We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful, relaxing vacation!”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Branchburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful, relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Port Royal. We have been to Wildwood many times staying at various motels. I am so picky when it comes to clean and this hotel is beyond clean. I have two small children with food allergies so I have to be extra cautious about any food being left by previous guests. So I look for food, crumbs, etc. I couldnt find any!!! This hoel is just smells clean, not the normal shore hotel smell which I cant stand...The property is very well maintained with ample seating by the pool. The restaurant has great food and reasonable prices something which is hard to find sometimes on vacation! We will definatly be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    90
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had a very good stay at Port Royal in July. The hotel is in great shape and everything was very clean. All of the staff personnel were very helpful and friendly. There was a park area next to the hotel and the beach area was great. We had perfect weather which just added to our stay. The boardwalk is not too far away and we would have no problem staying here again..

Room Tip: All rooms had a pretty good view of the beach. One side was the pool area and the other side had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

There aren't enough superlatives to describe the Port Royal. To give you an idea, our first trip there was 11 years ago when our son was 2. It started with 2 nights and now we're up to 13! The place is immaculate and the staff, well, they make you feel right at home. Starting with the front desk staff, Louise, Susan, Virginia, and all of the other ladies on the staff are so friendly and accommodating. They have watched our son grow up over the years and it's like a reunion every year when we arrive. The evening manager, Rod, and his assistant Scott are so professional and friendly. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and always willingly help with restaurant reservations, etc. The overnight manager, Jake, is equally friendly and efficient. I will be posting a separate review of the Royal Grille so I won't take up this space with that. Suffice to say the food is outstanding and the hospitality equals that of the hotel staff; five stars all around. The housekeeping staff is wonderful; they too take an active interest in making us feel a part of their "family". Rita is the housekeeping supervisor; she is just so kind and thoughtful, we look forward to seeing her daily. Think of that favorite grandmother with a sparkling smile and a quick wit and that's Rita! Her entire staff embraces the idea of making you feel comfortable. The pool staff is also wonderful, especially AJ. He keeps the pool clean and the guests entertained, especially the young ones. They also have pool activities for the kids. About the facilities; the place is spotless! Each and every year there are improvements to the various facilities. The newly renovated game room is a showplace! The guest rooms are just fine, and they have invested significantly into upgrading the rooms over the past few years. The large flat screen TV's are a nice touch. If only the DVD of the "Morey Channel" worked this year (LOL)! My son really missed it this year! The balconies with the great views of the ocean are spectacular and the grounds both at and around the Port Royal are just beautiful; the entertainment in the park across the street is great! You are steps from the beach. The beach is well, the best I've seen anywhere in the Northeast! All of our friends and neighbors here in New England can keep Cape Cod; I'll take Wildwood Crest each and every time. A word about the elevator malfunction this year; this is a 40 year old building so it is quite possible these elevators are getting a bit tired. But, and I didn't see many people on Trip Advisor state this; the Port Royal staff provided for an operator for the working elevator to ensure that it was being used efficiently; Louise even called our room on the day of checkout to see if we needed assistance. Talk about taking care of your guests! Folks, stuff happens even in the biggest of hotels. If the worst part of your vacation was having to wait a bit for an elevator, you really don't have much to complain about. Everything else was absolutely perfect! The Port Royal has become our home away from home for two weeks each year; the anticipation grows week by week leading up to our stay. One of the things we like best about the Port Royal is that the clientele tends to be the same each and every year. So there are families that see each other but once a year; we've watched their kids grow as they have our son. It really is like a reunion. Only 49 weeks til we return! Some advice....call well ahead to try to secure your stay. I would bet that about 95% of the people staying there return every year. We have taken to not bragging too much about the Port Royal or Wildwood Crest to our fellow New Englanders; we'd like to keep it as a secret for those who have discovered it! Thanks, Port Royal, Morey's and the entire staff. Can't wait to see you in 2013! R. LaRose and Family

Room Tip: Choose the North Side if you want to watch concerts from your room balcony. Choose the South Side f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OTKChamp7Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the 3rd year staying at Port Royal. The rooms are beautiful and the location ideal. The park across from the main entrance always has entertainment on Saturday's during the summer. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I LOVE the on-site restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only drawback this year was a downed elevator that was not repaired the whole time we were there. Slightly incovenienced.

Room Tip: Fitness Center and Room Service not available. Nice game room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesujory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just got back with a family of 6 from our annual stay in Wildwood this time staying at the Port Royal Hotel. We're already prepared to re-book for next summer! Let me just say after staying at many 4 star rated hotels in Wildwood Crest I wouldn't go anywhere else again. The Port Royal is where its at! Simply beautiful, CLEAN, all the staff and housekeeping are super nice. Our plan is to stay here yearly now for sure! We went with toddlers and teens....everyone was happy. The pool area was great! The kids had a blast, the water was beautiful. The beach right there was perfect! The hotel offers the stay n play, which was definately another great perk for the rides and waterpark. We picked the Efficiency Apartment. Ours was oceanview/street side. Which faced the beautiful park and beach. During the weekend they hold concerts in the park which we got sit right at our balcony to watch for a few hours.
I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. We truly plan to make this our annual summer Wildwood Crest hotel. It is further down from the boardwalk, but its nice to get away from the busy things. We didn't mind driving down to the boards at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine4me2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.0 km away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
956 reviews
1.2 km away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
343 reviews
1.1 km away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
0.7 km away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
467 reviews
1.7 km away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,913 - ₹ 19,577
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing