We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
11
15
19
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
15
19
17
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Me and my boyfriend spent there 2 nights. Despite its name this place is not backpackers as commonly known in SA. It does not have dorms and the cheapest room for couple costs 480R/night. Room was very basic, which was quite dissapointing considering its price. It was very cold and damp room, we could not get warm there. Beds were comfortable though. Bathroom would benefit from handwash, shelf for toiletries and toilet brush. Main house is decorated nicely, has good kitchen, but it is small house and it felt a bit crammed at times. We did not like cat's eating area in the kitchen. Internet is charged 30R/device. Camping is costly: 300R/night.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We needed a weekend away from the craziness of life and felt like footloose travellers arriving at the backpackers under the trees in the shadow of the glorious mountain.

After a welcome cup of tea, we were booked into our lovely, clean twin room with our own en suite bathroom.

Wonderful, crisp linen and such scrumptious mattresses that we just had to take an afternoon snooze.

This is our new favourite overnight spot in Swellies.

Thanks for the lovely, warm welcome Steph. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank LizelDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

This was my first stay at a backpackers and I truly enjoyed it. The room was very clean, the beds were exceptionally comfortable and the facility was full of character.

The owner was delightful and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

The morning horse ride was such a memorable event, that we will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UrsFisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night at the start of our travels along the garden route based on a recommendation in the lonely planet. Quite frankly, I have no idea why they recommended the hostel and can't believe they stayed at the same place!

On arrival, the owner was quite abrupt and did not come across as very friendly. She told us about the hostel rules as if we were being told off for something we hadn't done! The hostel charges R30 per device to use the wifi and the owner puts the password in herself. We felt the vibe was "this is my house, but I will allow you to stay here and use the facilities if you want!" Not welcoming really!

We had booked a private double with ensuite; however these rooms were located in the main building which is very old and not maintained at all. There was damp in the room, a grate connecting to outside and all manner of insects and bugs coming through! The toilet was covered in spiders and we could not use it. Ironically had we booked a shared bathroom, these rooms seemed to be in a newer complex and looked much nicer from the outside.

The kitchen facilities were standard and whilst we sat there in the evening there were several huge bugs (?crickets) flying around - not what you would want while trying to eat your meal!

I wish we hadn't stayed and couldn't wait to leave the next morning after a poor nights sleep. Our advice - do not stay here!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I've stayed in one of the timber huts and also camped there. I must be getting old or something, but wow, have expectations changed for so called backpackers these days!
Some of these reviews are just astounding! If you are a true traveller who appreciates basic accommodation, at a fair price, likes to be in surrounded by a lovely setting and, like a true backpacker, makes the effort to make fire and chat, then this is a great place!.
Trouble with the so called ' modern' backpacker' is, they EXPECT 5 star accommodation at a backpacker price. Please, for you people, go and find a B& B for a lot more money!.
Backpackers are what YOU make them. This is a great place!. Swellendam has many lovely walks.........on the doorstep!. Just make the effort, that's all!. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Book any, make a fire, have a drink and enjoy
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furbrain2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews