We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay!”
Review of Ocean 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean 7
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We decided to make a quick trip to OC NJ, and ended up making reservations at Ocean 7. Thankfully a phone call to the motel saved us $120 by booking directly rather than the price we would have paid through a online booking service. Upon arrival, we found our room to be clean and comfortable. It had a queen bed and a double bed and the small room didn't allow for easy access to the small closet. This room (319) would be difficult for any more than 2 people to use, but had a good view of the ocean. In talking with the staff, some rooms have been upgraded by their owners. The hotel has adequate parking, friendly staff, elevator, free coffee and a wonderful pool. Downside is $2 per day if you desire wifi. It is located directly behind the businesses on the boardwalk, so the location couldn't be better if you want that type of access. The manager has a quirky sense of humor which is evidenced on the website and many postings in the motel.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when booking to get the type of room you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank undermoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed 2 nights, 9/24. The Bad: Room 420 beds horrible. Was moved to 418, better. Closet was not accessible unless you wanted to walk on the bed to get to it ( picture) Bathroom, linens & table, counters very clean. Dirty doors though. Room 418 has a rusty lamp base & torn lampshade. (pictures) Guests are allowed to smoke on the balcony which is a problem if you have breathing issues. The Good: Mini-fridge was larger than average and freezer held all 3 of our ice packs. 2 burner stove for those who want to cook was a nice feature. Pool was wonderful. Heated, clean, easy to access. They have beach toys & chairs left by guests that anyone can use. They give guests free, postage paid postcards to send out and a free mug upon check-out. We would stay again but in a premium room next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the only floor with limited ocean view. Avoid room 220 due to old uncomfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zoobiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We've stayed in this motel many times over the past 6 years. We discovered it after having stayed at Wild Dunes, Beach Hotel, Port o Call, Impala, and Tahiti. After discovering Ocean 7, we haven't stayed anywhere else.

Most noticeable first thing--large heated easily accessible pool! Last fall when we stayed here the manager put surfboard-sized floating roach type toys in the pool at night that moved in the breeze. People were laughing and talking about them all week--funny! They weren't there last week and we missed them!

There is a large bike rack right near the lobby which we use every time we visit. The lobby is staffed all night long. That's a rare service all by itself! They also provide free decent coffee all day.

The staff is super friendly and helpful! Manager Marke went out of his way to help us get info about the AC Aquarium when we stayed during Hurricane Jose. He helped with directions and even printed out a coupon for us to use.

Each room is a little different but the staff is very familiar with all of them so just tell them what you need and they'll tell you which rooms would work. We like the 4th floor and don't use the elevator, but it's nice for people with strollers or lots of luggage. We like quiet rooms so don't usually stay on the pool side. Some rooms have better room darkening window treatments than others so ask about that when you book if light bothers you. The beds are different sizes in some rooms as well. Again, ask the staff.

The AC units work well and are adjustable. Bathrooms are small but functional. Each room comes with a microwave and little kitchen. Most rooms have DVD players as well! That's another huge perk for us. They have free DVDs to borrow during your stay as well. I don't know of ANY hotel that does that! We've never seen bugs or mice. There was a bedbug detecting service dog visit during our stay. They do it monthly.

Location is nice, just a stroll up the ramp and you'll be near the large amusement park at the north end of the boardwalk. The beach is a bit narrower than down by 12th street but the size changes constantly depending on storms. We like to walk and bike the entire boardwalk so being up above the music pier isn't a problem for us.

Very nice beach motel with the best staff. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you prefer and let them pick. They know each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blessedtraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We went to Ocean 7 for Labor Day Wkd, and we had a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and they had a lot of games/books/umbrellas/beach toys in the lobby to share with the other guests. The room was a bit small and the beds a bit uncomfortable, but we had a new TV with a DVD player, with a kitchenette (incl. dishes!) and a newly renovated bathroom. They even made towel animals and gave us a gift when we left! We will definitely come back to this place.

Room Tip: Ocean and pool view on the top floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We stayed overnight in room 218. The room was nice but small (OK for our quick overnight stay). We had issues with the air conditioning but they quickly sent maintenance to fix it and also gave us a fan to use. The beds were pretty comfortable.
The hotel itself is great, friendly staff. Nice pool, liked the coffee service in the morning, my son liked picking a gift out of the treasure chest. We have already booked a return stay (in a larger room). Note for room 218 the stairs outside have a pool gate which is slamming all day long and the regular stairs are around the corner with the door slamming all day long. If you plan to nap during the day it won't happen in this room. I even heard the stairwell door slamming when trying to go to sleep at night. You can often get better rates by calling the hotel directly. I think they have good prices given the great location and for all the amenities offered with the room.

Room Tip: Room 218- pool gate for stairs is directly outside room and slams all day long. Room was nice and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank safetygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
364 reviews
0.5 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
0.4 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#30 of 31 in Ocean City
80 reviews
0.3 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 31 in Ocean City
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3843 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: ₹ 3,573 - ₹ 11,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing