We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aanhuizen Guest House(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$ 61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Bergen Guesthouse(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 199
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arumvale Country House(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
US$ 57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquaelberg Place(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
A Hilltop Country Retreat(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Oever Guesthouse(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
194
56
25
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
56
25
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater bedspa treatmentsgarden routeone nighttrue treatbeautiful pool areamodern elementscape dutchmain buildingon arrivalstayed longeroriginal housean upgradesouth africacape townloft roomopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, and shown a couple of rooms as an upgrade. Staff were excellent throughout, the room was generous and well appointed. The hair drier didn't work well, so it was quickly changed.
Dinner was 4/5 star quality, and breakfast was perfect.
Beautiful historic town, and we enjoyed a good walk around. Overall, an excellent stopover on the Garden Route. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were driving the Garden Route and hadn't booked hotels in advance for this period of our trip. We booked DeKloof the day of as we were close to Swellendam and we were so delighted we did! The property is so lovely and charming and intimate! I love the history that the house was built in 1801. We stayed in the Viognier room which was a cute little cottage to itself. We also had dinner at the property and it was amazing! The staff was also very professional and nice. They even had a gentleman wash our car while we were staying there complementary (we tipped him of course). I highly recommend this place if you driving along the garden route- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kelrus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

I visited De Kloof with family. They stayed in the family suite, I was in the Merlot suite next to them. A wonderful spacious room, warm, welcoming, great shower, welcome wine. A very pleasant surprise to find my car washed the next morning. The service was warm and impeccable (thank you Charlene and team), every afternoon we enjoyed drinks in the lounge, enjoying the open fire place. The dinner was delicious, so was breakfast. It really is a place were history and modern life meet. And as my sister said: de Kloof makes you come together. It was a pleasure and a true treat.

Room Tip: they are all wonderful, I guess. All different. The family suite had its own fire place and a waterbed.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This place is fantastic. The venue is well designed and furnished, mixing historic features with modern elements. The rooms are large and the bathroom is superb and well appointed. Very good wine selection, delicious dinner and great (included) breakfast. The staff is also very attentive and helpful (a big thanks to Charlene who made our stay great!). I will definitely return on my next trip to South Africa. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Marcopolo20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and really enjoyed the atmosphere Quiet as not the busy season Walked around the small estate and had an incredible dinner there! Great folks and really a place to rest up! Had a coffee at the Old Goal and breakfast at the Estate was wonderful Loved the homemade yoghurt

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews