We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
599
125
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
125
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the barn guest house one night cape town beautiful garden breakfast was excellent onward journey garden route homemade muffins walking distance quiet street electric blankets lovely room car wash an absolute gem views of the mountains
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Room was good, large and beautifully set up. Lovely bedding, fluffy towels and flowers everywhere. Staff were really friendly and attentive and sorted out a restaurant booking for us.
Beautiful grounds next to the river. We were there in off season so it was not warm enough to take advantage of the swimming pool, loungers etc. but it would be lovely to lay there in the summer and admire the views.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wearybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Good Morning,

Hope you are well. It was lovely meeting you and we are so pleased your enjoyed your visit at Aan de Oever guesthouse.
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I recently booked an overnight stop at Aan de Oewer, whilst travelling down the garden Route. From the first phone call the staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. On arrival I was delighted by the magical setting of the guesthouse, the tranquil gardens and the immaculately clean accommodation. The staff continued to be super friendly and helpful. They upgraded my room, booked me into a lovely restaurant for dinner and then spoiled me in the morning with a beautifully prepared breakfast in front of a lovely fire. Chocolate muffins for the road was the final finishing touch. This guesthouse will definitely be my stopping spot each time I visit Swellendam!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilysanctuaryoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good Afternoon

Wow Wow Wow, Thank you so much for this incredible review!! We are so pleased you enjoyed our stay with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you back again in future.
Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

best wishes.
Aan de Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My friends and I have being visiting Swellendam to support the Huis AA Tomlinson old age home golf day for may years. We have stayed in excellent accommodation over the years..BUT the Aan de Oever Guesthouse is with out a doubt the gold medallist. Its not the excellent facilities and comfort of the guesthouse, which is awesome, that made our stay memorable, its the people. The staff of Aan de Oever, from the guy that cleaned our car in the parking lot to the manageress who welcomed us at reception on arrival....the staff go out of their way to make your stay AWESOME ! I must also mention the breakfast which is five stars, this alone will make ones stay worthwhile. Put it this way, we have already booked our stay for next year before we booked out......that should tell you how our experience was...just saying.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianO81WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good Afternoon Brian,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was an absolute blast meeting you and the gang and we are so happy that you enjoyed the visit at Aan de Oever.
We are most definitely looking forward to the next visit!!
best wishes,
Aan de Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing experience here. We were warmly welcomed by Ronel and them. Their hospitality were of a high stanard! The room was beautiful and clean with such a lovely view of the river. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. All of the staff was so friendly and really went out of their way to make us as guests happy!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LelanieB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for the great comments Lelanie. Hope you had a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
best wishes.
Aan de Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Bokmakierie room which was spacious but at the same time had a cosy homely feel. The room is nicely decorated. The view from the balcony is of the mountains and it is stunning. Breakfast was great. Staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The room has a handmade file with info about the area and where to eat. There is parking both gated and not gated. Overall this is a fantastic place at a great price. We were woken up to the sound of birds and ducks (you can hear it through the roof and closed windows) so if that is not what you want to hear perhaps don't stay here! If you don't mind the sounds of nature then definitely book here!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank saaira12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you so very much for the lovely review. It was great meeting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakaway at Aan de Oever Guesthouse.
We look forward to the next visit.
Best Wishes,
Aan de Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews