We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does exist!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #4 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It does exist!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It's hard to believe places like this exist. We originally did not book at Ulin, however upon arrival at another villa we were told they were at capacity and could not accommodate us. The other villa made arrangements for us to stay at Ulin for 3 nights before we moved back to the original hotel, and it was the best thing that could have happened! Not once were we treated like "comped" guests or felt like Ulin was doing the other property a "favor" by taking us in. We didn't want to leave and tried spending the rest of our stay in Seminyak there!

The grounds of the room were incredible. I write grounds because in addition to the bedroom and sitting room, each room had a private outdoor space equipped with a lap pool, massage hut, outdoor dining room, outdoor kitchen. It was all very spacious.

Every morning someone would come to our room to make us breakfast. We had a great massage at the spa. Our room received great sunlight and at night the pool was lined with candles. Very romantic!

The property is centrally located and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The public beach was a little far, however there is shuttle service to drop you off and we took a leisurely walk back through town. Another option is going to a beach club and camping out there for the day. I would recommend doing that because the experience is a little more enjoyable on a sunbed with umbrella - which are hard to come by on the public beach.

My favorite part about Ulin was the outdoor bathroom. Shower, tub and toilet are all outside (but under cover). While this may be a turn-off for some who are not as comfortable with nature, we love being outdoors and thought it was so different and unique.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveNlaureNsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear “Laurmingo”

We wish to thank you for your review at tripadvisor.com. I am very pleased to hear that you loved your stay very much and to read that you did not want to leave. Our villas offer luxury living space, probably one of the largest of it kinds, with lush tropical garden and friendly non intrusive service. I do hope you will book directly for your future trip, not because other villas you booked suddenly in full capacity without notice. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again.

With warm regards from all here,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    72
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
161
357
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have to say that this villa is definitely value for money! I have stayed in many luxury hotels before and i have never encountered such lovely people, amazing service, cleanliness and attention to detail (and for the price!) and that was just the beginning..
My boyfriend and I stayed in a one bedroom villa at the end of February - early March, the villa is located just off eat street, perfect location for shopping, dining, and close enough to the beach to walk..
We opted for a package which was included in our room rate, which allowed us to book a private trip around bali, breakfast daily in villa (which is literally cooked fresh for you in your own villa), Massage on arrival, daily transport to Kuta and Seminyak areas (which was always readily available), private airport transfer and more.. you honestly could not have asked for more, these villas are truly amazing.. so much so we have booked our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJD2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear “BJD2282”

We are thrilled to read your review and to know that The Ulin Villas and Spa met your every possible expectation as a savvy traveler. We persistently improve and learn from every guest comments in order to provide attention to details, little touch that are often a surprise and to meet your wishes (sometime undtold). We are happy to hear that you loved the in villa breakfast, our private tour and the massage. Our team members are always ready and go out their way to ensure your stay is memorable.

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review at tripadvisor.com and we really look forward to see you again on your next Bali visit.


Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel is very private, which is great to relax but also means you could live isolated for your whole stay.
Garden and pool area are great, the pool is rather large.Staff was always very helpful and responsive, which is very pleasant.
Location is nice, close to nice shops and restaurants, but still very quiet.

However the rooms are a bit worn out and would need refurbishing/refreshing, looks a little old inside.
2 big cons for us:
- the food, both breakfast (included) and dinner were really poor and tasteless
- mosquitos: three of us got beaten at least 20 times each in 2 nights. Yes, there is a pool and this is tropical area, but we managed to stay 6 nights in the middle of the jungle with zero bites.

Overall, too pricey for what it really is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leylaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear “Leylaaa”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review and sharing your observation of your stay. We are pleased to note that you loved the privacy and the service presented at The Ulin Villas and Spa. We highly value your less positive comments on the food which we are now reviewing. We will also immediately do thorough review to your comments on the mosquitoes in order to promptly manage the issue.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we are committed to use your comments to persistently improve our standard of products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future to show case what The Ulin Villas and Spa is recognized for.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from our 4 nites stay. We were there to celebrate our 9th anniversary so we wrote earlier to request if they could dress up the villa and make it more romantic. The reply came promptly and even managed to arrange for a free airport pick up.

After being greeted by the friendly driver Sundi from Ulin who gave us good some local knowledge, we meet up with the friendly reception staff. Overall I would say there is no one staff who didn't greet us with a friendly smile. They were very patient (Widi to be exact) in accommodating the changes in transport arrangement to Kuta. On the way to Kuta, the friendly driver Anthoni even let us make a quick detour to buy some souveniors and showed us to a good local restaurant and ensured that we get seated before leaving us.

All in all, we would say they have very good service. From the welcome floral arrangements on the floor, the wide choices offered for breakfast, a daily teatime snack with fresh juices (though it's a very basic snack), free mini bar with soda and beer and a bottle of red wine, evening turn down service where they will put up mosquito repellent and lite up candles along the pool and even change fresh towels during then.... you cannot fault any of their service.

As for the quality of the hotel itself, the hotel is very well kept, clean and neat. The pool is always so inviting and clean. The open air massage gazebo looks tempting but weather was just too warm to make it comfortable to massage there. One draw back is the kitchen is not connected to the main room living area, so when it rains which it did for the 2 out of 4 nites, you will have to use an umbrella to get your drinks which may be a hand full having to hold the umbrella at the same time.

Bed is firm and really wide, think it should be a 7 feet wide bed. good size open air bath tub and shower at a very nice little court yard setting.

You have total privacy once you are into your villa. Can even do skinny dipping in the pool without having to worried if you will be seen.

location : just a few minutes away from the main street where Ultimo is, no problem getting different types of food there.

Price : a bit on a high side, but really wort the experience. There are a few other villas nearby but this one definitely look the neatest.

Highly recommend if you want somewhere romantic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodyTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear “JodyTong”

We wish to thank you for a very extensive review of your time at with us here on your most recent Bali holiday. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay right from the booking process to your departure. We agree with you that The Ulin Villas and Spa is a private secluded paradise, while we just steps away from the “eat street”.

We thank you very much for your high credit to the level of service provided by our team members and their friendliness. We do hope to see you again in the future.


With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barham, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Ourselves and another couple spent 4 nights at Ulin Villas in a 2 bedroom villa. The villas were amazing with our own pool in a walled off oasis. The complimentary Balinese BBQ was a highlight, with the attention to detail and decoration incredible. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The drop off service was excellent whenever we wanted to go somewhere in local area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear “Anthony J”

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us on tripadvisor.com and we really appreciate it. We are happy to read that you loved your villa, the food (especially the BBQ), the attention to details and our team members that were extremely helpful to your every request. It was a pleasure having you at The Ulin Villas and Spa. We do look forward to welcoming you again on your next Bali visit.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
702 reviews
1.2 km away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
345 reviews
0.7 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,496 reviews
0.6 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,519 - ₹ 30,714
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing