoc, Owner at Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Hi Mr. Christian Stancey
We are very amazing to see this review. And we would like to aware you of something
First at all, you booked to stay with us via our website, we think that there were some misunderstanding from you because we had written to you to tell you everything about us that we are not near the beach, no breakfast, and explained to you our spirit also, we just have bicycle for our guest to go to the beach where our bar is, you approved that you were nature lover and really want to stay with us and we also supplied you an accommodation as you required breakfast included and this was our benefit for you.
Secondly, we didn’t force you to have communal dinner with us and let you know where other restaurant around is… we just recommended you to have our communal dinner or BBQ in one night at least because it was FREEDOMLAND TRADITION (only for our guest and friends) which is totally non-profit… please think how much we paid for the dinner is, we had to drive to the closest market (10 km from resort) to choose to best food. I would like to remind that the price for communal dinner is 320.000 VND (14$)/1pax, there were 14 guest in your BBQ party and bun-fire. In order to hold your BBQ party, 3.420.000VND(149$) was paid for fresh food in the market, 3 chefs, 3 service staffs and 1 bartender had to work in 5 hours and we thought that we have to give them a benefit base on their working hours (around 900.000 VND). We didn’t mention to others like marinades, coils, gasoline, bun-fire and another unnamed resources which is not the island produce. You haven’t even attended a communal dinner, how could you write it was not none-profit?
Thirdly, we have reason to supply bungalows without breakfast that is we sell what guest want, not what we have. Our spirit is FREEDOM and we have to adapt to any special request for food and diet plan which is mentioned on our website and we have price for each but we think it was not a far step compared to the rest of the island and you were also aware of this
You didn’t tell us about the taxi when you have another taxi information which is cheaper than normal price(advertising) (although we supply a private car with same price with local taxi). Finally you went to the airport on a different taxi with our other guest. We don’t care what did you say to our guest but you are whom caused misunderstanding
Thank you for reminding us about FLOATING RESTAURANTS, we will introduce another guest to who would like to eat there. But we also let you know how many guest would like to eat at restaurants that is at least 10 km from us? … oh, you are a traveler, you may eat wherever you want, but IT WAS UNFAIR TO HAVE COMPARISON BETWEEN DIFFERENT STYLES OF PROPERTIES
You have got level 2 on tripavisor, it means you have been travelling a lot but it’s unprofessional to write such reviews. I also traveled and worked many places in Viet Nam and Asia, I like backpackers but don’t like irresponsible comments. Anyway, if you have chance to visit Freedomland next time, we will offer more benefit and more welcome. Travel more, it’s good for your experience and soul
For our guest in future who is reading this review, please read our site, both positive and negative reviews before making reservation. We are not a standard resort, if you looking for a standard service, it is not FREEDOMLAND.

Best regards,
Freedomland Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

After 3 weeks travelling around Viet Nam, being tired with long journey, wondering where to go next. Fortunately, we met a Germany who had just been back from Phu Quoc Island, she told us about the interesting things there, she also introduced us a distinguish resort then we booked to stay there via their website, a kind answer gave us most of their information before our arrival which is totally what we need… On the first step to the resort we were almost lost inside a jungle with ranges of bamboo, coconut and unnamed plant, forgot the noise, forgot vehicle, also business, it was a really quiet place compare to the rest we travelled in Asia. Welcoming drink was served at the long table under canopies of huge trees and bamboo, we couldn’t see Bungalows and were allowed to visit all place (almost lost were we). I admire Freedomland resort creator, their idea were so fantastic, each Bungalow had its own design and be totally private from another (we had to said “Wow” on seeing the bathroom) this place was really quiet, nature was around with a lot of creature like frogs, squirrels, birds … ( there were 2 big geckos on our roof ) … remember to wake up early seeing the different singing birds
Food is the reason why I rate this 5 stars, there was menu for food and drink (you may order another one, I’m sure they know how to make it). The communal dinners were interesting which was served in a very long table under twinkling light and candle where we could meet another one and share our travelling experience, communal dinner dishes was changed daily base on our requirement, we are vegetarian and they knew how to make our dinner interesting and delicious… ( Trung maybe the best chef in Vietnam ). I don’t like a comment that the menu was expensive because of their good quality, beautiful scene and freedom, comfortable feeling, somehow it was not compulsory, they could have meal outside to see the difference.
We booked only three nights but it was difficult to leave, we extended our stay four nights more and couldn’t wait writing this review, If possible, we will return on Christmas holiday with our huge family. Thank you for our unforgettable memories, lovely Freedomland team.
Anyway, this place is not for all people, read their websites before making reservation, it is especially for relax, going back to origin, finding nature (be care of mosquitoes, bring some Remos or they will kill you )
p/s Hire a scooter to discover the Island yourself or book a snorkeling tour at Freedomland

Anthony and Elene

Room Tip: write an email to have bungalow description
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank anthonydavis922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

3 nights just wasn't enough to really soak up this beautiful place. The staff are amazing, food great and the accommodation is incredible.

Top tip... Hire scooters and explore the island. There are many hidden gems to discover and you'll only find these by navigating some unique Vietnamese roads.

I'll be back!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank HungryLadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We spend three nights with my friend here. Really nice atmosphere and friendly easygoing staff. You can book community dinner for 300.000 dongs. It was one of the best dinners i have had in vietnam. But thats only half of the experience. You meet the other residents and can make plans for next day.

Walk for the beach takes 12 minutes. You can rent a motorcycle for 150.000 per day.

If you come to the island spend at least couple of nights here! Its worth it!

Jari
Finland, Helsinki

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
8.6 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 50 in Duong Dong
687 reviews
0.8 km away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#21 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
129 reviews
8.9 km away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#5 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Duong Dong
110 reviews
14.9 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
508 reviews
1.4 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 50 in Duong Dong
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#21 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: ₹ 3,224 - ₹ 6,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing