We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$19
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel$19
Tripadvisor$19
StayForLong
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
490
266
69
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
490
266
69
21
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

This little resort is fabulous and amazing value. We stayed with our teenage kids for 3 nights in both superior and deluxe rooms. Both were a good size, with powerful aircon and daily room service. The restaurant overlooking the sea on one side and Mt Agung on the other is fabulous, the food is delicious and the staff very friendly. My wife and kids did some diving, as first timers they did training in the pool, a dive at the front of the resort and then a dive at the wreck USAT Liberty. This package was RP800k each. The instructors were very thorough and took great care of them. The pool is beautiful and refreshing and has plenty of seating and loungers around it on various terraces. Do be careful though there are some broken tiles in the pool that should really be repaired, my son sliced his toe quite badly. This is absolute beach front and you can dive and snorkel directly in front if the hotel. It takes 5mins to snorkel down the beach the the Liberty shipwreck. The hotel is completely self contained and you can do everything there. There are other hotels you can visit for a drink or meal and an Indo Mart supermarket 300m up the road.
Highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank msga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that you share your experience with other holidaymakers. Thanks a lot for that.
Thank you also for the advice for the pool. We will check which options we have to repair it.
We wish you all the best and maybe sometimes we can welcome you again.
Warm greetings from all of us here.
Suci and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019

My wife and I are experienced divers and we have travelled all over the world scubadiving. Now we are getting a little bit older (50ties). We like to be able to relax between dives even if we dive a lot. The wife gets sea-sick easy so we tend to like shorediving better. Thats why the diving in Bali/ Tulamben suits us.

This was our 4th trip to Tulamben and our 2nd trip to Matahari. We have stayed for 2 weeks both times. Matahari have some very good special offers that no one really can equal.

The Resort
Matahari si not a luxury resort. Its a little bit worn down, but everything is clean and tidy. The location is very good by the water. The resort has a very good layout. You have a short walk from your room, down past the spa, to the restaurant with a beautiful view of the Tulamben shoreline. Next to the restaurant is the diveshop. And from the diveshop its 5 meters to the first divesite.

The Rooms
We have stayed in 2 different rooms, a deluxe room and a bungalow (Its not at bungalow, its a bigger room). The rooms are just like the resort, a little bit tired, with crooked henges and some rust here and there. The rooms have aircon (old, but functioning) and good beds. The rooms are cleaned and the floors washed (Not only brushed like many other places) every day if you put out the cleaning sign. They change bed sheets and towels when you want. You get pool towels from the reception any time.

The Restaurant
The restaurant is perfectly layed out next to the water. You have the fantastic view of the sunrise over the water to enjoy your breakfast even more. They have a meny with a good selection of asian and other dishes. My wife like to try out new food, and she never had the same dish twice in 2 weeks. All the food was tasty and fresh. We ate every meal in Matahari except one evening that we ate in Hops and Chops across the road from Matahari. The staff in the Matahari restaurant are friedly, even if they work long hours. Sometimes misunderstandings happends, but the staff allways try to help us the best they can.

The Spa
We had prepayed one hour of Balinese Aromatherapy Massage, and we both liked it a lot.

The Diveshop
There is usually allways a lot of Divemasters/Crew around the diveshop that will help you. When we arrived they checked our certifications. We brougth our own dive equipment and we got a big plastic box to keep it in. You can choose to dive with a Divemaster or you can dive indepentently. You can dive locally (within walking distance), go by car to the divesites a little further away or you can go on daytrips. We dived independently on all the dives we dived locally (Drop-Off, Suci place, Coral Garden, Liberty). We would probably have seen more stuff if we had brougth a Divemaster, but we are good at spotting stuff and there was plenty to see. Its sometimes relaxing to dive whenever you want without any timetables. For the dives we did locally by car we had a Divemaster with us. Usually we talked to him the day before and we planned time and place. Tanks, equipment, drinking water and towels was loaded on to a truck and we drove to some of the fantastic local macro sites in the area(Seraya, Batu Ringgit, Bulakan, Melasti etc.) The local Divemasters are really good at finding stuff and if you go to look for macro-stuff they are invaluable. If you take photos like me, he is just waiting to show you the next weird creature he has found. Back from the divesites our Divemaster always rinsed our equipment if we were done for the day. We went on 2 daytrips to Padangbai and Bondalem and a half day trip to Amed. These trips were in airconditioned cars and the Divemaster came along. I like the diveshop a lot and there is always someone there to help us, if we need a big tank ( I use 15 liters), if we want to analyse our nitrox tank, if we need a porter to bring our gear over to the Liberty wreck or for something else. We are very experienced divers. If you are not that experinced it may be a little difficult to see who is in charge and who can help you. But you just have to ask, and someone will help you for shure :-)

We had transfers to and from the resort included in our package. The driver picked us up at the airport and dropped us back there at the end of the trip. So easy !

All the crew at Matahari is very helpful and friendly. They will allways greet you with a smile.

Matahari offers World Class diving and they offer it at a very good price. We are just counting the days until we can come back to Matahari and explore more of Bali underwater.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mortenscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear Brit and Morten,
thanks a lot for your really amazing feedback. We are more then happy that you could again enjoy your holidays with us :-)
We wish you all the best and it would be great if we can welcome you sometimes again.
Warm greetings Suci and the complete TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

What a wonderful little part of paradise. Once been, you will be back. The room I stayed in was lovely and peaceful. The food is varied and delicious, served by smily pleasant happy people who will bring you anything you desire (within reason). If you catch fish, they will prepare it and if a mango drops into your lap....it does, they will prepare it, no charge. They offer half price filling of water bottles and save on plastic. They use bamboo straws and are eco friendly. I am so excited and have booked my return as the hotel gets booked up early. I love this place. I travelled alone for the first time from England and felt it was my home. Everyone from owners, reception to cleaners and gardeners, so lovely. I miss it.

Room tip: I was in room 6 and room 7. Both lovely. Wi fi good.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverlyC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thanks a lot for your great feedback. Make us all happy here and we are looking forward to see you again in the future. Sunny greetings. Suci and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019

This was the fourth time i visited Matahari Tulamben resort and when again in the neighborhood i will stay there for sure again.
This is not a fancy super deluxe resort but it has clean rooms in every standart and the food is delicious and the prices are normal.
Don't expect rooms with beach and seaviews, the hotel property is pretty narrow and they used the available space to build rooms.
At the restaurant by the beach ( there's no sand beach, only rocks ) they serve breakfast ( included ) and lunch and diner, everything is very tasty and price worth.
They also serve lots of Thai food, so don't bother going any were else because you end up paying more for less quality.
PS: If you want to eat a big steak or giant schnitzels go across the street to "chops and hops". ( German owner and cook, he was the cook of safety stop before ).

What i like about the resort is that they let qualified divers dive alone what makes the price affordable for people who dive a lot.
The guy's from the dive shop are friendly and give advice on where to go or what to see.
If you never been there is better to dive the first dives with a dive guide.
The massage center is nice and the prices are ok
You cant beat this hotel in price quality and service .

Keep up the good work Matahari Team

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guythediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thank you Guy. See you and your friends again :-)
Sunny greetings. Suci and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019 via mobile

Situated on the waterfront. Fairly basic accommodation but you don’t go to Tulamben for luxury. You go for the diving. Water was a bit murky so snorkelling was not brilliant over the USS liberty wreck. Brilliant snorkelling elsewhere though. Tropical fish etc were amazing. Restaurant was good, dive centre staff very helpful.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback and yes, sometimes for snorkeling the conditions are not perfect. Special when too many divers visit the wreck. Better option is to do discover scuba diving to have the chance to come closer to the wreck.

But we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Suci and TEAM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews