We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Rude and Disgusting Hotel”
Review of Atlantic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Inn
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Rude and Disgusting Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Upon arriving at Knights Inn I went into the "office" to check in. The smell just about knocked me off my feet. I did not even feel comfortable putting my suitcase on the floor because it was so disgusting. They had old comforters draped over the furniture, the "complimentary" breakfast was an old tub of cream cheese, and the roof was caving in. The hotel staff spoke very little English and was very rude even from the beginning. I was given a room key and told in broken English that the room numbers weren't on the door yet and just to try the door down the hall?????? The pool was dark green and had beer bottles and trash floating in it, the stairs to the room were very unstable and the carpet with flithy and barely hanging on, the door to the room was not secure and this is just the beginning. Inside, the room smelled like someone had just passed away in there! There was still food and stains AND MOLD in the fridge and microwave, hair dirt and bugs littered the floor, there was no toilet paper, the shower curtain was dirty and the shower had brown stains, and the toilet was just the cherry on the cake- it was filthy. After taking photos of the room, only because I knew my family would think I was exaggerating, I returned to the office and explained to the hotel staff the room was unacceptable and I wanted a refund because I was not staying. The manager offered me another room and I declined because it would more than likely have been in the same condition or worse. I was told by the two men that there would be no issue getting a refund but I had to contact travelocity. I promptly called travelocity to explain the situation. When the travelocity agent called to confirm that it was okay to refund, a woman answered and refused. Several times travelocity tried to call for a refund. I even tried calling back and was hung up on several times. The staff is EXTREMELY RUDE and told me never to call back again, that I could write whatever review I wanted, and that no matter what I did that I would not get my refund. Most of the conversations go like this:
Staff: Hello
Me: Hello, I would like to speak to a manager please.
Staff: Who is this?
Me: Yes, I would like to speak to the manager regarding one of your rooms.
Staff: Who is this? You called me so who is this?
Me: This is ..... I just left the hotel a moment ago and have a quick question for the manager.
Staff: He not here
Me: Is there a different number I can reach him?
Staff: No
Me: Can I leave him a message for him to call me back or is there an assistant manager available?
Staff: Listen. Listen. Listen. We not give you refund. You stayed in hotel room for ONE HOUR. We no give you refund. You can write whatever you want. Don't call back. <click>

Not once was I able to speak to these people like an adult and have my concerns listened to. After days of waiting for a manager to call back, I called the hotel again and was given a cell phone number to reach the manager which did me no good. He YELLED at me and said I wasn't listening to him and then he hung up. PLEASE, PLEASE do not go to this hotel. I am in the process of working with my bank AND health department! Take your family elsewhere, sleep in your car, sleep ANYWHERE but here!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel! You will lose your money and your mind dealing with these people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenDiGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    3
    5
    44
See reviews for
15
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at atlantic motel 2 years ago for one night and last week i went down again with my family.My family and i enjoyed our stay at atlantic motel (KNIGHTS INN).The room were newely renovated and i was really satisfied. The room was clean.The distance to the bordwalk is just 2 blocks.The staff was really nice to us and manager told me they are converted to this motel in franchise knights inn so in this summer i am defenitely going back with my family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was definately small, and no matter where you book online, there are always surprises when you get there of some sort. The pool is small, but there aren't so many rooms that would make it crowded, besides aren't we there to go to the beach? Want a pool? go to your friends down at the trailer park. The staff was great to us, I'm from Pa.& if someone gave me such a hard time as I read, I would tell you to pedal your annoying butt back where you came from... Just sayin'... We had an awesome time other than having to be diverted everytime the JACKXXX on the JERSEY SHORE were around.

Room Tip: treat people the way you want to be treated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sciota, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I never in my life thought that there could possibly be a place that we had decided to stay at but there is!! Let's start with the desk staff. The guy that was supposed to check us in, was EXTREMELY rude. He obviously did not enjoy his job. Upon arriving at the hotel we went to check in and were told that we did not have reservations and there were no rooms available. We explained that our credit card number had been taken over the phone and that we had one double room that was supposed to be held for us. He argued that we did not and there was no credit card number taken. The other gentleman at the counter got on the phone, not knowing who he called but then said okay that he had a room that we could stay in. We asked if we could see the room on the bottom floor that was given to us. Upon going into the room, the smell was terrible, the bed wasn't properly made, and when we lifted the comforter to see if the sheets were clean, I noticed OVER 20 MOUSE DROPPINGS in the bed. We were completely grossed out and went to the desk and told them not to book the room for us, after complaining we were speaking to another couple who was trying to get a room at this hotel and they explained to us that there was BLACK MOLD in the room that they were going to put them in. This black mold can kill you if you are all aware of this. We then tried one more room which was better than the first as far as no mouse dropping nor mold. We decided to take it only because there were no other hotels around with available rooms. The bathroom was filthy and the room of course did not smell good. The pool was also horrible which we never went swimming in because you could not see through the water at all. They did not give us towels, extra toilet paper nor anything else your typical hotel would provide you with. When we did go on the hunt for toilet paper a gentleman approached us and asked what we needed. We explained to him that we needed an extra roll of toilet paper, he proceeded to tell us for some reason that we needed a parking permit, but would cost $20.00. A parking permit is free of course which that was a scam. He had said that he owned the place and then decided to give us the permit for free, although it was midnight and we had, had no problems all day where our car was parked. After doing this we see that we cannot get into the office, and he rings the bell for the desk clerk. Of course the same RUDE guy that we had to deal with earlier came to the door, and responded "What do you want?" The man told him to get us a role of toilet paper, which he did slamming the door to go get it. When he came back to give it to us, he shoved it in my boyfriends chest and slammed the door to go back inside and to sleep again. He had looked like he was sleeping when he came to the door first. Anyway, we left the next door to try to find another hotel room at Point Pleasant which was an EXTREMELY better and beautiful stay!! Whatever you do, do not stay at the ATLANTIC MOTEL in seaside heights, it was TERRIBLE and should be shut down especially with the black mold.

Room Tip: Check out the customer reviews!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseT736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just an all around horrible place! The check-in person took forever to find our reservation and could barely speak English. Even when he said he did find our reservation I'm not so sure that he did. Before we paid we asked to look at a room and we are glad we did. Just gross. It looked like the rooms had barely been cleaned and hadn't been updated since the place opened. It was smelly and just looked like everything was falling apart. You also weren't allowed to use hairdryers..what?! Decision was made that we wouldn't stay there and they gave us attitude and tried to give a lecture on being rude. Went to the Belmont which was soooooo much better! Staff was very friendly and helped us out a lot. One of the workers from the Atlantic Motel decided to creep and follow us over to our new hotel! Belmont staff assured us they would not bother us again and we had a great stay at the Belmont. Don't ever, ever go to the Atlantic Motel..Rooms are sub par and their business practice is sketchy. Just Stay Away!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meloosa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.3 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.0 km away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
88 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms River
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms ...
#30 of 39 in Seaside Heights
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#24 of 39 in Seaside Heights
67 reviews
0.2 km away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#18 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
0.8 km away
Sky View Manor Motel
Sky View Manor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn

Property: Atlantic Inn
Address: 1000 Central Ave, Central Avenue and Sheridan Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2034 (Formerly Knights Inn Seaside Heights)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,321 - ₹ 13,222
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly motel in the heart of Seaside Heights. Center location 2 blocks from boardwalk or beach, one & half block from water park and two blocks from Casino Pier. Large 9 feet deep swimming pool with clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Motel Seaside Heights
Atlantic Hotel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing