We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort(Tulamben)(Great Value!)
US$ 18
US$ 17
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KajaNe Tulamben(Tulamben)(Great Value!)
US$ 97
US$ 88
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Dive Resort(Tulamben)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa(Tulamben)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Seraya Resort(Tulamben)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alba Tulamben(Tulamben)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 16
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Akasa Villa(Tulamben)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
US$ 25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
433
242
60
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
242
60
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliberty wreckdeluxe roomfishrooms are basichot waterdiving packagemosquito netrestaurant staffbalinese massagetulamben areaearly morningprivate guidediving centerfree nitroxpygmy seahorsesopen watercoral gardens
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The Resort has a very nice and warm athmosphere. Immideately if you walk down the way beside the rooms, you see some small places for relaxing, between of a lot of green. You could feel the silence and the sound of nature.
Close to the sea is the place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also there is the enjoyability very high, cause the sea and the gekkos are making the music.
The divebase is right beside, so that each diver has short distance for checking the underwaterwolrd. The divesides there are very different. Coralgarden, drop offs and wrack, giving a lot to discover. Also the changing from soft to stronger current and specialy the night dives at the wracks and coral garden are amazing. We followed a hugh giant murane with 3 big trooper at the wrack over 20 min, and also 2 big trooper were our best friends at night dive at the coral garden in front of the Resort.

Also the complete Team of the Resort expressed a very heartly friendliness.
If at Spa, or for breaksfast, at the divebase, or on our trips, they was giving us the feeling, that we belong to a big family.

Our accomodation was a nice big and clean room, with table and fridge and safe.
They asked us each day, if they should come and clean.
But divers only stay at room, if they sleep or shower :-)

We was comparing it to a lot of our other dive holidays, and we had luck to catch a very good price offer. For staying and diving at this place, it is very comfortable.
If you look at the homepage, take a look for their Package offer.
You will be surprised.

What other people also should know, that the owner is a very sozial person, which looks for their workers. They also receive insurance, that normaly very rare.
Also if there was less work, because of the vulcano, all workers was there.
They changed the money with dayly official rate.

We hope that all vistors will receive the same beautiful time, like we had.
For sure, we will travel there again

Thanks to Succi and her team

Room Tip: choose rooms closer to the sea
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_12_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thanks for your great feedback Frank. Makes us happy.... :-)
Would be great to welcome you sometimes again. Greetings Suci and the TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Succi was very responsive to my emails. I started sending inquiries months before my trip and she would reply promptly. I decided to avail Package 1-A which includes 2-nights accommodation, round trip transfers, meals, Balinese spa, and 2 introductory dives. I don't usually avail tour packages and prefer DIY to save money, but this one is a great deal! I also made inquiries with other resort and dive operator and this is the cheapest I found.

The room, however, was very basic. No tv, no coffee and tea facilities, there is a small balcony though. You can request upgrade for a fee. The room was clean and the resort is well maintained. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Em R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

After my stay of 2014, I went to Matahari Tulamben Resort again in 2017. And there was no disappointment at all! I found the same good service, meals, accomodation...

The main good surprise was that the resort is perfectly maintained which is quite amazing for an Indonesian resort with an Indonesian management... after more than 20 years!. I can only congratulate Suci (the owner) for the continuous care she gives to her resort and to her customers.

I wanna also emphasize on her flexibility : we were a group of 5 friends traveling to Bali with 3 different flights with 3 different arrival schedules. Because of multiple flight and schedule issues, we had to change the pick-up time and places for the transfers to and from Tulamben 3 or 4 times ; Suci always met our expectations.

I will keep remembering that resort for my next stay in Tulamben.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We arrived at Matahari for our fourth visit but only had 2 nights stay before Suci - the lovely owner of the resort - had to ask us if we needed to be taken back to Denpasar to return home because Mount Agung was threatening to explode and it was unsafe to stay so close.The alternative offer was to move down to Amed just a little further away but much safer to a hotel that she would organise and continue our stay.We happily agreed to this alternative and spent the rest of our stay diving every day with her delightful group of dive masters and staff who arrived each day with tanks and equipment and still had a great time diving at sites new to us as well as some of our favorites back towards the volcano that was still threatening at times but never gave us any real trouble.Suci actually joined us on our dives each day as she is a very keen diver and excellent videographer and mostly was just one of the gang even if she is the " boss lady"
On our last dive day we pleaded to be taken back to Matahari resort to dive at our favorite sites.She agreed so we finished our trip at our special place.Wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

This is our second stay at Matahari in Tulamben and yet again we had a great time. We stayed in Room 9 this time which is at the front of the property. The room has been recently refurbished. The bathroom was large and the shower was powerful. The air con was quietThe only negative is the view from the window is onto a walkway and wall. This did not bother us as it actually made the room quieter and we only used the room to sleep and change. We were there for the diving.... would we go again to Matahari...you bet...booking already for 2018!!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are basic and small. Try to upgrade if you need room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aquanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews