We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
11
15
19
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
15
19
17
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

I have been travelling all over SA for where is and this is joint 1st accommodation. No idea what others were thinking with negative reviews?
Beautiful location, spotlessly clean and well run, unlike some I have stayed at.
Swellendam is a delightful town with 2 great pubs.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank steverE2381VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Wasn't a good experience. Owner not friendly at all. Cooking utensils dramatic. The non-stick coating in the pans were loose, if you would use those pans you will probably eat burned coating.
You're not allowed to fry meat in the pans.

With other words, I would NOT recommend this one.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank arthur0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived here on Saturday November 5th around 9pm. Upon arrival The owners were not very welcoming or friendly. It felt like they were just doing it for the money. The price for a double bedroom was considerably high too: around R550, excl breakfast. At 09.50 PM we were told to leave the common room because they wanted to close down. We found this a bit rude or at least not very customer friendly. The rooms were basic and the two towels were not Clean (stains on them). When we wanted to check out the other morning there was nobody there. All in All, the experience was very disappointing. I there advise fellow travellers not to stay here. I am sure you can find much better accommodation for comparable or even more competitive rates.

Regards,

Jeroen

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeroenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The rooms here are fairly functional, and the bathroom was rather sparse and didn't really dry out. It was very cold at night when we stayed, and the heater on the wall didn't provide much warmth. Very early one morning a large group of people ate breakfast outside our room on the veranda, which woke us up. I think the lodge itself was locked at that time so they couldn't go inside. The kitchen has a couple of hobs and a microwave which worked well enough for breakfast but we chose to eat out in the evenings.

The setting of the lodge is beautiful at the base of the mountains, and there's excellent hiking to be had up there.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ddraig_fawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Easy to find and the owner is friendly and personal. Rooms are very quaint and comfortable with a lovely garden and patio area. All rooms are ensuite. No dorm rooms available. But it's worth the visit. Near the hiking trails and horse riding.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank candace15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews