We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Ranked #29 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Wakefield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This place is not as described, there is no pool, the lady host is abrupt, unfriendly and condecending, the bathroom lacks cleanliness the toilet seat made of wood yuk, the carpets and rugs were dirty. The tea and cofee tray lacked milk , so I went and asked the owner if he would be kind enough to provide some, he went into he private quarters and gave me some in an open jug. In total it was a complete disapointment. It progects secure parking, what that means is you "leave it on the drive and it will be fine" or at least that is what the owner told us. Its boasts 4 stars, I would say 1 star would be a compliment. My wife and I on a road trip, say we always get one bad stay! well La Rochelle was it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner161045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRachelle, Owner at Guesthouse LaRachelle, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
We are appalled by this review. The guest NEVER once mentioned any of his "complaints" to any of us. We had a delightful conversation during breakfast and they even wrote "thank you very much"in our guestbook.
We, that is myself, my wife and other personnel have NEVER been abrupt, unfriendly or condescending to our guests. As a matter of fact we have always been complimented on our hospitality and friendlyness. See any of the other reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were in the process of removing the pool off our premises and it was finalised a day before their visit. Our website will soon be updated with new photographs.
We have checked the rugs, bathroom and coffee/tea making facilities and found them to be in order. We choose to have wooden toilet seats instead of plastic ones.
Yes, I did gave the guest a jug of milk when he asked for it. I cannot understand his complaint. How were I supposed to give it to him??
Well, in short we are extremely unhappy with this unjust review and appeal to you to remove it from your website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed one night and had a room at the back by the small pool. The decor in the guest house is superbly done, very tasteful. The room was large, although I did not see any tea/coffee making facilities which would suit some guests. The bathroom was very large and well appointed, there was a guests lounge with an honour bar and books and magazines if required. The English breakfast was very good. I will certainly stay here again next time I am in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

A friendly helpful family run guest house where we stayed the one night on our way back to Cape Town. The accommodation is located on the edge of town but close to a couple of restaurants.

The breakfast was arranged the previous day and we opted for the continental style which was great - boiled eggs, fruit, toast and cereals etc.

The room was a little on the small side and located at the front by the road so a bit noisy/hot at times although a fan was provided. Also our toilet was a bit temperamental and although we mentioned this it didn't appear to be resolved during the stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Stopped off in Swellendam to break the drive and what a little gem it is? Very pretty setting and lovely houses and restaurants. La Rachelle was easy to find and very welcoming. Our room was very nice with a lovely bathroom. Very quiet and overlooked the small pool area. Our hosts were very kind and helpful and recommended a lovely restaurant nearby. Lovely relaxing breakfast before we headed off. The town is very sweet and well worth a walk around. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 km away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#14 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 km away
Wildebraam Berry Estate
Wildebraam Berry Estate
#4 of 25 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 km away
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast
Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 25 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.9 km away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.3 km away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#13 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse LaRachelle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse LaRachelle

Property: Guesthouse LaRachelle
Address: 8 Somerset Street | PO Box 562, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,827 - ₹ 3,212
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse LaRachelle 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, cosy and comfortable, hallmark this family run charming guesthouse in Swellendam. Ideally situated halfway between Cape Town and Outdshoorn and or the well known Garden Route. Your hosts, Marius and Rachelle, will welcome you with warm and good old fashioned country hospitality. LaRachelle offers five smoke free en-suite bedrooms in great comfort with separate entrances opening on to a secure and private enclosure. Relax, after an active day, in the comfort of your bedroom or in the lounge. With most trendy restaurants and places of interest within walking distance, Guesthouse LaRachelle is the perfect choice of accommodation and offers an intimate and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Guesthouse LaRachelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing