We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“just lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeBary Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DeBary Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Summit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have stayed at the DeBary in December and in May and have enjoyed both visits very much. It is in a great location with stressless access to restaurants and the downtown. It is quiet, comfortable and the veranda is a perfect spot to relax. Jon and the staff are friendly and helpful. i wouldn't stay anywhere else in Summit.

Room Tip: choose one with a fireplace if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmSch2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    45
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
59
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

When my wife and I visit family in Summit, we usually stay at the Grand Summit Hotel. We made last minute plans and the Grand was sold out. We found the DeBary and decided to give it a try. They had several available rooms, so we wondered if such availability at the last moment meant that the place was not so great. Our worries were unfounded. We loved the DeBary. The Victorian building is charming and decorated in period furniture and our room was very comfortable. In the morning, John (the manager who is also willing to talk about the building's history) gave us a tour and the rooms became more beautiful as went from one to the next. John is part of the reason that we loved the place. He is very friendly, accommodating, and an excellent host. We have a new favorite place.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the rooms with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this B and B and found it to be so relaxing and peaceful after the fast pace of NYC. Location is fantastic with nearby train station and the quaint downtown Summit just 2 blks away with great restaurants and shops. Would definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 824jlbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I traveled to New Jersey to visit family and just couldn't justify to price at the Hilton in Short Hills. I've always enjoyed staying at B&B's but hate the musty smell and clutter. Step back my friends because the DeBary Inn is not your typically B&B! It's easy to access from the highway. It's in walking distance to town, which is charming. The DeBary Inn has been undated for your convenience. The room wasn't huge, but it was clean, bring and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. And, you can enjoy your morning coffee on their grand, front porch! I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

There are 2 types of hotel guests. Those who want the same things no matter where they are and those who like to experience the place they are visiting. The DeBary Inn is for the second group. It's not a hilton or a marriott, it's the DeBary Inn and that's what I loved about it.
The rooms are lovely, each one different. Mine had a four poster bed high off the floor and it was seriously comfortable. Every guest was friendly and breakfast was a time to catch up with friends you'd made the night before on the porch as well as the manager Jon and one of the owners Mike. Wednesday night was a bbq on the porch with excellent food, company and cocktails.
All in all, if you're looking for somewhere different to stay in Summit - then the DeBary is the place to go.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely - great size. There are bigger one though - so ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.2 km away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
7.7 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
10.2 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
13.2 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeBary Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeBary Inn

Property: DeBary Inn
Address: 265 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3607
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summit
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,571 - ₹ 12,941
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeBary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a quiet residential street in Summit's historic North End. The DeBary Inn is newly remodeled and redecorated, and we have taken great care to make sure that you are comfortable and feel at home. Located at 265 Springfield Avenue, in an amazing neighborhood that is renowned for its magnificent Victorian homes, the DeBary is just one block from chic restaurants and charming boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your DeBary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debary Hotel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing