We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than the best......”
62 Granite Close Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
190 reviews
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom
Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Deluxe Studio Kitchenette
Deluxe Studio her Bathroom
Deluxe Studio his Bathroom
Deluxe Studio Patio with sea views
Superior Apartment open plan Lounge
Superior Apartment Kitchen
Superior Apartment Bedroom
Superior Apartment Bathroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bedroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bathroom
Superior Patio view
Studio Apartment open plan room
Studio Apartment Bed
Studio Apartment Kitchen
Studio Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment Lounge
Luxury Apartment kitchen & open plan lounge
Luxury Apartment Kitchen
Luxury Apartment Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment complete Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment patio
Luxury Apartment lounge & patio area
2016 HotelsCombined Recognition of Excellence Award
View March 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 190 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Golf-Frit...
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than the best......”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This year, for the 5th time in a row, we were very happy to be able to stay at ‘Vrede Self Catering’ in Somerset West, South Africa for a total of three months. Though the start of our stay was a bit disturbing (to say the least). Because of a long draught, all vegetation was extremely dry. Now and then fires broke out all over the Western Cape. Two days before our arrival, such a fire flared up in ‘Boskloof Eco Estate’ (where ‘Vrede Self Catering’ is situated). Sparks had been blown over from a huge fire on the other side of the mountain. The fire was immediately attacked by helicopters, carrying lots of water and firefighters with firetrucks. Luckily after a day of tension, we were given the green light: our stay could start as planned. Though initially on the day of the actual fire, it looked very bad with all the smoke, after we arrived it turned out that only some trees on a slope high up at the back of the houses and just a few shrubs in front were affected. We were so happy to see that the beautiful view from the house was not affected at all. And now, after six weeks, on the slopes in the back, you could already see new, bright green growth appearing. It turns out that ‘Boskloof’ is a real ‘ECO Estate’.
The stay at ‘Vrede’ was great, as always before. You could possibly not want for anything there. The fact that we keep coming back (in our navigation we call it ‘Home Too’) has several reasons. The great seasonal weather, an enormous amount of golf courses nearby, perfect restaurants and wine estates almost around the corner. Friendly people and a great atmosphere. Plus of course the more than perfect accommodation. The owner, Maggie Howes is in our opinion the world’s (OK, Africa’s…) best host. Just one small example? This year in passing, we mentioned that we are not too fond using the air conditioning in the bedroom -stuffed noses-, but with all the windows open, sometimes the odd mosquito dared to visit us.
No surprise: the next morning a local firm appeared at our door. Maggie had ordered them to also fit fly screens in the last windows. It is an old joke, but I think that if you ever would ask Maggie to jump, her immediate answer would be: “How high and how far ?”
If it existed, when would she be granted her sixth star?
Marilla & Frits Louw

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buggsi
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxation guaranteed!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Tucked away high above Somerset West this is possibly the loveliest self catering base that we have ever found. The location is perfect set within the Eco reserve with wide open vistas and the sounds of abundant bird life all around. The apartment is brilliantly presented with super comfy sofas, every possible home comfort you can think of and high quality bedding. The pool is a bonus and views of the sunsets absolutely stunning. From this perfect base venturing out is easy with wine tasting, penguins, False Bay, central Cape Town and stunning countryside all within an easy drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlisse...
Gerasdorf bei Wien, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW! What an experience!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great, fully equipped and save location in middle of nature. Nice lendlords great pool everything was more then alright!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentPe...
Somerset West
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Superb Vrede”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed six nights at Vrede and this was a five star de luxe experience.

Driving up the Estate you know you are in for a serious treat with a room with a view, and this it is. I was welcomed by lovely host/owner Maggie Howes and quickly shown around in the luxurious appartment. A truly grand appartment with lovely decorations and great finishes. Add to this a fantastic bed, excellent bathroom with great shower, well appointed kitchen, a large flatscreen TV with full DSTV bouquet and a great terrace with pool, overlooking False Bay, and there is nothing left to wish for. Another bonus is the lovely claning lady tidying up the place six days a week.

I can honestly say I have been to places, but this is seriously the best self catering spot I've ever been to. Only one small remark to make: should you have upstairs neighbors, you will hear them moving chairs or walking around. But perhaps mine made some extra noise. For the rest nothing but praise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marnavane...
Potchefstroom, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My colleague and I were on a business trip, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vrede - very good value for money in a fabulous house in fabulous surroundings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing