We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful couples' retreat . . .”
Review of Maca Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maca Villas & Spa
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

1) Location. Off the more popular stretches of the Bali beaches, this area is, while still touristy, decidedly a tad more upmarket. Hence, it can be a bit quieter. Yet, still to be found are many smaller villas, shops and restaurants. This particular hotel has no lack of access to shopping and food. The beach is a bit further away but still accessible by hotel drop-off, or, if you prefer, a comfortable 20 minute walk.

2) Amenities. Pools in the villa, privacy ensured. Larger public pool. Both very nice. Free wifi, in rooms and restaurant. Breakfast was good and satisfying; choices to be made off the menu.

3) Rooms. I lived in the smallest room, which was huge! Living room, bedroom and toilet / bathe were all huge expanses of space.

4) Staff. Very welcoming, very helpful, very polite. One of the main attractions of this place, really.

5) Other comments: Private pool in the villa, with privacy ensured . . . Need more be said?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asperger_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write beautiful review. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcome you again. Best wishes. Ika Dunn and Maca Villas & Spa Seminyak team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Maca Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 408 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at Maca Villas for 4 nights and couldn't fault it. Being a small property gives it an intimate feel and we were addressed by name from day 1. I am a travel agent and Ika the business manager went out of her way to meet me more than once to offer to look at other room types and see if my stay was enjoyable. All of the staff were beyond friendly and very efficient. By the time we'd finished breakfast, our entire villa had been cleaned, we'd never even see anybody! The villa itself was beautiful. The private pool was a winner and the bathroom was huge complete with flatscreen TV and beautiful bath. The rest of the villa was great and I especially liked the wooden table. Once you're in the villa you feel like you're away from the world. The property is tucked into a side street off the main road and it is a car trip away from most things (walking would be possible but the roads aren't ideal for walking on) however it's not enough to dissuade you from staying here. They offer a shuttle service to Seminyak Square once an hour. The restaurant has a good feel and they make a killer mojito! Overall an outstanding experience - thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meryl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for taking you time to share your experience through Tripadvisor. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Maca Villas and that's make all of us here very happy and hoping to have another opportunity to welcome you again. Best wishes. Ika Dunn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at a nearby villa, and regularly used Maca facilities. The staff there were incredible, and it was such a fantastic atmosphere. We loved the villas we stayed at, but next time I would love to try the Maca Villas simply because they had more to offer than 'just a pool villa' that we were staying in. I can't thank the staff enough for being so wonderful!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking your time to write review about our services. we look forward to welcome you soon at Maca Villas. Best wishes. Ika Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

very nice built property. nice clean and big villas. very nice food. excellent staff. had great time. enjoyed a lot. property is walking distance to nice and best party places like huuoo bar,mint bar,kudeta & potato head beach club.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varz_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience through Trip Advisor.
All the Maca Villas team are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us. Yes, we agreed our resort located being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues as well as some local boutique shops that has made Seminyak world famous. Hoping to have another privilege to welcome you, family and friends again at Maca Villas & Spa seminyak. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband, 12 month old daughter and I have just returned from our holiday to Bali, staying in the beautiful Maca Villas and Spa. We loved this place in every way!

Firstly, the villas themselves are stunning. They are exactly like you see in the photos, and the private pool is such a luxury. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa and couldn't have been happier. There is always that moment when you walk into accommodation for the first time, a bit nervous about what you might find, and worried you will be disappointed, but we couldn't have been happier with what lay behind the door. The furnishings are very comfortable, the rooms very clean, and the bathroom huge and luxurious with his and her basins, large tub, and rain shower. Although advertised with 'full kitchen', there is a sink, kettle and basic dinnerware - no cooking facilities (not that you need them when the food at the restaurant is amazing!). The villas are each surrounded by high walls, so are very private. You almost forget that there are other people staying around you. Villas are well airconditioned too so are a nice retreat from the heat.

The restaurant - we ended up eating at Mase Restaurant almost every meal! The food was delicious and very reasonably priced for resort food. They have a French inspired Western menu, but also an Indonesian menu. We ate only from the Indonesian menu at dinner, and loved every dish! Servings are generous, beautifully presented and not too spicy. They put the spicy sauces on the side so you can make it as mild or spicy as you like. The breakfast is divine and we are going to miss the freshly baked breads and pastries that they make onsite (although the waistline won't!!). There is a large range of drinks on the menu, also at good prices.

The spa - we each had a few massages at the spa. Prices are higher compared to what you can get in Bali, however you knew it was going to be clean and professional. It is only a small spa with a handful of treatments, but they were all so relaxing. The traditional Balinese massage was the best massage I have ever had, and quite different to anything I've had in Australia. Well worth it!

The location - when you first approach Maca Villas, you get a bit nervous. The road (if you could call it that) is terrible, full of pot holes and bumps you have to hold on!! Don't let this worry you as once you arrive at Maca Villas you quickly forget how you got there! The location is about a 10 minute drive into the main shopping strip in Seminyak (where Bintang supermarket is etc). There is a driver who can take you in at certain times, and it is very easy to catch a taxi back (costs approx. 35k so don't let them charge you more. Also say it is next to Villa Lumbung if they don't know it). There are quite a few other nice looking villas along the same road so easy to walk to if you want to try somewhere else for dinner.

Last, but certainly not least, the staff. Staff here really made our stay. They are all so friendly, helpful and just can't do enough for you. They were so wonderful with our daughter, always greeting her by name and playing little games with her. They would sometimes take her and show her around while we enjoyed a drink or meal in peace!! She just loved them, and will miss them at home! We got to know quite a few of the staff, especially in the restaurant, and really enjoyed learning about their lives and culture in Bali. Because it is a small resort, you get the kind of personal service that the larger resorts just couldn't offer. Often we were the only ones in the restaurant because we were up early thanks to our bub, so it gave us a chance to chat with the staff. Their English is excellent and we cannot speak more highly of them. I feel as if we have left friends behind.

Overall, you simply won't want to leave Maca Villas and Spa. You won't be disappointed and left wondering "perhaps we would have liked XYZ Villas better" - it's not possible! I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the restaurant and reception area, ask for a villa near the front (low nu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funlover_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience through Trip Advisor.
Such a compliment to read your review regarding of our facilities and services. The most important regarding of your comment about the bumpy road accessibility. We currently working on this together with others hotels and villa along the street and hoping the road project will be happening soon. Thank you and hope not be long to welcome you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 km away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#22 of 147 in Seminyak
655 reviews
2.0 km away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
1.8 km away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#19 of 147 in Seminyak
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 147 in Seminyak
645 reviews
1.0 km away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 147 in Seminyak
552 reviews
0.9 km away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#44 of 147 in Seminyak
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari No.7 | Petitenget, Seminyak 80119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: ₹ 13,348 - ₹ 26,631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maca Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical sanctuary for the sense’s featuring true luxury facilities and first-class guest services. Offering 23 One-bedrooms villas and 2 two-bedrooms villas designed for travelers who desire the utmost in privacy whilst also being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Maca Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Villas Hotel Seminyak
Maca Villas And Spa
Maca Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing