We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy and clean”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very classy and clean”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed in October 2011 for one Saturday night. Just picked a spot on the internet to stop on the way down south. My wife and I were a bit worried about the wedding season and with this being a very old hotel we were afraid it may be a little loud.. However, the inn was booked and very quite. A good value considering the ritzy area, especially a Saturday stay. The service people were very professional and courteous. The continental breakfast was just that, basic- Nothing special, but the all day and night coffee came in handy. Our room was not decorated well but very cozy and unique. The queen bed was a bit dated and could use a new mattress. The Hotel overall was white and plain and this does give it a larger feel, but these are just my overall observations. I actually love this style.

Room Tip: We had room 17. the only one left available. the others appeared better decorated on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy that you had taken a trip down to Spring Lake and had chosen The Hewitt Wellington for you hospitality needs.

It is true that all of our rooms are different in regards to decor, but we like to think that each room has its own story to tell. We're glad you enjoyed the story that Room 17 shared with you. Most importantly, though, we're very happy you were comfortable, and that you recognized the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works extremely hard, and they definitely appreciate the recognition.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    176
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
146
343
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We only stayed 1 night in the off-season; so maybe the problems we experienced could have been corrected during a longer stay. There were only 2 other occupied rooms out of the 30 so we were pleasantly surprised to be offered and receive a complimentary upgrade from the single room we reserved to a 2 room suite at no additional charge.

However, we still have a few complaints. First, as with most hotels, they use low wattage light bulbs which makes it difficult to read or see, especially if one is older. That being said, the bathroom had 25 watt bulbs. With only 2 over the sink and another in the exhaust fan near the shower made it pretty difficult to see anything in there. Being a suite, there was an older style TV and DVD/VCR in the living room which worked fine. There was a flat screen HDTV in the bedroom with a DVD/VCR. However, the TV would not show any channels; it came on, but the screen remained blank with no sound. And there were no directions in case there was a problem like that. We wanted to watch the TV from bed not in the living room so we were disapointed with the set up. Normally, one would call the front desk and have the situation corrected, but the manager leaves in the evening and puts his cell number at the front desk in case a guest needs him before he returns in the morning. Not a big deal, but we didnt try the TV until after we were already settled in and undressed for the evening; and we did not want to get dressed to go down to the 1st floor just to get the number to make the call. We thought we would have been ready to go to sleep before the TV would be working. We were going to mention the problem with the TV when we checked out the next morning, but we were not asked how our stay was and it slipped our minds as we were in a bit of a rush. We wanted to make sure the manager got our keys back in his hand before we left and had to track him down as he is not always at the front desk. They still use regular keys for the rooms and they give you 1 for the outside door to the hotel in case you get in late after the manager leaves and the doors are locked. Lots of trickey locks and there's a $400 charge if you lose or damage the keys. It's the 21st century, why are they not using card keys like most of hotels?

The hotel is just beautiful with lovely antiques throughout. The room was comfortable with nice furniture and great views out the windows. The complimentary continental breakfast is so-so, but adequate. I would recommend the place, just make sure you get the manager's cell before you retire.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which is a suite on the 2nd floor. The living room windows face east overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mtdean60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Over the years, I have grown to love TripAdvisor, and the power it can do in the hands of the right people. I must say, I believe this to be possibly the most positively-reinforced, constructive review I have ever read. I am extremely happy, and excited, to respond.

First, thank you for sharing your experience. Very descriptive, honest, and thorough.

In regards to some of your comments, I will say that literally all of the things that you had listed are very easy fixes. With a short phone call we could have resolved everything for you very quickly, and efficiently, but I don't want to go into specifics within this response.

I think everyone should know that we have thought of almost every possible scenario in the off-season, and there is very rarely an issue, or need, we haven't thought of, or a way to resolve them. I was very thorough in that aspect while preparing for the off-season this year. All it takes is a phone call.

Also, in regards to your ideas on how to improve; i.e. locks, keys, etc. We will definitely take that into account as we discuss ways to improve the guest experience. We are always striving to improve the guest's experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hewitt Wellington while celebrating my brother's wedding in Spring Lake. The location was very convenient. Just a block from St. Catharine's Church and several blocks from the Spring Lake Bath and Tennis Club. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a balcony facing the lake. The sunrise from this spot was incredible. All in all, our stay was very enjoyable. Beautiful and cozy. The staff was very accomodating to our family. This would be a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwny427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

Thanks for the great picture! That's the second picture we've received from guests in the last week. We're glad that you are able to share that with us, and past, present, and future guests!

We're also very happy to hear that all of the Wedding's festivities and celebrations were all within walking distance to the hotel. From experience, I know that having everything in one convenient, safe, location is perfect for wedding guests!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience (and picture) with us, and we're glad to know that your weekend was enjoyable! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I recently needed to get away from things. My husband found the Hewitt Wellinton on the internet. What a great find. From the moment we checked in everything was Wonderful. We stayed in a suite overlooking Spring Lake. The room was very clean and nicely decoated. Our stay was very quite and peaceful.The Inn is just a short walk to the boardwalk. We sat on the huge front poach and thought of ourselves in another time. We also had dinner at the small little reastaurant next door. The food was Great! We hope to be back soon for another romatic weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

I think that the word is spreading that just about anyone can take a short trip down to Spring Lake, and have a great weekend while staying with us. Having the views, the short walk to popular areas, and with Whispers right on our property, it's almost too easy to have a great time. It would seem as if you have definitely taken advantage of it. Hopefully, with your kind words, and willingness to share your experience, more will discover the same experience you had.

Once again, thank you your kind words, and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Hewitt Wellington. The weather was picture perfect which made our enjoyable mini vacation even more special. The hotel is very well situated with many rooms facing beautiful Spring Lake. It is two short blocks from the beach and a short walk into town. We had a gourmet dinner at Whispers Restaurant, which is located on the ground floor of West building. All in all, a short stay at the Hewitt Wellington served as a welcome and enjoyable get away from it all!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSpringLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, Front Office Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It is very nice to hear that you had a great weekend. Having the ability to facilitate that definitely makes us very happy. Our eclectic array of accommodations that we offer, coupled with Whispers Restaurant, makes our property easily accessible for a getaway on a short weekend. We're glad you were able to do so, and that you enjoyed the time you spent with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
408 reviews
0.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
150 reviews
0.3 km away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
252 reviews
0.8 km away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,753 - ₹ 20,411
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing