We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 94
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Legian Bali(Seminyak)
US$ 718
US$ 534
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 491
US$ 375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vila Lumbung(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 267
US$ 235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Paasha Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
US$ 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 243
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
622
72
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
72
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teabedroom villaprivate poolevery morningbbq dinneroutdoor kitchencomplimentary mini barfoot massagevilla bbqeat streetcool towelsturn down servicemosquito coilsthe main streetlittle extrasour honeymoondaily breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The evening before we check out and we're writing the review now just because we absolutely enjoyed our stay at the villa to no end. We stayed at the Ulin Villas for our honeymoon in the first week of July 2012. Our rate was negotiated directly with the facility who were very quick to respond to all emails and were very professional in preempting emails for deposit due dates etc. That in itself was an indication that things are very organized all around.

Some things that we really liked:

- Our driver who picked us up from the airport was extremely courteous and would be upset if we even tried to lift our bags on our own. He tried to maintain conversation during the drive back and talked us through any monuments that we saw that we found intriguing. Best of all he made a point to find a spot up front and center for us to see him as soon as we stepped out of the airport gates.

- The service overall was fantastic and very easy to figure out right off the bat. You simply dial the reception desk for everything... literally everything! Anytime we needed something we'd hit '0' on the phone and the receptionist would be able to answer any questions. We literally did everything this way i.e. ordering breakfast (included), ordering room service meals, asking for extra water bottles, asking for extra towels, getting the staff to come help with changing our mosquito coils if they ran out, asking for our room to be serviced, booking a time for the driver to drop us somewhere (also included). We even troubled the receptionist with strange requests like getting the delivery number for KFC or Burger King or asking for variations to our meals, figuring out day trips, getting the hotel to get money changed for us every couple of days etc. The lady during the day (I think her name is Wira) was fantastic and always knew what to do or say. The night guy was a little bit indifferent but thankfully we dealt mostly with the day staff who were always smiling and happy to accommodate requests.

- The one thing that really stood out was the attention to detail in all things. We have dietary restrictions in that we required halal meat and were unable to eat ham/pork. After day 1 they had a note to their staff to ensure that this was considered and everytime we asked to confirm we were assured that it was already considered and addressed. This was very assuring to know that they kept requests from one day in mind. Similar requests for additional mosquito coil burners were replicated on future days of stay. Yay!

- The villa itself is very large and I guess thats where your money is going. There is a reasonable size pool for two, a large outdoor dining area, a spa gazebo, a reasonably large bedroom, an indoor changing area and a nice lounge. We were very impressed with the size of the villa and how well it was maintained.

Some things we weren't too happy about or were indifferent to:

- I remember having a welcome foot massage or some form of massage included and afternoon refreshments included as part of our stay. Didn't get either but never really asked about them either so not sure if there was something to that. For future reference I suppose we would ask about that and if you stay here you should probably do the same

- The pool was somewhat cold despite the tropical climate. I suppose the cloudy days got the pool a little cooled down. We didn't go in for a dip too often so weren't going to throw a tantrum

- Every so often we'd get slightly stained towels. I'm not sure how they're cleaned or serviced but I suppose we just expected top end cleaning like we'd get in the US or Canada all the time :)

- Mosquitos can be a bit of a problem but thats the nature of the region. The villa does go out of their way to minimize the impact of these though. There is a plug in mosquito repellent in the bedroom. The villa also does come in each night and during the day to put in mosquito coils and spray the rooms with bug spray. The folks do take privacy over tending to your room very seriously so you have to make a point to tell them to spray the room you are sitting in otherwise they won't come in and impede your space.

Overall not too much to complain about but little nits here and there. We absolutely loved our stay overall and would come back if we braved the 28 hours of travel to get here from Canada! Would highly recommend to others and would suggest that if you stayed here you always just ask for anything you might want/need as the staff are very ready to help out.

Room Tip: Stayed in villa 3 which was close enough to the main road for easy access out of the villa but far enough that the villa was absolutely quiet and we couldn't hear the hustle n bustle of the reception or road nearby.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear “Mohamed H”

We highly value your review and we are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to no end. Thank you very much for a very comprehensive review. I have read both the things that really liked and some points that you suggested to be addressed to. We believe your suggestion will help us to persistently improve our standard of service. We are very happy and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The villas were lovely, the location was perfect (near the action if you wanted it but also so quiet you could hear a pin drop as they were set off the main street) and to top it off the staff were wonderful. Every single member of staff we came across could not do enough for us including making my friends' 30th an extra special one by ALL of them coming to the villa to sing "Happy Birthday". The freshly cooked breakfast each morning was so wide ranging in choice it was the hardest decision of the break choosing which meal to go for! I would highly recommend this, excellent value for money and the best example of customer service i've ever seen in Asia.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear “CarlySB”

We were honored you and your friend have chosen to stay with us for a such special celebration and we are very happy to know that your stay with us was wonderful. Thank you very much for your high praise to the level of service presented by our staffs. We also glad that you find our price, location, the beauty of the villa and the service are the great value for money. Once again, thank you very much for your review and see you again on your next holiday in Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a great time at Bali & Ulin staff (with their friendly & professional customer services) gave me the great impression of Balinese hospitality. We were spoilt at Ulin Villas.......everything/services/staff are top notch!!! Privacy was well respected & felt safe at all times we were there. Keep up the good level of customer services......makes the holiday more fun & enjoyable.

Room Tip: Good place to have a group party.......we were there coinciding with our friend birthday bash. The party planner was professional in transforming the event (away from home) so home warming & food was excellent. We were having a great nite in the privacy of our group villa & not disturbing other guests staying within the villas
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear “Michel L”

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us on your latest Bali holiday. We thank you for taking your valued time to post your review at tripadvisor.com. We all delighted to hear that you loved the service level perform by our team members that represent the true Balinese hospitality and sincerity. We are excited and really hope you will stay with us again on your next Bali vacation.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My family stayed here for 3 nights and had a late checkout of 9.30pm on the 4th night to suit our midnight flight back home.

This place deserves only positive reviews as everything about the place is amazing.

We had a 2 bedroom villa which our 6 and 8 year old stayed in 1 room and my wife, 14 month old and I stayed in the other.

Location is really great for being straight in the heart of Seminyak within 5 minutes walk.

Service is impeccable from all staff. There is nothing that is too much to ask of them. I celebrated my birthday while staying here and my wife asked the reception if they could organise a cake. The morning of my birthday all of the staff working that morning from the reception, cleaners, gardeners etc all came and sang their own original version of happy birthday to me! It was probably the best birthday song I have ever experienced as it was so personal and heart felt!

The villa's were so relaxing. Always kept clean. They kept on topping up the mosquito coils twice a day. Pool was awesome. My kids had such a great time in the pool. The staff even set up a special little fenced area for our baby to hang out in safely while we were in the pool.

Would definitely stay here again. We had a look at the 1 bedroom villa while we were there and it was amazing too.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 15 which was right at the very end away from the road. Was a bit of a walk from the reception to this villa but it suited us well. I think you'd just want to request not the first villa's closest to reception when staying there and you'll be fine with any of them
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear “Lteam”

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for a very extensive review. Myself and all team members are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. The Ulin Villas is indeed in a great location, close to the beach and just steps away from the “eat street” has to offer. We were very happy to have you here with us on your birthday, we were honored. We glad you enjoyed our little surprise. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Cheers,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at Ulin Villas for 5 nights in June 2012. Everything about the place was better than we hoped for, and our entire stay was fantastic. Villa was spacious and the outdoor area was beautiful and romantic. Breakfasts were yummy and there was quite a bit to choose from. The staff were more than happy to accommodate all the variations on the meals that we requested (e.g. vegetarian versions for me, no eggs for my hubbie etc). We had lifts by an Ulin Villas driver to other places in Legian & Kuta pretty much whenever we needed. The staff on reception always gave excellent, honest advice about money changers, taxis, shopping etc. Had a couple of treatments in the day spa that were also really lovely and get value for money. Easy walk to the main Seminyak street for lots of restaurant and shopping options. Shops are a bit more upmarket and higher priced than other Bali areas, although it is only about a 5-10 minute walk to the Oberoi Flea markets where there are all the usual cheap markets, bargaining etc. Overall totally enthusiastic about Ulin and will definitely be back, it is just fantastic value for money and a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear “kazmoid”

I am very happy to read that your stay was fantastic and more that what you ever hoped for. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed that breakfast so much. We are in midst of re-developing our breakfast menu t make it even better (plan to launch them in the middle of July this year). Thank you very much for your high credit to the level of service presented by our team members, they must be very happy to hear your great comments. Once again thank you very much for your review and see you again in Bali.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews