We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican on the Island”
Review of LEX MEX

LEX MEX
Ranked #28 of 39 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Lex Mex has the best Mexican we’ve found on LBI. The pulled pork tacos and seafood burrito are favorites. We also like the fajitas and that they aren’t brought out while still sizzling but are handleable.

You’ll be charged for each soda or seltzer so be aware if you get refills. BYOB for alcohol. Casual atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dawnmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018

Five of us went there for dinner. Two had beef tacos. The beef had a weird taste. Two ordered the shrimp quesadillas. It was over stuffed with cheese and the shrimp didn't taste good. One had the beef fajitas. They were ok. The staff was very nice but I wouldn't recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

A small BYOB restaurant conveniently near Rt 72 with great choice of Mexican specialties- fish tacos among the best. Lines in summer a bit long as normal for LBI but staff could help more by nudging diners who have finished but are just rudely sitting, sipping their beers forever occupying space, preventing diners behind them from being seated. But the food is worth it. Wait staff very pleasant, efficient but only get a 3 below due to timidity in nudging finished diners-otherwise they are great.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frequent_NJ_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We had a real nice meal, which was a take out, the place was mobbed and we had two little children who were hungry so we opted to take out. The only draw back was that I ordered taco's which bye the time we got home (after two other stops) were broken apart so i had to eat them like a dorito instead of a taco, otherwise everyone enjoyed their meals.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinytots_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I stopped here with my fiancé for a quick bite of take out before the beach. I ordered a veggie burrito. We waited twenty minutes and when I got the burrito I couldn't even pick it up. It was drenched in greasy red liquid. Literally the container looked like soup was poured in it. The tortilla was a soggy mess and the vegetables consisted of a ton of onions and a pepper or two. I will NEVER waste my money on this place again. I didn't even eat the "burrito" and just munched on a few of the bland tortilla chips. Gross.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank allienkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LEX MEX also viewed

Long Beach Island, Jersey Shore
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to LEX MEX? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing