We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanyas Suite Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“An update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I've seen some less than wonderful reviews on Sanyas Suites recently and guess I should weigh in with some history.

Around a year or more ago, many of the staff (including the GM) left Sanyas to open La Villais, closer to Seminyak.

We've stayed at Sanyas maybe a dozen times and since Gede and his team left simply wouldn't go back there. We've found the management ultra aggressive in trying to get you to stay there and on our last visit maintenance had obviously taken a back seat.

I won't say too much more other than compare the recent reviews at Sanyas to those at La Villais. The quality and attitude of the management and staff really does make a big difference.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kpBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    74
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
207
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

we stayed 3D2N at Sanyas Suites. here are some of the good, the bad, and the ugly. i have tried to be as objective as possible.

the good:
1. lovely villa, housekeeping staff make you feel at home, they make wonderful breakfasts, pool and surroundings are all very clean.
2. the male receptionist is friendly and usually smiles when he greets you at the doorway.
3. the location is quiet and peaceful, the paddy fields in front are very nice.
4. the villas were near each other but you couldn't hear the noise from the neighbouring villa, not even when they had kids around. internet was decent.

the bad:
1. as we were coming on separate flights, they forgot to fetch my companion coming on the later flight, until we reminded them. needless to say they ended up late. airport transfer was USD36- you are better off getting a cab from the main airport. so i would say dont bother taking their airport transfer.
2. their exchange rate is disgusting. 1USD-9000Rp or even 10,000Rp would be fine. But at sanyas, be prepared for 1USD-12,000 or 13,000Rp if you are paying by card. they have no currency exchange facilities they claim, because i said if the exchange rate is so good im changing all my USD there. Moral of the story: pay the exact amt in cash, in USD. but if the extra 30% difference in the exchange rate doesnt bother you then id say this can be ignored.
3. we booked a spa on one of the days, and called 1 or 2 hrs earlier to cancel as we had gotten stuck in traffic and couldnt make it back in time. the next day, i found out to my horror that the spa people (and other passengers in the pick-up) had waited in vain in front of reception for 30 mins without anyone from the hotel letting them know. this is despite the fact that we called three times to inform them repeatedly and all the woman could say was "okay, okay."
4. their system at the reception is basically, an A4-sized book where they write everything in. this would be fine if each time they change shifts, the things actually get done. we had reservations at ultimo which were never made, wake-up calls which never came. so the qn is, what service?

like i said, lovely villa, friendly smiling guy, wonderful housekeeping and hearty breakfasts. BUT there's also a woman receptionist who doesnt really give a hoot about the world except the extras she'll be charging in your bill, disgusting exchange rates if you pay by credit card, no wake-up calls or help with booking tours etc. taxis are ok, though- but if you want a bluebird cab, specify or they will call their taxi driver friends to come.

so if you go to sanyas suites, id say get your bookings done in advance or do them yourself, and bring cash to pay. i came from amadea which cost less, and the staff were more than willing to help out, recommending tours etc. morning calls came as usual. so i would only recommend sanyas suites to people who a. do not expect much service from the receptionist or for bookings with tours, etc. and b. want to stay in the resort and do not need wake-up calls.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Liannechua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

The only question i had for myself at the end of my stay at this villa was "Why did i not book more nights" From the moment i arrived they had won me over, with the cold refreshing towel and a glass of the best orange juice i had ever tried.I booked the deluxe villa I arrived at 12pm and the check-in time was 2pm, there was not an issue at all, they quickly whisked me and my partner off to our room and along with the concierge the manager joined to introduce himself and advise "if there is anything more we can do to make your stay better please let me know". I only booked 1 night which was our last night in Bali after a 25 day stay. I unfortunately cannot comment on individual features of my stay as advised in my title it was Beyond Expectations in every aspect of my time there. If you are looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle and the best service you have ever received i would definitely recommend this villa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked the Deluxe Suite Villa off agoda.com for 5 days and was pleasantly surprised by the upgrade to the Executive Suite Villa when we arrived! To sum up our stay:

Cons:
- Bathroom floor was sandy. Wash/basin area not that clean. Traces of dust and dirt on the complimentary toiletries (toothbrush, razor, etc.)
- The mosquito coils help with warding off those mozzies, but the smell can be a bit too much to bear as all doors were closed with the air-con on. Boyfriend couldn’t stand the stuffiness, so he puts it out every night.
- Wi-fi not working during our 5 day stay. No biggie. Not there for the internet.
- Food was just okay. Unless necessary/lazy, eat out for dinner :)

Pro:
- Staff was very friendly, smiley and helpful all the time. Splendid!
- A complimentary plate of fruits on our first day.
- Private pool was cleaned every day. Weather was great, so pool temp was just nice. Pure privacy, no complains at all!
- By the time we return to the villa in the evening, the staff would have prepared our villa for the night (lights, air-con, bed, mosquito coils).
- Drinking water dispenser in the room.
- Bed is very very very comfortable.
- The villa was supposed to have wi-fi that guests can access from their rooms. They also have this ‘business lounge’ area where they have a desktop, with working internet connection and printer as well.
- Email reply was very prompt from the reservation. They even gave the boyfriend a complimentary birthday cake at breakfast! +++ points here! :)
- Breakfast is served at the villa. You just have to let them know what you want and when the day before, and they’ll come right on time bringing your breakfast to your villa. Not only that, they do take the initiative to set up the dining table for breakfast too :) They have like 3 sets of breakfast: Continental, Western and Indonesian. The boyfriend had the Western, and I the Indonesian throughout our stay. Would advice to go for the Indonesian (either Nasi Goreng or Mee Goreng), was much better than the Western.

Though the villa is a bit dated, but if you need a private, relaxing and quiet place to be, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capdinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

December was rainy season so was stuck in the room for half of the 5 days we were there, but the pool gave enough exercise for the restless boyfriend who would jump right in once he got out of bed. Service was friendly and if you order room service, get their local delicacies. It may be much more expensive than anything outside but at least its delicious, which is more than I can say for their western selection.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karamelcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
2.6 km away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#101 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 km away
Bali Island Villas & Spa
Bali Island Villas & Spa
#55 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 km away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#64 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kiss Bali
Kiss Bali
#68 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.6 km away
The Jineng Villas
The Jineng Villas
#37 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.3 km away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#32 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanyas Suite Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanyas Suite Seminyak

Property: The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Address: Jl. Cendrawasih No. 9 | Peti Tenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,580 - ₹ 17,105
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sanyas Suite Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanyas Suite is designed with a sanyasin's philosophy: it is a place appropriate for reaching happiness. In fact, it is designed for relaxation and rest from your daily routines activity with a beautiful architecture and comfortable furnishing. The Luxury a private villa and spa is a small resort, the fantastic place for Honeymoon. Unique entrance gate is inspired by typical of traditional Balinese courtyard houses. The open air living area pavilion includes an informal dining lounge and kitchenette. Each villa has own pool and decorated with Balinese antique pieces of art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sanyas Suite Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanyas Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Seminyak
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing