We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "NOISY" New Kid on the Block”

Casa Bella Somerset West
Ranked #25 of 146 Restaurants in Somerset West
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 10
Description: Casa Bella at The Sanctuary is an authentic Italian restaurant that serves Woodfired Pizza, Pasta, and Grills with the best, fresh homemade ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Bella at The Sanctuary is an authentic Italian restaurant that serves Woodfired Pizza, Pasta, and Grills with the best, fresh homemade ingredients.
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The hope for having finally an Italian Restaurant in Somerset was not fulfilled. The interior and ambiance is nice quite similar to a Diner. Service was ok. A big surprise was the "Noise" level although the Restaurant was half full only. This is due to the the fact that everything, Floor, Ceiling and Walls are of hard material. Later when the place was 3/4 filed it became VERY uncomfortable and it was difficult to understand each other. The tables set for 4 guests are much too small for 4 people. Some Pizza bread bites were served with Chillies already dried out. The Pizza Bread as Starter was quite big for 2 guests and not crispy. All prerequisites are there, 2 Pizza Ovens, a machine to make own Pasta but...the know how is obviously still missing. The Pasta was totally overcooked and quite small for ZA Standard. Prices are too high for ZA!!! The pinnacle was to find on the invoice a position "Italian Fritto". The waiter was not able to explain for what it is and requested not to worry since it was ZAR 0,02 only and it was not charged anyhow???
Let's see how this place will do. If there are not substantial changes I doubt it will survive.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 202dieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Bella_Dining, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Bella Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Dieter S,

Thank you for the review of Casa Bella Italian restaurant. We are extremely sorry to hear about the level of service and the quality of food you received. Could you kindly please send us your contact details along with a copy of this review to info@CasaBellaDining.co.za in order for us to address your concerns directly and with management.

Kind Regards,
Casa Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

We were keen to visit The Sanctuary. It was a bit cold but chose to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view. We received a warm welcome. The outside area was clean and inviting. The waiter brought our coffee (lattes) and they were cold. Cold cups and cold coffee which was a real pity. We then opted to move inside for breakfast. Again a warm friendly waiter was happy to oblige. The breakfast was nicely presented but taste was nothing special. The real disappointment was that our coffees after breakfast (we tried cappuccinos this time) were again cold. Cold cup and cold coffee. Twice. Hope they take note and raise the temperature. We're heading to Java next time.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MellyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Bella_Dining, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Bella Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Meriel B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Casa Bella Somerset West restaurant. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the quality of your meals and we would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to info@CasaBellaDining.co.za

Kind Regards,
Casa Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

What initially started as a pleasant new addition to Somerset West ended up the most disappointing dining experience I've had in recent memory. The décor is pretty and the ambience is most inviting. Then we go to sit down and only then are told that they don't have a liquor license. So we have to walk to P&P liquor to buy wine so they can serve it to us. The waitress was very friendly, but she hasn't been trained well and fumbled over most of what she has to do and say.
The chicken breasts I had left a lot to be desired although my husband was pleasantly surprised by their peri peri chicken. What bitterly disappointed him though was that they offer the chicken in a peri peri sauce or lemon & herb. He chose peri peri and ended up being charged for the sauce! Which we, of course, refused to pay.
Just to add a bit of insult to injury the ladies bathroom was dirty and there was no toilet paper.
So all and all a big let down and a restaurant we certainly won't visit again.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R4E2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Bella_Dining, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Bella Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear R4E2016,

Thank you for the review of Casa Bella Italian restaurant. We are extremely concerned to hear about the quality of food & service you experienced when dining at Casa Bella. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to info@CasaBellaDining.co.za

Kind Regards,
Casa Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Bella Somerset West also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Casa Bella Somerset West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing