We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious and should be shut down!!”
Review of Atlantic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Inn
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Sciota, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Atrocious and should be shut down!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I never in my life thought that there could possibly be a place that we had decided to stay at but there is!! Let's start with the desk staff. The guy that was supposed to check us in, was EXTREMELY rude. He obviously did not enjoy his job. Upon arriving at the hotel we went to check in and were told that we did not have reservations and there were no rooms available. We explained that our credit card number had been taken over the phone and that we had one double room that was supposed to be held for us. He argued that we did not and there was no credit card number taken. The other gentleman at the counter got on the phone, not knowing who he called but then said okay that he had a room that we could stay in. We asked if we could see the room on the bottom floor that was given to us. Upon going into the room, the smell was terrible, the bed wasn't properly made, and when we lifted the comforter to see if the sheets were clean, I noticed OVER 20 MOUSE DROPPINGS in the bed. We were completely grossed out and went to the desk and told them not to book the room for us, after complaining we were speaking to another couple who was trying to get a room at this hotel and they explained to us that there was BLACK MOLD in the room that they were going to put them in. This black mold can kill you if you are all aware of this. We then tried one more room which was better than the first as far as no mouse dropping nor mold. We decided to take it only because there were no other hotels around with available rooms. The bathroom was filthy and the room of course did not smell good. The pool was also horrible which we never went swimming in because you could not see through the water at all. They did not give us towels, extra toilet paper nor anything else your typical hotel would provide you with. When we did go on the hunt for toilet paper a gentleman approached us and asked what we needed. We explained to him that we needed an extra roll of toilet paper, he proceeded to tell us for some reason that we needed a parking permit, but would cost $20.00. A parking permit is free of course which that was a scam. He had said that he owned the place and then decided to give us the permit for free, although it was midnight and we had, had no problems all day where our car was parked. After doing this we see that we cannot get into the office, and he rings the bell for the desk clerk. Of course the same RUDE guy that we had to deal with earlier came to the door, and responded "What do you want?" The man told him to get us a role of toilet paper, which he did slamming the door to go get it. When he came back to give it to us, he shoved it in my boyfriends chest and slammed the door to go back inside and to sleep again. He had looked like he was sleeping when he came to the door first. Anyway, we left the next door to try to find another hotel room at Point Pleasant which was an EXTREMELY better and beautiful stay!! Whatever you do, do not stay at the ATLANTIC MOTEL in seaside heights, it was TERRIBLE and should be shut down especially with the black mold.

Room Tip: Check out the customer reviews!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseT736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    3
    5
    44
See reviews for
15
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just an all around horrible place! The check-in person took forever to find our reservation and could barely speak English. Even when he said he did find our reservation I'm not so sure that he did. Before we paid we asked to look at a room and we are glad we did. Just gross. It looked like the rooms had barely been cleaned and hadn't been updated since the place opened. It was smelly and just looked like everything was falling apart. You also weren't allowed to use hairdryers..what?! Decision was made that we wouldn't stay there and they gave us attitude and tried to give a lecture on being rude. Went to the Belmont which was soooooo much better! Staff was very friendly and helped us out a lot. One of the workers from the Atlantic Motel decided to creep and follow us over to our new hotel! Belmont staff assured us they would not bother us again and we had a great stay at the Belmont. Don't ever, ever go to the Atlantic Motel..Rooms are sub par and their business practice is sketchy. Just Stay Away!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meloosa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This motel was the dirtest motel i have ever stayed in. I did check for bed bugs, and there was none to be found, but the floors were filthy. The bathroom floor has not been cleaned in i dont know when. There were pills on the floor around the toilet, and had a very very very strong smell of urine that fullfilled the bathroom. It smelled like people urinated on the floor and the cleaning crew never cleaned it. The odor even came thru the bathroom door as we kept it shut so we didnt have to smell it. We even took a shower with our water shoes on in fear of what might of been in the shower stall. The pool was ok, but 30% of the tiles inside the pool are missing. I told the cleaning staff, and his comment was I'm sorry, i didnt clean that room yesterday...Very nice! The location of hotel was nice in respects to boardwalk, and the gentleman at the front desk was pleasant. Would i spend that money and go back NO WAY!!!! Very disappointed for the money that they charged.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodnjgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Room Dirty - Only half cleaned. Pool clean but chairs broken and dirty. Hotel charges an internet connection fee but this is not diclosed anywhere, hotel advertiises free breakfast coupon, but doesn't give out. I booked a queen bed but received a full sized.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freemoneyforahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I would never stay at this place again. The room smelled of stalke beer and puke. The bedding was filthy like it was never changed from the last people that where in the room. The manager was a complete idiot and had no clue to what was going on not to mention the he was a arab. (he was probally a reject from a convienence store for not knowing how to work the slurpee machine}. All night long there were drug deals going on from the welfare people that he has staying there. And the pool was green. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank critic202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.3 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.0 km away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
88 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms River
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms ...
#29 of 39 in Seaside Heights
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
67 reviews
0.2 km away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#18 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
0.8 km away
Sky View Manor Motel
Sky View Manor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn

Property: Atlantic Inn
Address: 1000 Central Ave, Central Avenue and Sheridan Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2034 (Formerly Knights Inn Seaside Heights)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,320 - ₹ 15,152
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly motel in the heart of Seaside Heights. Center location 2 blocks from boardwalk or beach, one & half block from water park and two blocks from Casino Pier. Large 9 feet deep swimming pool with clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Motel Seaside Heights
Atlantic Hotel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing