We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Disappointing”
Review of Kembali Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kembali Villas
Ranked #15 of 421 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I'm here with a bunch of friends for a short weekend holiday. When we looked on the internet, the place looked great! When we called to make the reservations, the lady behind the desk was very nice, professional and helpful.

We had a late check in, we arrived at the villa at around 5pm, then by 10pm a numerous of unpleasant events occurred (for the price that we are paying). Im not going to mention ALL the events, but I'll state some...

Ok so, first incident, we called reception and asked for ice cubes- nope, they had no ice cubes. (???) So we asked them to go get some at a nearby convenient store, the security then came into our villa (without knocking) and asked us to write down our order and give them some money for it.

Secondly, we asked for extra bowls, ashtrays and cutleries, and they had no extra.
Breakfast was terrible, and when we asked for iced tea, they said they have no kitchen/room service.

Thirdly maintenance support should be 24hrs (like most other places in general)!! We were planing to go for a stroll around Seminyak and had put all our cash into the safety box when we arrived, then somehow it got locked in, when we asked for help, they said the maintenance support "closes" at 9pm. Soooo, we ended up staying in!

Lastly, what we all find very uncomfortable is that the butlers/day maids come in and out without knocking and always leave the front door wide open.

Those are just a few of the incidents that happened. Coming from a hospitality background I would just say that the system in which they operate is very under-managed and maintained.

We've been to Bali many many times before and stayed in some of the BEST villas around. Every time we come down we like to try something new, but compared to all the other villas we stayed at on our previous trips, this is one of the most disappointing. We pay for service first, then everything else. So with the price that we are paying, I wouldn't recommend anyone to come and stay here...

From one professional to another, Kembali Villas, you have lots of upgrading to do!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FashF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kembali, General Manager at Kembali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest,
As this review is a first time review from a TA member, we suspect it is "bogus" as our TA review record is excellent and now thank you for your valuable comments but are disappointed that at the time, you did not bring your comments to the attention of our management to remedy any inconvenience you experienced

However in reply;

1 Our website and and booking confirmation emails clearly state office and support hours are 8am - 9pm, and now extended to 11 PM

2 Ice cubes can always be obtained by our staff from nearby stores ( we now keep a small stock of bagged ice in reserve). Similarly special food requests like ice tea are available on request.

3 For the quiet enjoyment of other villa guests, we ask guests not to make noise ( loud music etc after 11pm) and believe as we have never had a complaint that extra ashtrays, cutlery etc are not immediately available, that your request was made for a last minute party after 10pm

4 Our maintenance staff needs to sleep too, their hours were 8am - 10pm and a villa maid until 9 pm. On your arrival, we demonstrate to all guests how the security safe operate. For emergency maintenance our security staff can usually deal with maintenance and can contact outside assistance s required

5 On our welcoming letter we clearly state that if privacy is required at any time, The office can arrange regular villa cleaning at times to suit guests and guests can lock the front gate

Kembali Villas are proud of our reputation for modern luxury fit out, staff attention to service, amenities, central yet quiet Seminyak location and above all guest enjoyment.


Regards,


MaDe. Ice Carlianti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Kembali Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Tucked down a small lane in Seminyak, away from the noise and traffic, lies Kembali Villas. We had Villa #1, and were simply blown away when we first walked in. The massive living space sprawls out onto the decking, surrounded by the meticulously maintained gardens. All fittings and appointments are tastefully modern whilst still keeping truly Balinese. The pool is huge for a villa – not a tiny plunge pool like others at this price point. Bedrooms and bathrooms again superbly done, and simply could not fault. And as said many times on TA before, service is impeccable. Some may find the maid service a little over-bearing (usually there for 3 hours in the morning, cooking and cleaning) but they work around you so you just tell them and they oblige - always smiling and always polite. Location is quiet and relaxing, and nothing more than a 10-15 min stroll to the likes of Seminyak Square, Ultimo, Rumours etc. Overall we couldn’t fault Kembali, it truly is a little hidden gem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestOzRossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

From the friendly and helpful security staff at the entrance, to the office staff, the maids and the other various staff, every one working at Kembali Villas seemed intent on making our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We ended up staying twice at Kembali in the one trip as we just absolutely loved it.
The idyllic serenity of your own personal Villa and pool and being waited on hand and foot if you desired made this far more impressive than the 5 star luxury resort we decided to check out of to come back to Kembali to finish our holiday. Kembali of course means "come back" in Balinese, and the staff certainly make the decision to come back an easy one.
You can choose to stroll the 5-10 minutes down the safe narrow laneways to the "main" street by the beach, or reception will happily call you a taxi. For a US$1.50 minimum for a phoned taxi, this will get you to pretty much anywhere local in Seminyak or up to US$5 to further afield such as Kuta (1/2 hr).
Our package included breakfast which for us with 2 girls 8-12 yrs consisted of American breakfast of eggs any style, cereal and fresh fruit (I love papaya with fresh lime juice sprinkled on top) plus good strong Javanese coffee (That's why the yanks call it a cup of "Java"). Balinese style breakfast also available.

Nothing was too hard for Anton or the office staff to assist with; from advice on tours and local restaurants to arranging for the brilliant VIP Visas and pick up from the airport.
Our special family favourite was ordering massages in our Villa for the whole family.

The range of Villas at Kembali should suit most family, couples and friends looking for a peaceful retreat with all the trimmings that won't break the bank. Sure there are probably marginally less expensive options in Seminyak, but they would be very hard pressed to match the luxury and extreme friendliness Kembali.

We will very definitely be breaking our own rule of never going back to the same place twice as Kembali and Seminyak have so much to offer.

When asked to compare Kembali with the 5 star resort in Jimbaran Bay we also stayed at, my 8 and 12 year old daughters rate Kembali as the clear favourite with a a rating of super duper awesome! My wife and I feel very much the same......

Definitely returning next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorDoornbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kembali, General Manager at Kembali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your excellent review.

We hope your onward journey from Bali was pleasant and that you have arrived at your destination fully relaxed after your stay with us. Look forward to your return


Best Regards,


MaDe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had two 3 bedroom villas for 11 nights in September which easily accommodated 3 families including teenage children. The villas were spacious, clean and well kept. The breakfast food was tasty and plentiful and the staff first class.
Ordered sea-food BBQ one night which was organized by reception and was best meal of the whole holiday.
The location was very quiet and away from hustle without being too far away from beach or main restaurants
Would recommend to anyone and have no problem going back again..

Room Tip: Villa 7 is biggest.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kembali, General Manager at Kembali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Kembali Villas.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided. We also thank you for your feedback that you particularly enjoyed our BBQ.
We hope your onward journey from Bali was pleasant and that you have arrived at your destination fully relaxed after your stay with us. As always it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards,


MaDe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our first impression was "WOW...what a slice of heaven". The 3 bedroom villa was magnificent and spacious. The staff were friendly and worked really hard all day. Our maid came at 7am to cook breakfast (we have young children) and was there until midday cleaning and tidying the villa. Although a service which could not be faulted we did not have much time in the villa without there being somebody else around! If it wasnt the maid it was the pool boy or the evening maids that would come to light the mosquito coils and turn the beds down. I found myself apologising to the maid a few times as I needed to be where she was mopping or putting our things away. We tried to ask her to leave the tidying for the day on our 2nd day there but it wasnt understood. Location was OK but with small children (4 & 6), or even people not so energised, the walk to anywhere was solid. My husband hired a motorbike for the week we were in Seminyak and this proved invaluable getting the kids down to the beach and to/from the shops/restaurants. We would stay at Kembali Villas again and would also recommend to friends/family, but next time we would request that the service not be so OTT so we could enjoy the peace and tranquility that it offers.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the 3 bedroom villa were beautifully decorated and clean. There was quite a differ...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CROSBIE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kembali, General Manager at Kembali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Kembali Villas. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and our reply below is our way of explaining your suggestions:-

1 Time maids spend cleaning villas. It’s a balance between the time the maids need to make the villa spotless & the maid leaving the villa for guest’s uninterrupted private enjoyment. We listened, so next time you need more privacy, talk to the office & they will arrange extra staff to ensure the cleaning & villa preparation is quicker

2 Distance. Yes it is a 5-10 minute walk to Eat St and KudeTa beach for adults. With children we recommend a taxi. It’s Rp20000 (US$2-50) to just about anywhere in Seminyak

We hope your onward journey from Bali was pleasant and that you have arrived at your destination fully relaxed after your stay with us. As always it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 147 in Seminyak
1,661 reviews
1.0 km away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,555 reviews
0.8 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,809 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kembali Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kembali Villas

Address: Jl. Sari Dewi 14D - Seminyak Bali | Bali, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 421 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: ₹ 17,999 - ₹ 31,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kembali Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kembali Villas luxury accommodation includes 2 and 3 bedroom villas. Each villa has it's own private pool, kitchen, personal maid, lush garden, air conditioned bedrooms, private bathrooms, IDD TV, Broadband Internet access. Quiet central location near all tops restaurants. "Why in the world, would you stay anywhere else?" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kembali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kembali Villas Hotel Seminyak
Kembali Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing