We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ahimsa
Ranked #97 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

delightfully restful and luxurious. Very good service, beautiful pool and good location close to main shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclugash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    53
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My bf & I stayed 2 nights in both The Ahimsa (A) and W Hotel (W) when we were in Bali last week. Both were running promos so we paid USD315nett for A and USD530nett for W.

A looked as gorgeous as the professional photos shown on the website, location & service was great, the villa was very big etc... But something freaked me out a lot more than my bf. There were so many mosquitos in the villa that all the sprays & coils did not help! On the 2nd night, when I went out of the room to get a glass of water from the kitchen, I ran into 2 rats! I'm not afraid of cockroaches, but RATs!!! Putting this down may turn away some clients but its the truth... sorry ...

W was a lot more expensive so we expected more. No mossies, rats or lizards in sight. Breakfast spread was perfect. We booked the "spectacular ocean view"room, so it was lovely to lie on the outdoor couch at the balcony to watch the sun set. Although we didnt have the luxury of our own pool, W's pool was fantastic. All the outdoor beds and couches were divine! Like other established hotels chains, W had attention to details such as the lovely scent 24 hrs a day, Bliss toiletries, Bosh sound systems, professional staff etc. The only vice is that everything costs a lot more, the food, spa & transport.

When we return to Bali again next year, we will be trying another 2 hotels : )

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Four of us (two couples) stayed 5 nights at the Ahimsa in Dec 2010 after looking through many Villa options. The 2 Bed Villa at Ahimsa that we got through a local travel agent was great value in comparison to the other Villas.

The Villa is truly luxurious and has all possible facilities, with a nice mid size pool, open kitchen, common living area. The staff comes and cooks breakfast in front of you every morning. They are as accomodating as possible and customised as much as they could for our vegetarian friend but she still had to rely mainly on fruits. The Villa and the pool is cleaned every day.

The location is awesome as Jl Kunti is just a short walk away from the main Jl Seminyak where all the boutiques and restaurants are.

There is great privacy inside the villas as you hear no outside noise and the Ahimsa staff is quite discrete.

We loved the holiday so much that we just wanted to settle down at Ahimsa Seminyak!

Room Tip: All Villas have tall boundary walls for privacy. Choose a 2 bed Villa if you are traveling with frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was our second stay at Ahimsa in three years and our first at the estate-beach location. To be clear - The main Ahimsa is on JL Kunti across from the Bali Deli. The estate is a much smaller satellite development directly beside the Oberoi and Ku De Ta. You need to be very certain you get the property you are looking for as it can be quite confusing and if you end up at the Kunti property expecting a beach vacation you will be dissappointed.

The JL Kunti location is excellently located for self-catering from the Bali Deli and good access to some of the better shopping and hipper boutiques and restaurants in Seminyak. (Although this is changing with the development of the northern beach strip and areas around the W.) The Ahimsa estate is better for beach access and proximity to the surf. Also great if you plan on hanging out at Ku De Ta or other popular sunset spots.

The owners behind both locations appear adept at finding awkward sites and using some smart design principals to turn them into romantic and quiet retreats. Both are situated on very busy roads in stragely situated corners and intersections. From the outside you would never believe that the Kunti location could possibly be the relaxing little Oasis that it is. These are low key, quiet retreats that feel very private. There can be some minimal street noise at peak hours if you get one of the villas abutting the road in either location, so best ask for an inside location. The plunge pools are wonderful and the indoor/outdoor living spaces beat any hotel room. I particularly like the in-room breakfast service as everything arrives on your table fresh and cooked just how you like it.

This was strictly a beach trip for us and thus we stayed at the estate. In truth it looks heavily used and could probably use a reno and update. The location is superb if you plan on spending a lot of time in the waves. The biggest problem at the moment are the bathrooms which are jury-rigged with a rainshower attachement in a small tub. It's impossible to shower without completely soaking the entire bathroom. If I were the owners I would consider converting the shower into an open/outdoor area and dispensing with the tub. The kitchen area also needs and upgrade to make it more user friendly. Bring some skin-friendly mosquito spray to deal with the dusk emergence and make use of the coils to keep them at bay.

The strength of this place is the staff. It's a small group as you would expect in a place of this size but they work very well as a team. No matter who you approach for something it will get sorted quickly. They are attentive and helpful while respecting your privacy and know how to anticipate potential needs and problems.

Room Tip: At either location ask for a villa furthest from the gate/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Perfect location for shopping, Bali Deli, restaurants, spas etc. Villas absolutely great with beautiful decor and facilities.

Room Tip: All great but ones towrds the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.0 km away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#65 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Jardin Villas
Le Jardin Villas
#38 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 km away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#41 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 km away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Property: The Ahimsa
Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#68 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#71 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,743 - ₹ 27,578
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing