We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Dean Cooking Class

Chef Dean Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exciting combination/selection of Mediterranean and Balinese cooking class demo and tours to fishing village, traditional market, organic and cacao plantation, and other interesting places, tasting traditional foods and finally having Chef Dean's signature luncheon.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I have just done the cooking class with Chef Dean - and can't recommend it enough.

Even though Chef Dean is not a local - his knowledge about the local markets are very good, and it's interesting go with him and pick out the fresh fish and vegetables for the dinner you are going home to prepare.

The whole cooking experience is very relaxed. He shows you a few tricks to prepare the fresh fish and meat - and you get your hands on and try it all yourself. Seems very good to adjust the class after the participants skills.

After picking up all the fresh ingredients and then preparing the dishes in the kitchen - we had some of the best food we had in Bali - our compliments to the chefs :-)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DK-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    16
    4
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

From the outset of collecting fresh seafood at the fish markets in Jimbaran Bay, then grabbing some fresh fruit & veg to include in the days menu this was a great, hands on session! We were fortunate to have only 3 in the group which made for lots of interaction, demonstration and extra tips from Chef Dean outside of the recipes we were cooking for the day. The day is geared around YOU: the participant, having a hands on experience within your skill and interest level.
For the modestly skilled in the kitchen do not fear, you may select what you are comfortable with after certainly giving it a go....for the skilled, this is hands on in a professional kitchen with plenty to take away from preparing seafood from it's 'original form', preparation & combining of spices, basic knife skill hints, cooking elements of each of the dishes to name some of the activities (including recipes of all items cooked). Chef Dean is easy going, encouraging, approachable & loves a surf!
This cooking course stood out for it's experience of local customs & ingredients knowing I would be able to reproduce the food on returning back to Australia - instead of cooking traditional Indonesian food where ingredients  are potentially difficult to find. 
Very well priced, more food than you can eat, great hospitality, this won't remain the humble cooking session it is now. It is destined for great heights. Check out the restaurant Vivai for a meal too located in Seminyak Square. 

Helpful?
5 Thank kjrbpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 932 helpful votes
“Fish & Spice Market tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Were not 100% certain what to expect as the 'Chef Dean' experience is relatively recent and there aren't a lot of reviews to go by, particularly if you're not doing a cooking class. I picked the Fish & Spice Market tour, 'cause my culinary skills aren't teriffic (in fact they are woeful) plus it had the added bonus of a suckling pig lunch at the end of the tour.

We were instructed to meet at 9am at the Kuta Galleria, although I later found out that they changed the meeting venue (missed the email as we had already left). Were meet by Novi, Chef Dean's secretary (who turned out to be the best organiser) and then Chef Dean, who bundled us into his car for a ride down to the Jimbaran fish market. It was only the two of us so it was our own personal tour. Having been to a number of major fish markets around the world I wasn't sure what we would find. In all it was worth the visit, particularly with someone who knew their way around - even if they didn't know some of the species of fish. The markets were just a series of small dark stalls under one main thatched roof however the range of fresh fish was impressive (even more impressive was the lack of fishy smell - hopefully that's due to the freshness). After walking through the market, the beach and around the fishing boats we were treated to a meal of fresh coconut milk straight from the coconut itself. A delightful treat, all the time Chef Dean keeps telling you little anecdotes about his past visits to the markets.
Then it was off through the increasingly congested traffic to the Denpasar markets. Having read other reviews of how potential unsafe the markets are for Europeans we were a little apprehensive, which we found out was completely unfounded. Once again having a guide who knew where they were going was great value but having Novi there meant that you had your own personal security guide and translator. It was great to watch Chef Dean barter with the locals for fruit and spices - a real sight to behold. We had the opporunity to try a number of the local 'exotic' fruits hand selected by someone who knows what they are doing. The upstairs areas of the markets where they sell clothing and other stuff wasn't as interesting to me as the fresh meat, fruit and spices but each to thier own.
The it was off for my suckling pig lunch - unfortunately I was to be disappointed, as on the way there Chef Dean had let us know how we would get to see where the pigs are kept slaughtered and cooked. The owner however on arrival told us that they had cooked the pig early in the morning and that they wouldn't be doing another one that day. Whilst we got to see the pigs in their pens & the slaughter/cooking areas we didn't see any pigs on the spit. I'm guessing that if you are squeamish you probably would want to miss that bit. The meal wasn't suckling pig but pork satays and pork rind etc. My girlfriend wasn't impressed by the lack of sanitation or the fact that she found a small cockroach in her rice but we both agreed it just was part of the experience that us City dwellers don't get to see.

The whole tour & experience was really laid back, althought towards the end I got the feeling that all Chef Dean wanted to do was get in a bit of surfing before he had to prepare the evenings meal at the restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Dingo_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you do nothing else whilst in Seminyak, make sure you attend Dean's cooking school. My wife and I booked quite late, just a few days before the actual class was due to take place and it turned out that the other participants cancelled at the last moment. However, the day still went ahead with just the two of us and we had our very own private cooking class. That in itself is impressive.

The set-up and programme is great, from touring the local fish market, selecting the produce, enjoying a wonderful coconut milk refreshment stop and then cooking back at the restaurant. A great deal of detail is provided in previous reviews so there is little point in duplicating that here, suffice to say that the Singapore Chilli Crab and the Paella are absolutely fantastic and should not be missed. I hasten to add that this is entirely down to Dean’s culinary skills and not ours! Dean is a great guy, very amiable, relaxed and extremely good at what he does and he is ably assisted by some great folks in the kitchen. Unfortunately, we only had a limited stay in Seminyak and did not get a chance to try the restaurant, Vivai, to which the cookery school is attached and where the class takes place. However, based on what we did and tasted, it will be our first port of call when we return.

In summary, a wonderful day, extremely relaxing, great fun and DEFINITELY something that should be on everyone’s agenda if they are in that part of the world.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burra South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic way to spend a day in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Chef Dean was a fantastic host, ably assisted by Novi. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and fun day in their company. From beginning to end, it was a truly memorable experience. Apart from being taught so many valuable culinary tips, we came away with confidence that we can attempt all the dishes at home. So much so, we've just ordered a paella pan, and a fish scaler! The highlight, although it's hard to narrow it down to just one thing has to be the fabulous Singapore Chilli Crab - it was sensational.

Vivai was equally good, with Dean's attention to detail and genuine passion for food shining through.

We would recommend this to anyone - we'll certainly never forget it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank deeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Dean Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Chef Dean Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing