We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The second stay was even better”
other travellers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cees O
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The second stay was even better”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This year we stayed in the beautiful cabin for the second time. As said in the title: it was even better, because we stayed there for 2 weeks and that gave us the opportunity to make use of the house as we l like to do, so in the morning do something in the environment of Cape Town, the peninsula and the winelands and in the afternoon take a drink at the veranda and/or do some swimming in the pool.
We had a warm welcome and everything was OK..
As we were with two persons we had enough room to move around in the house, but when you are with four it's large enough.
When we are coming back to Cape Town/Hout Bay I'm sure we will stay at the Blackwood Log Cabin again.
We didn't need any help, but I'm shure Colette and Warren are standby to solve your "problems".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is ready for great holidays
Liked least: One afternoon with rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Dear Cees,

Thank you for your kind words about Blackwood Log Cabin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will be most happy to have you stay again. All our very best until next time. Kind Regards Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslieupc...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Log cabin in the trees with great views of the mountains.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lovely wood cabin set high on the side of a wooded valley in Hout Bay. Wonderful decor inside, fully equipped with everything you might need, including hammock!
Small pool set into the hill under the cabin which was very pleasant to use during our stay.
Good location only a short drive into Hout Bay. Very quiet and secluded, situated in the same grounds as owner's house, but completely isolated from it. Owners are therefore on hand if needed but not intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pool , Outside deck, Scenic views, Lovely gardens
Liked least: Toilet in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2014
Dear Les,

Thank you for your review. We hope we can meet again in the future. Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2013
Dear Keith and Neo, Thank you for your generous review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope it's not too far off. Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and accommodations…and well, just about everything else
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Dear Jim and Karen, it was really wonderful to meet you and have you stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. We would be more than happy to have you stay again anytime. We look forward to it.! All the best, Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Dear Pia, Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to having you and the girls back soon. All the best, Regards Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing