We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
243
116
26
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
116
26
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street complimentary port guest house swimming pool shops and restaurants cooked breakfast family room wine tram honesty bar few minutes walk laundry service comfortable bed stayed one night sitting area a wonderful stay perfect location spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here in March. We were in the lemon room which was really lovely and spacious, opening onto the swimming pool.

Breakfast was nice, and the pool area very nice.

The guest house is excellently located in a quiet but central spot, and it's safe to walk back at night after dinner out.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank suziem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

La Fontaine was extremely well-located just a block from the main street. The house has lots of charm. We were in rooms in an adjoining house--using the several old-fashioned keys to enter at night was a bit tricky, but ultimately no problem. The bed was comfortable and water pressure in the shower was good. The breakfast in the garden was lovely. La Fontaine was well-priced compared to other local venues we looked at, and represented good value. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Stayed in the stables block. Room a little dark but facilities good. Breakfast served outside and was great quality. Staff were excellent - attentive and smiling. Hotel is in great location being within easy walk of shops, restaurants and wine tram terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank everyorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in Franschhoek at La Fontaine, which has a perfect location. Our room was spacious with a large and well-appointed bathroom. We had a very pleasant breakfast in the courtyard and enjoyed our all too brief stay! All the staff are very friendly, too.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us! We do hope to welcome you back for longer next time!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This guest house is situated in the centre of town one road back from the main street. It is an original building so one must expect a few creaking doors. Our room was very comfortable, and the service was excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbutso938036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again to the new La Fontaine, which opens in October this year!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews