We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I could not have asked for a better weekend. This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The hotel manager went out of his way to accommodate my very late check-in. He came up the next morning to introduce himself and see if we needed anything. The rooms were clean, and spacious. When asked the manager recommended local eateries for the type of food we preferred.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool or lake so any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticross1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're all very glad that you had a great time, and that your expectations were exceeded. We always strive to provide an excellent experience, and to hear that we provided for you a transcended supposition means a lot to us.

Once again, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    176
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
146
343
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We picked this location because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We booked it for five nights going through New Years. We arrived past 11 pm due to our afternoon flight from Okla. No one was at the counter, however our key was left in an envelope with our name on it.

We walked up the flight of stairs as quietly as we could. The room was on the back side of the hotel, so we had a five day view of the garage apartment located behind the hotel. Our room was dated, but clean. There was plenty of drawer/closet space, but when we went to put our empty suitcases under the bed, we discovered multiple pairs of shoes, a couple of boxes with used toiletries and other personal items. Since it was so late we ignored the items and went to bed.

The next morning we left and went to NYC for New Years activities. We didn't come back to the hotel until after 2 am on Jan 1st. Our room was cleaned whiled we were away, but the items remained under the bed...again it was late, so we ignored them.

On Jan 1st we had another full day of activities, but when we returned our room was untouched..no clean up, no fresh linens. We blew it off since we were so tired from being out all day.

After a third full day of activities we came back to another day of an uncleaned room. We alerted the manager of the oversight and he quickly brought us fresh towels. He also made note to the housekeeper to clean our room the following day.

We ended up being the only guests at the hotel the final two nights of our stay. We went back into the city and came back to a dirty room...again. Long story short, we had our room cleaned/freshened up once the entire time we were there for three five night stay.

To add to the unclean room, we noticed on our bill that it cost us more to stay there on the final days by ourselves vs. when the hotel was occupied by others. As we were leaving, we left a note at the unoccupied front desk asking the MGR to call us about the issues we experienced during our stay.

Once home, after speaking to the management, we were given a refund of one nights stay.

Was it a nice hotel? Yes..beautiful.
Was it a good location? Since it was just a place for us to sleep..yes.
Would I stay here again? Not sure...If we did, I can't say it would be due to the service we received. Plus, the stuff being under the bed that belonged to someone else gave me the creeps. The refund of one of the nights helped keep this review from being below average.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonEason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review of our property. Your details can be used by us to help improve future guests' stays, or assist us in providing an improved experience for you shall you return.

I want to take this time to inform some of the viewers of this particular review that you had booked your reservation through Hotels.com, which owns and operates TripAdvisor. Due to the nature of the reservation, Hotels.com does not allow us to contact the guest prior to their arrival, which means we try to post as many "Know Before You Go" policies to assist each guest in their plans prior to their Check-In Date. One of these policies and reminders is that we are currently in our off-season, and we have limited front desk hours. There sometimes may not be someone at the front desk, during our off-season, to assist you with Check-In procedures.

Also, we are a Condominium Hotel, which means the particular unit you had reserved is owned by a private individual. The items under the bed you are speaking of, are items that owners leave in their units for guests to use, or store; i.e. weights, exercise equipment (due to us not having a fitness center on property), extra storage for extended stay guests, etc. Not all owners do this, but some do, just as an added amenity for some guests.

I also apologize that our housekeeping services didn't meet your expectations. One thing we take very seriously is our cleanliness, and our housekeeping department. However, we also respect a guest's privacy, and we do not enter a guest's room when there is a privacy sign hanging on the door, which we recall seeing on multiple occasions while you were staying with us. I am not trying to make excuses for not meeting your expectations, but I do want to help you understand how we may sometimes operate in terms of guest privacy.

We did understand that the rate you had reserved for your last two evenings were higher than your first couple of evenings, so we felt it was necessary to refund the differences in rates for you. We're always glad to accommodate a guest's rate requests in the most fair manner possible.

Once again...we truly appreciate your comments, and we also appreciate a dialogue with our guests to help improve the property as a whole for the future. Our guest's experiences are our primary focus. We try to provide an amazing experience for each individual. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and hope to provide a better experience for you the next time around.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old tappan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My 86 year-old Mom and I stayed overnight during the week in early October. The first floor suite had a nice attached porch and great view of the lake out front. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I slept well.... and I say that after spending the evening on a pull out couch, which in other hotels hasn't gone so well for me.

The manager, Bill, was completely attentive to our needs and made sure that we had everything we would need for the evening as well as the following morning (ie breakfast), since there were no other guests in the building and he would not be putting out a buffet. I would stay again in a heart beat. The location is prime. I wish every hotel manager was as helpful as Bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We all appreciate the very kind words. The off-season can sometimes be tricky. We try to accommodate every guest as well as we can, and I am very glad we were able to accommodate you, and your Mother. You were, both, very wonderful guests, and you made hospitality easy.

Once again, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed in October 2011 for one Saturday night. Just picked a spot on the internet to stop on the way down south. My wife and I were a bit worried about the wedding season and with this being a very old hotel we were afraid it may be a little loud.. However, the inn was booked and very quite. A good value considering the ritzy area, especially a Saturday stay. The service people were very professional and courteous. The continental breakfast was just that, basic- Nothing special, but the all day and night coffee came in handy. Our room was not decorated well but very cozy and unique. The queen bed was a bit dated and could use a new mattress. The Hotel overall was white and plain and this does give it a larger feel, but these are just my overall observations. I actually love this style.

Room Tip: We had room 17. the only one left available. the others appeared better decorated on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy that you had taken a trip down to Spring Lake and had chosen The Hewitt Wellington for you hospitality needs.

It is true that all of our rooms are different in regards to decor, but we like to think that each room has its own story to tell. We're glad you enjoyed the story that Room 17 shared with you. Most importantly, though, we're very happy you were comfortable, and that you recognized the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works extremely hard, and they definitely appreciate the recognition.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We only stayed 1 night in the off-season; so maybe the problems we experienced could have been corrected during a longer stay. There were only 2 other occupied rooms out of the 30 so we were pleasantly surprised to be offered and receive a complimentary upgrade from the single room we reserved to a 2 room suite at no additional charge.

However, we still have a few complaints. First, as with most hotels, they use low wattage light bulbs which makes it difficult to read or see, especially if one is older. That being said, the bathroom had 25 watt bulbs. With only 2 over the sink and another in the exhaust fan near the shower made it pretty difficult to see anything in there. Being a suite, there was an older style TV and DVD/VCR in the living room which worked fine. There was a flat screen HDTV in the bedroom with a DVD/VCR. However, the TV would not show any channels; it came on, but the screen remained blank with no sound. And there were no directions in case there was a problem like that. We wanted to watch the TV from bed not in the living room so we were disapointed with the set up. Normally, one would call the front desk and have the situation corrected, but the manager leaves in the evening and puts his cell number at the front desk in case a guest needs him before he returns in the morning. Not a big deal, but we didnt try the TV until after we were already settled in and undressed for the evening; and we did not want to get dressed to go down to the 1st floor just to get the number to make the call. We thought we would have been ready to go to sleep before the TV would be working. We were going to mention the problem with the TV when we checked out the next morning, but we were not asked how our stay was and it slipped our minds as we were in a bit of a rush. We wanted to make sure the manager got our keys back in his hand before we left and had to track him down as he is not always at the front desk. They still use regular keys for the rooms and they give you 1 for the outside door to the hotel in case you get in late after the manager leaves and the doors are locked. Lots of trickey locks and there's a $400 charge if you lose or damage the keys. It's the 21st century, why are they not using card keys like most of hotels?

The hotel is just beautiful with lovely antiques throughout. The room was comfortable with nice furniture and great views out the windows. The complimentary continental breakfast is so-so, but adequate. I would recommend the place, just make sure you get the manager's cell before you retire.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which is a suite on the 2nd floor. The living room windows face east overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mtdean60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Over the years, I have grown to love TripAdvisor, and the power it can do in the hands of the right people. I must say, I believe this to be possibly the most positively-reinforced, constructive review I have ever read. I am extremely happy, and excited, to respond.

First, thank you for sharing your experience. Very descriptive, honest, and thorough.

In regards to some of your comments, I will say that literally all of the things that you had listed are very easy fixes. With a short phone call we could have resolved everything for you very quickly, and efficiently, but I don't want to go into specifics within this response.

I think everyone should know that we have thought of almost every possible scenario in the off-season, and there is very rarely an issue, or need, we haven't thought of, or a way to resolve them. I was very thorough in that aspect while preparing for the off-season this year. All it takes is a phone call.

Also, in regards to your ideas on how to improve; i.e. locks, keys, etc. We will definitely take that into account as we discuss ways to improve the guest experience. We are always striving to improve the guest's experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
408 reviews
0.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
150 reviews
0.3 km away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
252 reviews
0.8 km away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,753 - ₹ 20,411
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing