We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much choice”
Review of Ryan's Kitchen

Ryan's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 40
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Contemporary South African cooking, small plate concept,excitement and open interactive kitchen located on the main road at the entrance to the village.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So much choice”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had 2 nights in Franschoek, and I have only one complaint - too many choices.

Ryan's Kitchen shares the dining area and kitchen of the Rusthof Guest House, where we were staying and that was the reason for eating there.

We chose the Taste of Africa menu - 8 courses with a different wine at each course. I'm not normally into arty cuisine, but this was a good choice because the each course was small

Francschoek is an expensive place to eat - but definitely worth the experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKavanagh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    193
    100
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice establishment, but not yet were they want 'place' theirselves”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We visited Ryan's Kitch end December 2011.

Staff is very nice, but not the most professional one. On the other hand, when comparing it to what you pay, we can say staff is according to price.

The open kitchen is lovely and we were impressed by the chef and his team. Rarely i've seen such a 'quiet' kitchen. Compliments to the team!

The food itself was a bit strange. It depended on the course you did get. The first course could be overwhelming while the second was a dissappointment (quality level changes were to big). The taster in the beginning were for example 3 little things. The tube with the fluid in it was just disgusting and I think this was what every table thought as nobody did drink it :).

I would rate Ryan's Kitchen as a good restaurant. It can't be placed at the cheap restaurants, but they don't need to be there. The team and kitchen clearly has wat it needs. It just doesn't come on the table consistenly yet. Keep working on it. We will visit it again probably this year to see how it evolved (hopefully in the good direction).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Freshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
519 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Best in franschoek”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Go hungry and let them feed you. The eight course meal was small portions of exquisite food which took several hours to eat. Memorable evening for foodies

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“"Innovative"”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The test tubes for starters are a little gimmicky, but the rest of the meal was excellent, the service good, and the decor is very pleasing. We had Maylay curry fish for a starter and tried the Springbok shank. Both very good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food for thought”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Always packed with locals which means the food is good

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bokka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryan's Kitchen also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Ryan's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing