We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passionate about quality and flavour”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Our hotel concierge recommended Le Bon Vivant and we really enjoyed dining there. The atmosphere is low key and warm, the service is polite and unobtrusive and the menu is simple and sophisticated. It is exactly the type of food we adore - seasonal produce prepared by a chef who is obviously passionate about flavour and quality. My only criticism is that the dessert tasting platter is supersized and we found it too much of a sugar overload. An edited selection would be preferable, or petit four sized portions. Le Bon Vivant had not been on our radar, it was our first visit to South Africa and we'd spent a big week dining out in Capetown and the wine region, but it was far and away our favourite restaurant and we were so glad our concierge recommended!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had the suprise menu from the chef and it was fantastic! Also the wines which were served with every course were very good. The service was excellent. We would definitely visit this place again.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarkNinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I'll start by saying the food was really good--on that alone I would have given four stars. Unfortunately, the service really ruined the experience: it was slow, so slow, and haphazard. Our five course tasting menu took almost three hours to get through, for no good reason. We often sat with empty, dirty plates on the table for more than ten minutes. More often we sat at an empty table between courses. At one point we considered cancelling the rest of the tasting at course 4 because we were tired of waiting. The restaurant wasn't even full. For a place that is clearly trying to present itself as higher end, they should consider improving their front of house staff training (example: tell the server not to top up someone's sparkling water with flat; but if you do, take the glass away and bring a new one). Also, I think they perhaps do not have a pastry chef on staff, as the desert options were sad and included nothing baked (all pannacotta, custard, and ice cream). The only thing that saved it from being a terrible meal was the food. Too bad that we were so annoyed by the end of the meal that we almost didn't even care about the food anymore.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

It is difficult to put my finger on why I didn't particularly enjoy this restaurant....The food was ok, the service was ok, the atmosphere was ok....That was it though, it wasn't special, a bit bland.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

What an amazing experience. Intelligent fine dining. I was stimulated, twigged and simply had an amazing experience.

This is more of the traditional experience, rather than the trendy. They are both equally important and share opposing markets. This seems to work perfectly.

Raymond was our food conductor for the evening and what a harmonious concert. Professional, friendly and knowledgeable.

My compliments to the whole team, everyone played a critical vital role and delivered.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank xcvhcchhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing