We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We loved the Ulin Villas, and highly recommend them. We visited Bali on our honeymoon, for a week and a half, and spent all of our nights at Ulin. The two person Villa is quite large. There is a lot of space to stretch out. Our favorite aspects were the outdoor shower and bathtub. Now my husband wants to install an outdoor shower at our house, he loved it so much! The pool was incredible! It was the perfect way to cool off on hot days. The staff was lovely, they took care of all of our needs. For example, I asked for the International Herald Tribune, which they don't ordinarily carry, but they somehow found a copy and brought it to our villa every morning with breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, is delicious, they cook it in your villa every morning (part of the package). One last thing, we took a day trip to Ubud, and had a terrific time. Ulin arranged a driver for us, for the day, his name was Made Mudiana (mmudiana91@yahoo.com). You should absolutely request him by name, he is terrific. We had tried a different driver beforehand, and much much much preferred Made Mudiana.

You should absolutely book at Ulin, if you are on your honeymoon it is a must!!! Families will love it too. You are just seconds away from Oberlin street, which has every shop and restaurant you can imagine. We loved Ultimo restaurant, and it was very well priced.

Room Tip: We were in Villa #2, it was perfect. We didn't see any of the other villas. But Villa #1 is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear “Jo r”

We love to hear that your honeymoon with us was wonderful and memorable right from the moment you arrive, our villas, the delicious in villa breakfast to the sincere service rendered by our team members. Our aim is to ensure our guest could make the most of their stay. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    71
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
159
352
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The evening before we check out and we're writing the review now just because we absolutely enjoyed our stay at the villa to no end. We stayed at the Ulin Villas for our honeymoon in the first week of July 2012. Our rate was negotiated directly with the facility who were very quick to respond to all emails and were very professional in preempting emails for deposit due dates etc. That in itself was an indication that things are very organized all around.

Some things that we really liked:

- Our driver who picked us up from the airport was extremely courteous and would be upset if we even tried to lift our bags on our own. He tried to maintain conversation during the drive back and talked us through any monuments that we saw that we found intriguing. Best of all he made a point to find a spot up front and center for us to see him as soon as we stepped out of the airport gates.

- The service overall was fantastic and very easy to figure out right off the bat. You simply dial the reception desk for everything... literally everything! Anytime we needed something we'd hit '0' on the phone and the receptionist would be able to answer any questions. We literally did everything this way i.e. ordering breakfast (included), ordering room service meals, asking for extra water bottles, asking for extra towels, getting the staff to come help with changing our mosquito coils if they ran out, asking for our room to be serviced, booking a time for the driver to drop us somewhere (also included). We even troubled the receptionist with strange requests like getting the delivery number for KFC or Burger King or asking for variations to our meals, figuring out day trips, getting the hotel to get money changed for us every couple of days etc. The lady during the day (I think her name is Wira) was fantastic and always knew what to do or say. The night guy was a little bit indifferent but thankfully we dealt mostly with the day staff who were always smiling and happy to accommodate requests.

- The one thing that really stood out was the attention to detail in all things. We have dietary restrictions in that we required halal meat and were unable to eat ham/pork. After day 1 they had a note to their staff to ensure that this was considered and everytime we asked to confirm we were assured that it was already considered and addressed. This was very assuring to know that they kept requests from one day in mind. Similar requests for additional mosquito coil burners were replicated on future days of stay. Yay!

- The villa itself is very large and I guess thats where your money is going. There is a reasonable size pool for two, a large outdoor dining area, a spa gazebo, a reasonably large bedroom, an indoor changing area and a nice lounge. We were very impressed with the size of the villa and how well it was maintained.

Some things we weren't too happy about or were indifferent to:

- I remember having a welcome foot massage or some form of massage included and afternoon refreshments included as part of our stay. Didn't get either but never really asked about them either so not sure if there was something to that. For future reference I suppose we would ask about that and if you stay here you should probably do the same

- The pool was somewhat cold despite the tropical climate. I suppose the cloudy days got the pool a little cooled down. We didn't go in for a dip too often so weren't going to throw a tantrum

- Every so often we'd get slightly stained towels. I'm not sure how they're cleaned or serviced but I suppose we just expected top end cleaning like we'd get in the US or Canada all the time :)

- Mosquitos can be a bit of a problem but thats the nature of the region. The villa does go out of their way to minimize the impact of these though. There is a plug in mosquito repellent in the bedroom. The villa also does come in each night and during the day to put in mosquito coils and spray the rooms with bug spray. The folks do take privacy over tending to your room very seriously so you have to make a point to tell them to spray the room you are sitting in otherwise they won't come in and impede your space.

Overall not too much to complain about but little nits here and there. We absolutely loved our stay overall and would come back if we braved the 28 hours of travel to get here from Canada! Would highly recommend to others and would suggest that if you stayed here you always just ask for anything you might want/need as the staff are very ready to help out.

Room Tip: Stayed in villa 3 which was close enough to the main road for easy access out of the villa but far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear “Mohamed H”

We highly value your review and we are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to no end. Thank you very much for a very comprehensive review. I have read both the things that really liked and some points that you suggested to be addressed to. We believe your suggestion will help us to persistently improve our standard of service. We are very happy and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The villas were lovely, the location was perfect (near the action if you wanted it but also so quiet you could hear a pin drop as they were set off the main street) and to top it off the staff were wonderful. Every single member of staff we came across could not do enough for us including making my friends' 30th an extra special one by ALL of them coming to the villa to sing "Happy Birthday". The freshly cooked breakfast each morning was so wide ranging in choice it was the hardest decision of the break choosing which meal to go for! I would highly recommend this, excellent value for money and the best example of customer service i've ever seen in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear “CarlySB”

We were honored you and your friend have chosen to stay with us for a such special celebration and we are very happy to know that your stay with us was wonderful. Thank you very much for your high praise to the level of service presented by our staffs. We also glad that you find our price, location, the beauty of the villa and the service are the great value for money. Once again, thank you very much for your review and see you again on your next holiday in Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a great time at Bali & Ulin staff (with their friendly & professional customer services) gave me the great impression of Balinese hospitality. We were spoilt at Ulin Villas.......everything/services/staff are top notch!!! Privacy was well respected & felt safe at all times we were there. Keep up the good level of customer services......makes the holiday more fun & enjoyable.

Room Tip: Good place to have a group party.......we were there coinciding with our friend birthday bash. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear “Michel L”

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us on your latest Bali holiday. We thank you for taking your valued time to post your review at tripadvisor.com. We all delighted to hear that you loved the service level perform by our team members that represent the true Balinese hospitality and sincerity. We are excited and really hope you will stay with us again on your next Bali vacation.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My family stayed here for 3 nights and had a late checkout of 9.30pm on the 4th night to suit our midnight flight back home.

This place deserves only positive reviews as everything about the place is amazing.

We had a 2 bedroom villa which our 6 and 8 year old stayed in 1 room and my wife, 14 month old and I stayed in the other.

Location is really great for being straight in the heart of Seminyak within 5 minutes walk.

Service is impeccable from all staff. There is nothing that is too much to ask of them. I celebrated my birthday while staying here and my wife asked the reception if they could organise a cake. The morning of my birthday all of the staff working that morning from the reception, cleaners, gardeners etc all came and sang their own original version of happy birthday to me! It was probably the best birthday song I have ever experienced as it was so personal and heart felt!

The villa's were so relaxing. Always kept clean. They kept on topping up the mosquito coils twice a day. Pool was awesome. My kids had such a great time in the pool. The staff even set up a special little fenced area for our baby to hang out in safely while we were in the pool.

Would definitely stay here again. We had a look at the 1 bedroom villa while we were there and it was amazing too.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 15 which was right at the very end away from the road. Was a bit of a walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear “Lteam”

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for a very extensive review. Myself and all team members are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. The Ulin Villas is indeed in a great location, close to the beach and just steps away from the “eat street” has to offer. We were very happy to have you here with us on your birthday, we were honored. We glad you enjoyed our little surprise. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Cheers,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.7 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.7 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
0.6 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#4 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,624 - ₹ 49,386
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing