We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wine tasting”
Review of Lynx Wines

Lynx Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 62.20*
and up
Half-Day Wine Sampler Group Tour from Franschhoek
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lynx Wines - one of the smallest wine estates in Franschhoek, producing expressive wines that reflect the passion of the winemaker and his small, dedicated team. We pride ourselves in our friendly, personal and informative cellar tours – not to mention our numerous award winning wines. Wine tastings in German and Spanish by appointment.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic wine tasting”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent over an hour here and had the most detailed explanation of wine making - fascinating.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    31
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine tasting”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wine was delicious and grounds were spectacular. Smaller winery so got to sit with the winemaker and really learn a lot about the wine. Also was able to go and see the wine being made if you ask. Couldn't resist leaving with a couple bottles!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“relaxed, informative and great wine!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

we have visited SA and many of the wine farms over the years. This certainly was one of the best. for R30, you get to taste wonderful wines, in a relaxed, non pretentious environment. Dieter is very friendly and patient. helping us with our wine knowledge.
this certainly is top of our Wine Tasting list -
we even ordered 2 cases to be delivered back home!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic wines, you must visit”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I visit Franschhoek every year, but somehow I have missed this gem previously. This small winery has great wine and on a visit you will probably get to meet the wine maker. Friendly and low key, its all about the wine. This is well worth a visit and I will definately call in again next year. Great change from the big names and their restaurant driven estates. The wines are amazing, my next task after writing this review is to order a case... Don't miss.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Winning wines!!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wow, what great service from winemaker and owner Dieter from Lynx. We decided to pop in to Lynx and unfortunately they were closed, however Dieter went out of his way to welcome us in and give us a detailed tasting of his superb wines. The range is sophisticated and simply brilliant!!! Really top notch! keep up the great work!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nomnomcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lynx Wines also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Lynx Wines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing