We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of FOREST REST

Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Pool Area Entrance to the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Pool Area
Pool Area
Entrance to the property
Apartment 1 - Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Bathroom
Apartment 1 - Kitchen
Apartment 1 - Dining/Kitchen
Apartment 1 - Dining/Kitchen & Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Lounge
Apartment 1 - Lounge/Patio
Apartment 1 - Lounge
Apartment 1 - Patio
Apartment 1 - Patio
Apartment 1 - Way to the pool
Apartment 2 - Bedroom Area
Apartment 2 - Bathroom
Apartment 2 - Lounge
Apartment 2 - Lounge
Apartment 2 - Lounge/Kitchen
Apartment 2 - Kitchen
Apartment 2 - Patio
Breakfast on request at an additional cost - served in the Apartments
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karin K
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had such a lovely stay @ Forest Rest.
The attention to detail is amazing & the hospitality is something that you have to experience for yourself.
It is quiet and beautiful & so peaceful with the forest on your doorstep.

Thank you Louise for all you love & attention.

We were truly blessed with our stay at your lovely guesthouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tasteful interior decorating & peace & quiet
Liked least: There was nothing that we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieEnd...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, ideal stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Louise is an amazing host. We really enjoyed our stay. There cant be a better place to stay at. We will stay there again when we go to Cape Town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like home away from home.
Liked least: doesnt apply
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessaco...
Gaillac, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a delightful place, great location, very quiet and peaceful. The apartment was extremely well equipped and Louise the host and owner could not do enough for us. Very well looked after by her during our stay especially the daily delivery of cakes! We will definately be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very nicely decorated and equipped apartment
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hennielen...
Ohrigstad, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat in Somerset West”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We travel a lot all over the world and Forest Rest is one of the best self-catering places we have ever stayed at. It is superbly appointed with everything one might need (and some more). It is stylish and sophisticated and in a very quiet area.

The location is very central and it is easy to access the main roads. With Stellenbosch and its winelands, numerous excellent golf courses as well as the ocean and great beaches in very close proximity, the most difficult thing was to choose what to do (or not to do) each day. It is a great place to spend a week or two (or more).

The little courtyard with sun loungers as well as table and chairs, looks into a forest and we spent hours outside watching the antics of some squirrels. Excellent pool and great garden. Our stay was further enhanced by regular visits from the two dogs, Panda and Tjoklit.

We were welcomed by Louise (the owner) with a huge smile and within minutes felt we had known her for years. The service is excellent and very friendly. We were sad to leave this beautiful and tranquil place and can truly recommend Forest Rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Liked least: Nothing we did not like or enjoy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECloete01
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect rest in busy city”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a picture-perfect tranquil place snugly hid away from the hustle and bustle of the Western Cape city life! For the traveller who needs quiet and peace, Forest Rest ensures an impeccable stylish stay at the edge of the unspoiled Helderberg forest. The hospitality and friendliness of the owners, without any intrusiveness, makes this feel like home. This will be my lodging of choice whenever I visit the Somerset West area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very difficult to say - everything was just great.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing