We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
160
111
31
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
111
31
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure chest free mug beach tags heated pool literally steps parking space nice pool amusement park dvd player location is great upon check parking spot room number a great vacation corner room the sofa bed the past years
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed 2 nights, 9/24. The Bad: Room 420 beds horrible. Was moved to 418, better. Closet was not accessible unless you wanted to walk on the bed to get to it ( picture) Bathroom, linens & table, counters very clean. Dirty doors though. Room 418 has a rusty lamp base & torn lampshade. (pictures) Guests are allowed to smoke on the balcony which is a problem if you have breathing issues. The Good: Mini-fridge was larger than average and freezer held all 3 of our ice packs. 2 burner stove for those who want to cook was a nice feature. Pool was wonderful. Heated, clean, easy to access. They have beach toys & chairs left by guests that anyone can use. They give guests free, postage paid postcards to send out and a free mug upon check-out. We would stay again but in a premium room next time.

Room tip: 4th floor is the only floor with limited ocean view. Avoid room 220 due to old uncomfortable beds.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zoobiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We've stayed in this motel many times over the past 6 years. We discovered it after having stayed at Wild Dunes, Beach Hotel, Port o Call, Impala, and Tahiti. After discovering Ocean 7, we haven't stayed anywhere else.

Most noticeable first thing--large heated easily accessible pool! Last fall when we stayed here the manager put surfboard-sized floating roach type toys in the pool at night that moved in the breeze. People were laughing and talking about them all week--funny! They weren't there last week and we missed them!

There is a large bike rack right near the lobby which we use every time we visit. The lobby is staffed all night long. That's a rare service all by itself! They also provide free decent coffee all day.

The staff is super friendly and helpful! Manager Marke went out of his way to help us get info about the AC Aquarium when we stayed during Hurricane Jose. He helped with directions and even printed out a coupon for us to use.

Each room is a little different but the staff is very familiar with all of them so just tell them what you need and they'll tell you which rooms would work. We like the 4th floor and don't use the elevator, but it's nice for people with strollers or lots of luggage. We like quiet rooms so don't usually stay on the pool side. Some rooms have better room darkening window treatments than others so ask about that when you book if light bothers you. The beds are different sizes in some rooms as well. Again, ask the staff.

The AC units work well and are adjustable. Bathrooms are small but functional. Each room comes with a microwave and little kitchen. Most rooms have DVD players as well! That's another huge perk for us. They have free DVDs to borrow during your stay as well. I don't know of ANY hotel that does that! We've never seen bugs or mice. There was a bedbug detecting service dog visit during our stay. They do it monthly.

Location is nice, just a stroll up the ramp and you'll be near the large amusement park at the north end of the boardwalk. The beach is a bit narrower than down by 12th street but the size changes constantly depending on storms. We like to walk and bike the entire boardwalk so being up above the music pier isn't a problem for us.

Very nice beach motel with the best staff. We'll be back!

Room tip: Tell the front desk what you prefer and let them pick. They know each room.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blessedtraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We went to Ocean 7 for Labor Day Wkd, and we had a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and they had a lot of games/books/umbrellas/beach toys in the lobby to share with the other guests. The room was a bit small and the beds a bit uncomfortable, but we had a new TV with a DVD player, with a kitchenette (incl. dishes!) and a newly renovated bathroom. They even made towel animals and gave us a gift when we left! We will definitely come back to this place.

Room tip: Ocean and pool view on the top floor is the best!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We stayed overnight in room 218. The room was nice but small (OK for our quick overnight stay). We had issues with the air conditioning but they quickly sent maintenance to fix it and also gave us a fan to use. The beds were pretty comfortable.
The hotel itself is great, friendly staff. Nice pool, liked the coffee service in the morning, my son liked picking a gift out of the treasure chest. We have already booked a return stay (in a larger room). Note for room 218 the stairs outside have a pool gate which is slamming all day long and the regular stairs are around the corner with the door slamming all day long. If you plan to nap during the day it won't happen in this room. I even heard the stairwell door slamming when trying to go to sleep at night. You can often get better rates by calling the hotel directly. I think they have good prices given the great location and for all the amenities offered with the room.

Room tip: Room 218- pool gate for stairs is directly outside room and slams all day long. Room was nice and comfy beds.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The hotel is a condo which means the rooms are owned by different people and the property is professionally run. Our room was freshly painted, well furnished, bathroom and kitchen areas were fresh and clean and well equipped. AC worked very well in front and back and TVs (2) were newer and worked well. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and a pullout sofa bed. We opted for the extra maid service that was prompt and very efficient. Linens, rugs etc all clean. The mgmt people were very friendly and were anxious to help you or offer info etc. The pool is heated, very clean and a very welcomed perk after a hot day on the beach. They provide towels for the pool. Beach tags are also provided. Each room has a designated parking space. Ours was under cover under the balconies. We expected some noise from the boardwalk, but nada. Between the cinder block walls and running AC you couldn't hear outside noise at all which made for some great rest at night. The location is outstanding. Almost on the boardwalk at 7th street surrounded by many places to eat whether you wanted boardwalk pizza and fries or a more substantial dinner at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. (Beach Club on the boardwalk has fantastic breakfast!). There is an elevator, but take the stairs... after pizza at Angelos you need the exercise! We noticed that they have handicap rooms available, although we did not view them. We stayed in Room 206 and we were told the same owner owns 309.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DessertFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews