We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing spot in a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A relaxing spot in a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Staff: We stayed 15 nights at the Ulin Villas & Spa in both the 2 bedroom and one bedroom villas. I would like to commend the staff on their amazing customer service. It is second to none! In particular i would like to thank Delima, Wira and Dehwah, you really went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be.

The Villas: All in all the Villas are awesome. The garden looks lovely and the buildings were really clean. The pool is plenty big enough for 4 adults and the water was really clean. The only slight negative to our stay was the lounge room in the 2 bedroom villa looked a little last minute and didn't accommodate 4 adults easily. The 1 bedroom Villa was amazing i really liked the layout and for 2 people there was ample room everywhere.

The Spa: Unfortunately we had a negative spa experience when it came time for our 1 hour complimentary massage. All 4 of us thought the massage therapists were very sub par. The manager informed us that our comments regarding the massages were taken on board and he was working to rectify it. For the rest of our stay we used Jari Menari or bodyworks which are close by and fantastic.

The Breakfast: Breakfast was of a good standard but there was nothing that i felt i could rave about. We had the banana pancakes one morning and they were not made fresh and very tough. During our stay we had 2 vegetarians with us and from their comments the vegetarian options were very good. 15 nights of the same breakfast options however for me became very mundane and on the outgoing comments card i wrote that the breakfast menu could use some refinement. In saying that the breakfast staff listened to what we had to say and were willing to bend their menu to make it more interesting their positive attitudes and constant smile were also wonderful early in the morning.

For us the positives far outweighed the negatives when staying at the Ulin Villas. With some slight adjustments they have a fantastic place to holiday and the staff in particular make it worthwhile (i can't stress that enough). Thank you for making our holiday a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear “Matt A”

It was a pleasure to have you and your friend staying with us. We thank you for taking the time to write a very extensive review about The Ulin Villas and Spa, we appreciate it very much. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted to hear that you love the service delivered and the positive attitude from all team members. We highly value some suggestions you recommended as we know it will help us to persistently improve. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    72
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
159
354
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and i have just had an amazing 9 night stay
The villa is excellent and our daily breakfast served by very professional attentitive staff was a highlight
The staff quickly understood our likes and everything was delivered without fuss
In fact the service level of all the staff was fantastic and importantly all had excellent spoken English which in our opinion is crutical
the villa is located in a very convient position as a 100 metre walk finds you in the main street with an abundance of restaurants ,supermarkets and shops.And a taxi is only seconds away
we must recommend this to all our friends and intend to return in the next few months

Room Tip: We were in villa 7 which was extremelly quiet as it was about 50 metres from reception.No problem as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear “noel B”

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to find that your stay with us was amazing and that our team members were excellently delivered a professional attentive service. Our location is indeed in the heart of Seminyak, steps away from restaurants and boutiques. I am happy to hear that you intend to come and stay with us again soon. Once again thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We spent 6 nights in Ulin as part of our vacation in May 2012.

As we arrived, the first let down was the exchange rate that they applied. The Villa people have their own rate of exchange and they follow that. Added to that, they charge your card only in the local currency (Rupiah) instead of dollars or other widely acceptable currencies. The currency is especially confusing in Bali because of all the zeoes added to their monies. For a minute, you are shocked to know that you are paying a few million Rupiah for a couple of nights, then you realise it is in their currency. But given their exchange rate, it does turn out to be on the higher side. Plus the currency conversion fee that your bank might levy on your card is an added expense you cannot escape! Also, when we arrived we were told that they will charge us upfront for all 6 nights, which is again a deviation form the general payment rules. But when you arrive at your hotel looking forward to a vacation, what choice do you have!

We booked the Villas online going way over our budget mainly because they claimed to be 'private'. But we were greatly disappointed to find that the villas, though self contained units, were very close to each other. (right across our wall is the tree for the next villa!). We were first given Villa 1 which was literally next to the reception area. We asked for one farther away and were granted that request. Even then, we could actually hear conversations from the other side of the wall on some days (I am sure as others across the wall might have heard our splashing around in the pool!). We had no choice and had to stay on.

Once we accepted that this is it, we began to unwind and really enjoyed ourselves in the pool. We were asked whether our room needs to be cleaned to which we refused because we had our clothes and other private stuff lying around after we came out of the pool. But when we returned from our dinner we found that, they had unlocked our villa and got in anyway to clean up. They had picked up our private stuff piled it wherever they found them. Private Villa?? I really don't think so! And what's the point being told that we don't want the Villa to be cleaned. When we pointed this out to them, they stopped housekeeping and we started calling them every morning (after they dint turn up for one whole day!) to clean up. They discontinued the evening service of keeping mosquito coils in the evening which they did on Day 1. We made quite a few mosquito friends!

The breakfast at Ulin is made in the Villa and served in the kitchen. The choices are limited but it is filling and sufficient considering it is complimentary! The room service is prompt and the food, though not excellent, is manageable. Internet is free and has good speed. It is fantastic to sit beside the outdoor pool and watch the sunlight dance with the flowing water through the jet sprays in the pool and hear the sound of the breeze. Of course, the pool itself is relaxing to splash around in! The Spa was good and had the standard massage service. There were 2 massage tables but only one shower. This was funny because I had to wait after the massage while my husband showered and then he had to wait for me!

The location of Ulin is also great. Unlike Ubud, it is closer to the airport than the rest of the island. It is in an urban area where you can shop for clothes etc if you like. The beach is just 10 min walking distance away. There are also a whole range of eating options lined outside the villa and all the way to the beach. There is 24/7 store closeby where we bought our cup noodles and chocolates. Ulin also offers complementary taxi service in Seminyak and surrounding areas. One evening we asked them to drive us to the beach. They had one of their staff come in no time and drive us down. He took a different route from the one we knew and led us to a very beautiful temple. He volunteered to come along and explained a lot of their customs. That was a very nice of him!

One suggestion that I'd like to give Ulin is to have a provision for ready drinking water. They do have a water dispenser in the kitchen. But then every time you need water, you need to crossover from your bedroom (if it is night) and walk all the way to the outdoor kitchen to fill the tiny bottle they leave water in. We bought bigger bottles and used to them to fill it for the night at least.

Overall a good stay except that first impressions tend to linger!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rovingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
“Dear Rovingeyes”

Thank you very much for your review and I am happy to note that your overall stay with us was very good. I wish to take this opportunity to clarify some issues that you raised. In regard of the exchange rate, our policy is to always refer to the exchange rate advised by the official banks that we affiliated with and the most updated. It may vary and fluctuations may occur. Indonesian monetary policy request all credit card transactions should be converted into Indonesian Rupiah based on the prevailing hotel exchange rate. This is a common practice within the hospitality Industry and I believe valid for all hotels in Bali. Our website and confirmation letter always clearly mention this policy. All villas at The Ulin Villas and Spa were built to offer luxury boutique villa experience with five stars pleasure. Every villa come with their own private gate and fitted with “Privacy and Service Request”. Whenever Privacy sign is up, we can ensure you no one would enter the villas as we respect privacy very much. Once again, thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I cannot commend the Ulin staff enough for their attentiveness and excellent customer service over the course of our stay. No where else have I met such friendly and helpful staff :) Wira, Delima, Suri and Wayan were so responsive to our every request: making our every dinner booking, providing courtesy transport to any venue in the area, providing courtesy pick up from the airport and even buying mosquito repellent for us! Delima and I also corresponded prior to our arrival to make a couple of dinner bookings for us the first night's of our stay.

Our private villa was immaculately kept during our visit and the outdoor shower was a real treat! We loved the firm mattress in the room, but this is to note for those who prefer the opposite. Every night the staff lit gorgeous candles around the infinity pool to set the mood which added to the experience. Breakfast was included and this was a real bonus. A staff member cooked in our private outdoor kitchen most mornings - it was always lovely to wake up to.

If you're a little bit of a workaholic and need to access the Internet throughout your stay, in our experience, we lost connection a couple of times. However, the very helpful staff immediately sorted it out for us.

The spa was also very relaxing with the courtesy foot massage on the first day being a great treat after our long flight. Only at the Ulin can you get my husband into a spa for a foot massage! Also, the ginger lemongrass tea that is served during every treatment is delicious. It's one Ulin feature I've adopted since I've been home to remind me of our faultless Bali experience!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will certainly stay at the Ulin Villas during our next visit to Bali!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 during our stay, which was great because it was only a short walk down the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyVKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
“Dear HollyVKent”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to post your review at tripadvisor.com. I am thrilled to hear that you and your husband very much loved the attentiveness and the excellent level of service from all of our team members. The in-villa breakfast is indeed a real treat and I am happy to know that you enjoyed the wide available selections on the menu. Spa can be an essential addition to your Bali visit, we are glad you and your husband had a relaxing treatment. The ginger tea at our spa is a signature home made ginger tea and you can have it anytime during your stay. We can not wait to welcome you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa for 7 nights. From pick up at the airport to the drop off 8 days later, the service at Ulin was absolutely exceptional. Wira and the other staff made our stay so wonderful that we will definitely go back to Ulin. The villa's are in an amazing location just 1 min walk behind Ultimo restaurant. Everything is within walking distance. Ku De Ta and La Lucciolo are a mere 10 - 15 min walk away. Whilst the Villa's are so close to all the restaurants and the action, they are amazingly quiet, tranquil and most important for us, private. We loved the pool, outdoor bathroom and the spaciousness of the villa. The complimentary transport (if available) to drop you off at nearby restaurants, shops etc is great. It saves just one more hassle of having to negotiate with Taxis (especially after dark). Taxis generally use the meter during the day but resist at night and want to negotiate with you. Having at least one way in the journey taken care of reduces this stress a little. But it's Bali which is the home of the haggle :-).

We went to the Spa as we had a complimentary massage but to be honest it wasn't fantastic. We had a better massage at Bodyworks, but because it was complimentary and included in our rate it was a nice addition to our stay.

The only slight negatives are the WiFi reception and the food quality for room service. The WiFi keeps dropping out, so alas... you will need this to be a holiday of total switch off and relaxation. Also the food service (apart from Breakfast which is fantastic) was not very appetising. We gave the feedback to management so hopefully they will fix this as it is a slight let down if you can't even get a Nasi Goreng tasty.

Overall though this place is a 9/10 and to be fair I am an extremely picky person. We will definitely be back as it is just blissful.

Room Tip: ask for one as far away from the road as possible as motorbikes can be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneysidersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear “SydneysidersLondon”

It was a true pleasure having you with us. Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time and to know that your stay with us was truly exceptional. As you described, The Ulin Villas and Spa is located in the heart of Seminyak, steps away to an array of restaurants and very close to the beach and also Ku De Ta while it is still amazingly quite and private. Thank you very much for your feedback and comments on some issues as we sincerely recognize it will help us to persistently improve. We are excited and hope to see you again on your future Bali holiday.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.7 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.7 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
0.6 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#4 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,619 - ₹ 47,434
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing