We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Grossartig !!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LeaRice82
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing venue and cabin, but staff really ruined it”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This place is so beautiful and the cabin has such potential. But the staff are shocking. They are more interested in getting their money than anything else. They didn't put any towels in second bath room and brass facilities were dirty and full of coal. There was a massive wine spillage from previous guest and was not cleaned. In Fact dust and hair was stuck in the spill!!! Facilities were broken and mended haphazardly. They only supplied one roll of toilet paper for three days and absolutely nothing extra like tea or sugar. They only gave us one black bag for three days!!! They were unavaliable once they got their money. This place would be 5 star if they could just go that extra mile. At the moment they are relying on their amazing facilities. We travel often and most places include all extras like risks, wood, fire lighters etc. This place did not even tell us we needed this. Who travels with extra black bags and toilet rolls? One I complained they suggested I leave and they would refund me???!!! I have my family with me and no back up accomodation planned. Very unprofessional. But that what makes this place only 3 stars. They need new management then they will seriously make some money cause it's not over priced. There is also a toilet IN the main bedroom. No divider or anything. Very unhygienic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin and venue
Liked least: The staff and their complete lack of customer service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2012
Our T&C's are that the accommodation is paid for upfront before arrival. This was clearly communicated to Lea on confirmation and a reminder was sent to her to settle her outstanding amount a few days before she arrived. She disregarded these clear and unambiguous conditions. It took a few e-mails and sms's requesting that she settle her bill. Lea is correct in saying the Barbecue was dirty - unfortunately the stand-in housekeeper had forgotten to clean this. The stand-in housekeeper had also forgotten to put extra towels in the second bedroom. This was my error as I should have checked the stand-in housekeeper's work. Once Lea's parents had notified me of this, I attended to it. Lea sent her complaints via sms and refused to answer my calls to try to chat to her to rectify the problems. The house is a self catering house and toilet paper and black bags are provided on arrival. Tea, coffee, sugar, wood and briquettes are not provided. I could provide this as well, but I try to keep my prices as reasonable as possible - this is evident in the fact that I have pretty much been fully booked for the last 10 years. In those 10 years, we were yet to have an unhappy client. Once it was clear that Lea was unhappy and as she lived in Cape Town and was not from out of town, I offered (but did not suggest) to refund her should she wish to leave. She chose to stay for the weekend. Colette Riley (staff and owner of Blackwood Log Cabin)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vgandi
Hout Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to get to know you and your lovely Tamara. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again one day. Best Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea O
Maintal bei Frankfurt am Main
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes B
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2013
Dear Hannes and family. Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your young family. Should you come back to Cape town one day, we would love to have you back. Regards colette and warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing