We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveller rating
1,560
151
27
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,560
151
27
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio suite chef luke the main hotel bottle of champagne our honeymoon club villa indian ocean infinity pool complimentary afternoon tea bose sound system complimentary mini bar sound of the waves overlooking the beach the general manager four seasons cool towels day bed
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Since 1996 we have enjoyed staying at The Legian as it represents a “rest and recover” holiday destination for us. Due to unforseable circumstances we were unable to visit over the past 6 years and we’re delighted to return this October for 2 weeks. Exhausted, we we’re delivered to this oasis by The Legians private airconditioned vehicle only to be greeted on arrival by General Manager Hans Jorg Meier with a genuine warmth, which set the tone for the duration of our stay. The Hotel and it’s grounds are magnificent and well maintained, the staff are friendly and professional, the food world class and the attention to detail is faultless. We can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1Kerry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaineggenschwiler, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear "1Kerry2016",

In the name of our entire team, we would like to extend our gratitude for your words of praise regarding your visit at The Legian. We have waited long for your return and hopefully we will see you sooner next time.

Your positive feedback shows that we have succeeded and you can be sure we will relate this to our staff members.

We are already looking forward to the next opportunity when we will be able to grant you our familiar atmosphere again at The Legian. Until then, our best wishes.

Kind regards,

Alain Eggenschwiler
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

My partner and I recently got married in Sydney and booked a quick honeymoon to Bali with our first stop being The Legian. This isn’t our first trip and we know Bali quite well. Wow wow wow the service was out of this world. From the airport pick up to the greeting at the hotel lobby it was outstanding.
We had book a suite with amazing sweeping beaches views, we had a 3rd floor room and it was huge and we’ll appointed.
The breakfast was 10/10 with a huge selection of local and international foods once again the staff couldn’t be more helpful.
We basically sat by the pool for 4 days to recover post wedding, up to 9 hours by the pool, amazing service with 3 great infinity pools to choose from. You get complimentary towels, water, cold hand towel and more. Throughout the day little treat keep coming by. Sorbets cold fruit punch etc

If you want a great place to stay which is centrally located with five star service then this is the place

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GavinEatsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaineggenschwiler, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear "GavinEatsOut",

Heartfelt thanks for your super assessment of your Honeymoon at The Legian.

Your feedback encourages us even more to extend our passion for the service we provide via our employees to our guests on a daily basis.

See you hopefully soon again at The Legian. We can hardly wait!

Kind regards,

Alain Eggenschwiler
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights as our first stop of our honeymoon last week and it was amazing! We honestly couldn’t stop taking about how incredible this stay was and it’s all because of the staff’s attention to detail. They immediately greeted us by name and offered us a delicious welcome drink that was much needed after a long flight from NYC. We were taken aback by our one bedroom suite that had a killer ocean view. The soothing music playing out of provided iPod and Bose surround sound made for a calm stay! The hotel pools and deck were very well maintained and quiet. So much of Bali can be loud and busy but the Legian was very soothing at all times. We used their great gym daily and had two yoga sessions with two fantastic instructions. We were soo impressed by the staffs genuine kind nature and willing to go the extra mile. The entire hotel from the food, the rooms and fantastic staff made our stay unforgettable. We will be back and I’d highly recommend staying at this special hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MekalO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaineggenschwiler, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear "MekalO",

Many thanks for your positive feedback on your visit at The Legian.

It pleases us to know that you had a great start into your honeymoon with us and that you felt perfectly cared for during your stay.

We are already looking forward to grant you our dedicated service again at The Legian. Until then, our best wishes.

Kind regards,

Alain Eggenschwiler
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Fans of classics should remember At Bertram's Hotel very well: Christie describes there an amazing "time-capsule" that has survived over the decades without losing anything of its opening charms only to succumb to the criminal temptation and perish. There is no danger of such an unfortunate end to the glorious history here: expert management that has the sole target of professional excellence guarantees that At The Legian's shall and will never end at all. Over the years, I've exhausted the superlatives while describing The Legian. This is a truly unique place, and its main achievement is exactly this: while everything ages and the fresh and glossy places become somewhat tired and complacent over the time, The Legian proves that this development is not at all inevitable. There is nothing tired about this place and it is as vibrant and aspiring for excellence now as it was a quarter of a century ago when it had been opened. It requires a particular type of management to achieve that: strategic vision, sober assessment of the market and its trends should complement decades of in-depth managerial success at both site- and group-level in order to bring the result. Hans Joerg Meier personifies these qualities and, as a GM and COO, is one of the very few professionals who could actually deliver it at the required level.

For many years now, I've been a regular guest at The Legian, and, surprisingly to myself, I have developed a particular attachment to this place, taking everything that happens over there very personally. When I was checking out last week, I was leaving my favourite hotel with the usual sadness that inevitably, every holiday comes to an end, but with the pride and joy that I haven't experienced for some years now: I am confident that it is not just in good hands now but in the best possible ones, and this is the very least that this amazing place and the amazing team that work there deserve. I checked out only last week but I already look forward to enjoying their hospitality and genuine family welcome again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Anastas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaineggenschwiler, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear "Anastas M",

It was wonderful to have you staying with us again at The Legian, your home in Bali.

Thank you very kindly for your appreciative words on your time you spent with us. Hearing this from one of our most loyal customers who knows The Legian and its successful history by heart is the best feedback we can receive.

Your family here is waiting for your return. Until then we wish you all the best.


Kind regards,

Alain Eggenschwiler
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

The Legian is all about attention to detail. Fullstop. From the moment you are greeted by name at the airport to the farewell in the lobby it’s apparent that your every need is anticipated. Beautifully appointed suites (it is an all suite hotel) with fresh flowers, beautiful fruit bowls ...you get our drift. Yoga on the lawn every morning..tick...an extremely well appointed gym..tick..3 crystal clear swimming pools..tick. However, the staff are the greatest asset. GM Hans leads an amazing team. Our beautiful breakfast host Widarthi has been at The Legian for 22years & it is clear why their staff have a great retention rate. They genuinely look happy to welcome you by name at EVERY interaction. And we’re not talking a 10 room B&B here. This is our 2nd stay & it won’t be our last. THANKYOU for a perfect week at The Legian. Evette & Bernie

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EEREALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaineggenschwiler, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Evette & Bernie,

We highly appreciate your positive feedback on your last visit with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you were fully satisfied with our services and felt pampered during your stay. With pleasure we shared your motivating comment with our very loyal Ibu Winarthi.

Until we meet again at our oasis in Seminyak, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Alain Eggenschwiler
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews